We cannot but regard ourselves as being specially bound to approach Your Majesty on this auspicious occasion for our University owes its foundation to Your Majesty, and enjoys the distinguished honour of numbering amongst its graduates their Royal Highnesses the Prince and Princess of Wales.

We humbly pray that the Almighty may be pleased to spare You long to rule over Your

loving people.

Dufferin and Avo, Chancellor. L. S. James Creed Meredith, Secretaries. Joseph McGrath, Dated this 16th day of June, 1897.

[Presented by the Most Noble the Marquis of Dufferin and Ava, Sir Thomas Moffett, James C. Meredith, Esq., LL.D., and Joseph McGrath, Esq., LL.D.]

To Her Most Gracious Majesty the QUEEN. May it please Your Majesty,

WE, the undermentioned Chief Officers of the Provincial Police of Great Britain, humbly approach Your Majesty, and beg permission respectfully to submit, on behalf of our Forces, comprising 29,052 Officers and Constables, our loyal and dutiful congratulations on the auspicious occasion of the completion of the Sixtieth Year of Your glorious Reign.

The Police Force of Great Britain, as now constituted, was organized in the second year of Your Majesty's Reign, and the most valuable of all Acts benefiting the Police was reached in the fifty-third year of Your Majesty's Reign, when an Act of Parliament conferring the inestimable boon of a guaranteed life pension to Police Officers, together with provision for their Widows

and Orphans, was passed into law.

We humbly submit that, of the many admirable Acts of Parliament passed during Your Majesty's Reign, few, if any, have tended more to the protection and happiness of Your Majesty's subjects than those establishing the present system of Police.

We feel that it will be gratifying to Your Majesty to learn that the Police have raised, by voluntary subscription, a considerable sum in aid of the Police Orphanage at Redhill, and other charities, as a loyal offering in commemoration of Your Majesty's long and glorious Reign.

We earnestly pray that it may please Almighty God long to spare Your Majesty to the well-being of the vast Empire which has so greatly prospered under Your Majesty's most beneficent Rule.

Accrington.—J. Beattie. Aberdeen.—T. Wyness. Aberdeenshire.—D. F. Gordon, Major. Airdrie.-G. Burt. Alloa.—T. Nicol. Anglesey.—L. Prothero. Arbroath.—D. McNeill. Argyllshire.—J. Fraser. Ashton-under-Lyne.—J. Snell. Ayr.—W. McKay Ayrshire.—H. McHardy, Captain, R.N. Bacup.-J. Harland. Banbury .- U. Preston. Banffshire. - D. Haig. Barnsley .- D. H. Turner. Barnstaple.—R. Eddy. Barrow-in-Furness. -R. N. C. Foll, Captain. Bath.—R. T. Gwyn, Lieutenant-Colonel. Bedford .- H. Thody. Bedfordshire.—F. J. Josselyn, Lt.-Colonel.

No. 26876.

Berkshire.—A. Blandy, Lt.-Colonel. Berwickshire and Roxburghshire.—A. Porter. Berwick.—J. Garden. Beverley.—G. H. Knight. Birkenhead.—J. B. Barker, Major. Birmingham.—J. Farndale. Blackburn.—I. G. Lewis. Blackpool.—J. C. Derham. Bolton.—J. Holgate. Bootle.—J. Cumming. Boston.—J. W. D. Wyse. Bradford.—C. J. Paul. Brechin .- D. Smart. Breconshire.—E. R. Gwynne. Bridgwater.—G. A. Barnett. Brighton,-T. Carter. Bristol.—H. Allbutt. Broughty Ferry.—J. Brechin. Buckinghamshire.—O. Mayne, Major. Burnley .- J. Harrop. Buteshire.—J. Mackay. Caithness-shire.—T. Sinclair. Cambridge.—C. E. Holland. Cambridgeshire.—C. Stretton. Canterbury.—J. W. Farmery. Cardiff.—W. McKenzie. Cardiganshire.—H. Evans. Carlisle.—G. Mackay. Carmarthen.—T. Smith. Carmarthenshire.—W. Philipps.
Carmaryonshire.—A. A. Ruck, Lt.-Colonel.
Cheshire.—J. H. Hamersley, Lt.-Colonel.
Chester.—G. L. Fenwick.
Chesterfield.—E. Emery. Clackmannanshire.—J. White. Clitheroe.—W. Clayton. Coatbridge.—J. Anderson. Colchester.—R. O. Coombs. Congleton.—J. Hall. Cornwall.—R. M. Hill. Coventry.—A. Gray. Cumberland and Westmorland.—J. Dunne, D.L. Denbighshire. — T. J. Leadbetter, Major. Derby. — W. A. Delacombe, Lt.-Colonel. Derbyshire.—G. A. Godfrey, Major. Devonshire.-F. R. C. Coleridge. Devonport.—J. Matters. Dewsbury.—H. M. Shore. Doncaster.-G. Lister. Dorsetshire.—A. E. Amyatt, Captain. Dover .- T. O. Sanders. Dumbarton.-J. Henderson. Dumbartonshire.—C. A. McHardy. Dumfries.—J. Malcolm. Dumfriesshire .- W. Gordon. Dundee .- D. Dwar. Dunfermline.—W. Forbes. Durham (City).—J. Smith. Durham (County).—J. H. Eden, Lt.-Colonel. Eastbourne.—H. Plumb. East Lothian, Mid-Lothian, West Lothian, Peeblesshire.—A. Borthwick, Lt.-Colonel. Essex.—E. M. Showers, Captain. Exeter.-J. Short. Fifeshire and Kinross-shire.—J. F. Bremner. Flintshire.—R. T. Webber, Major. Folkestone.—J. Taylor. Forfar. - J. Stirling. Forfarshire.—R. Adamson. Galashiels.—A. Sutherland. Gateshead .- J. Trotter. Glamorganshire,—L. A. Lindsay, Captain. Glossop.—W. H. Hodgson. Gloucestershire.—H. Christian, Admiral, Govan.-W. Hamilton. Granthan.-W. B. Jones.