Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Downing Street, January 1, 1898.

THE Queen has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following promotions in, and appointmen's to, the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order:—

Robert Baxter Llewelyn, Esq., C.M.G., Administrator of the Colony of the Gambia.

The Honourable Pieter Hendrik Faure, Secretary for Agriculture of the Colony of the Cape of Good Hope.

The Honourable James Penn Boucaut, Judge of the Supreme Court of the Colony of South Australia.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order:—

Captain Ronald McFarlane (late 9th Lancers), in recognition of services in connection with the suppression of the revolt of Matabeles in Rhodesia.

Robert Henry Sawyer, Esq., Member of the Executive Council and House of Assembly of the Bahama Islands.

John Anderson, Esq., M.A., of the Colonial Department.

Printed and Published by Thomas Harrison and James William Harrison, Printers, at their Office, 47, St. Martin's Lane, in the Parish of St. Martin-in-the-Fields, in the County of London.