DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 AND 1896.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of SWINE-FEVER for the Week ended October 2nd, 1897, distinguishing Counties (including Boroughs*).

County.	Outbreaks confirmed.	Swine Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been ex- posed to Infection.	County,	Outbreaks confirmed.	Swine Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been ex- posed to Infection.
ENGLAND.	No.	No.	ENGLAND.	No.	No.
Bedford Berks Chester	2 1 1	11 10 27	York, West Riding WALES.	. 2 .	10
Cornwall Devon Essex Lancaster	2	14 42 27 24 31	Carnaryon SCOTLAND.		5
Northampton Surrey Warwick		5 5 20 4	Bute Perth	. 1	2 2 25
Worcester York, East Riding	1	109	TOTAL	. 20	367

* For convenience Berwick-upon-Tweed is considered to be in Northumberland, Dudley is considered to be in Worcestershire, Stockport is considered to be in Cheshire, and the city of London is considered to be in the county of London.

SWINE-FEVER INFECTED AREAS.

THE following Areas are now Areas Infected with Swine-Fever under the above-mentioned Acts :-

Carnarvonshire. - An Area in the county of Carnarvon comprising the parishes of Llanrug, Llanberis, and Llanddeiniolen (10 September, 1897).

Devonshire.—An Area in the county of Devon comprising the parishes of Littleham, Withycombe Raleigh, East Budleigh, Budleigh Salterton, Bicton, Otterton, Lympston, Wood-bury, Colaton Raleigh, Sidmouth, Salcombe Regis, Sidbury, Ottery St. Mary, Aylesbeare, Venn Ottery, and Harpford (12 July, 1897).

Gloucestershire.—(1.) An Area in the county of Gloucester comprising the parishes of Stroud, Bisley with Lippiatt, Chalford, Stonehouse, Rodborough, Kings Stanley, Leonard Stanley, Standish, Randwick, Woodchester, Whiteshill, Cainscross, Uplands, and Thrupp (26 January, 1897).

(2.) An Area comprising the parishes of Sandhurst, Norton, Boddington, Uckington, Swindon, Prestbury, Charlton Kings, Leckhampton, Up Hatherley, Badgeworth, Churchdown, Staverton, Down Hatherley, Twigworth, Great Shurdington, Maisemore, Lassington, Highnam Over and Linton, Hartpury, Corse, Ashleworth, Hasfield Haw and Tirley, Deerhurst, and Leigh, in the county of Gloucester, and also comprising the borough of Cheltenham (30 April, 1897).

Lancashire.—An Area in the county of Lancaster comprising the parishes or townships of Standish-with-Langtree, Orrell, Pemberton, Winstanley, Billinge Higher End, Billinge

Chapel End, Ashton-in-Makerfield, Golborne, Lowton, Haydock, Newton-in-Makerfield, Kenyon, Southworth-with-Croft, and Culcheth, and also comprising the borough of Wigan (21 December, 1896).

Merionethshire.—An Area in the county of Merioneth comprising the parishes of Llandecwyn, Penrhyndeudraeth, Talsarnau, Llandanwg, Llanfair, Llanbedr, and Llanenddwyn (31 August, 1897).

Northamptonshire.—An Area comprising the parishes of Dallington, Dallington St. James, Duston, Duston St. James, Far Cotton, Kingsthorpe, and Hardingstone, in the county of Northampton, and also comprising the borough of Northampton (14 January, 1897).

Shropshire.—An Area in the county of Salop comprising the parishes of Whitchurch Urban and Whitchurch Rural (except the detached part of Whitchurch Rural locally situate in the parish of Prees) (1 October, 1897).

Staffordshire.—(1.) An Area in the county of Stafford comprising the parishes of Tittesworth, Leek, Lowe, Endon and Stanley, Longsdon, Cheddleton, Bradnop and Cawdry, Onecote, Consall, Ipstones, and Kingsley (30 June, 1897)
(2.) An Area comprising the borough of

Burton-upon-Trent (13 July, 1897).

Staffordshire and Worcestershire. - An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Bilston, Sedgley, Willenhall, Rushall, Handsworth, Smethwick, Wednesbury, Tipton and Rowley Regis, and the parishes of Kingswinford, Brierley Hill, Quarry Bank, and Wednesfield, in the county of Stafford, and also comprising the boroughs of Walsall, Wednesbury, West Bromwich, Wolverhampton, and Dudley (27 August, 1897).