DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 AND 1896.

Swine Swine Slaughtered as Diseased Slaughtered as Diseased Outbreaks **Outbreaks** County. or as having or as having County. confirmed. confirmed. been exbeen exosed to posed to Infection. Infection. ENGLAND. No. No. ENGLAND. No. No. Berks .. Salop Stafford 2 35 1 R 3 Buckingham ... 62 45 1 ... •• York, East Riding Cornwall 1 1 5 41 ••• ... Derby ... 4 7 •• Devon ... 1 ••• ... •• Essex ... 84 ••• 1 2 1 ... ••• 50 84 Gloucester ... ••• •• Hereford WALES. • • • 4 82 Kent Lancaster 3 47 •• Lincoln; Parts of Lindsey 1 36 Brecon 1 Middlesex 1 3 Glamorgan 2 12 ••• Norfolk 1 46 Montgomery ... 1 1 ••• ... Northampton ... 4 21 ... •• Oxford ī 17 TOTAL 38 652 ••• •• ••

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of SWINE-FEVER for the Week ended January 8th, 1898, distinguishing Counties (including Boroughs*).

* For convenience Berwick-upon-Tweed is considered to be in Northumberland, Dudley is considered to be in Worcestershire, Stockport is considered to be in Cheshire, and the city of London is considered to be in the county of London.

SWINE-FEVER INFECTED AREAS.

THE following Areas are now Areas Infected with Swine-Fever under the above-mentioned Acts :--

Gloucestershire.—(1.) An Area in the county of Gloucester comprising the parishes of Stroud, Bisley with Lippiatt, Chalford, Stonehouse, Rodborough, Kings Stanley, Leonard Stanley, Standish, Randwick, Woodchester, Whiteshill, Cainscross, Uplands, and Thrupp (26 January, 1897).

(2.) An Area comprising the parishes of Sandhurst, Norton, Boddington, Uckington, Swindon, Prestbury, Charlton Kings, Leckhampton, Up Hatherley, Badgeworth, Churchdown, Staverton, Down Hatherley, Twigworth, Great Shurdington, Maisemore, Lassington, Highnam Over and Linton, Hartpury, Corse, Ashleworth, Hasfield Haw and Tirley, Deerhurst, and Leigh, in the county of Gloucester, and also comprising the borough of Cheltenham (30 April, 1897).

- Hampshire.—An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Fareham, and Droxford, and the parishes of Botley, Bishopstoke, Fair Oak, and Owslebury, in the county of Southampton, and also comprising the borough of Portsmouth (24 December, 1897).
- Isle of Ely.—An Area comprising the parish of March in the Isle of Ely (21 October, 1897).
- Sussex.—An Area in the Eastern and Western Divisions of the county of Sussex comprising the parishes of West Blatchington, Hangleton, Portslade, Southwick, Kingston by Sea, Old Shoreham, Upper Beeding, Edburton, Fulkin,

Poynings, Newtimber, Piecombe, Patcham, Preston Rural, Stanmer, Falmer, Rottingdean, and Ovingdean, and also comprising the borough of Brighton, and the Police District of Hove (16 June, 1897).

- Wiltshire. An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Melksham, Trowbridge, Whorwelsdown, Westbury, and Devizes, and so much of the petty sessional division of Warminster as lies to the west of the parish of Heytesbury, in the county of Wilts, and also comprising the borough of Devizes (10 September, 1897).
- Vorkshire.—(1.) An Area comprising the civil parishes or townships of Royston, Monk Bretton, Ardsley, Worsbrough, Barugh, Darfield, Carlton, Darton, Kexbrough, Dodworth, and Wombwell, in the West Riding of the county of York, and also comprising the borough of Barnsley (28 September, 1896).

(2.) An Area comprising the borough of Scarborough (15 February, 1897).

(3.) An Area comprising the civil parishes or townships of Golcar, Slaithwaite, Linthwaite, Marsden-in-Huddersfield, Scammonden, South Crosland, Lepton, Kirkheaton, Rishworth, Stainland, Soyland, Clifton, Skircoat, Sowerby (including its detached part), Barkisland, Fixby, Elland, Greetland, Upper Greetland, Hipperholme, Southowram, Norland, Wike, Cleckheaton, Liversedge, Hartshead, Ravensthorpe, and Mirfield, in the West Riding of the county of York, and also comprising the boroughs of Brighouse, Halifax, and Huddersfield (27 September, 1897).