The Justices of the Peace for the County of

The Magistrates and Commissioners of the Burgh of Crieff.

The Directors of the National Bible Society of Scotland.

The Members of the Weem Agricultural Association.

The Members of the Greenock Burgh School Board.

The Ministers and Elders of the Synod of Moray of the Church of Scotland.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Town Council of the Royal Burgh of Stranraer.

The Central Council of the National Union of Conservative Associations for Scotland.

The Members of the Parish Council of Edinburgh.

The Magistrates and Commissioners of the Burgh of Dalkeith.

The Commissioners of the Burgh of Bridge of Allan.

The Incorporated Faculty of Procurators of Greenock.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Town Council of the Royal Burgh of Haddington.

The Inhabitants of the Royal Burgh of

The Berwickshire Liberal Association.

The Inhabitants of the Burgh of Lossiemouth and Branderburgh.

The Parish Council and Parishioners of Abernyte.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Commissioners of the Burgh of Macduff.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Town Council of Cromarty.

The Presbytery of Dalkeith of the Church of Scotland.

The Pupils and Teachers of the Public School of the Burgh of Macduff.

The Ministers and Elders of the Free Church of Scotland within the Presbytery of Glasgow.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Town Councillors of the Burgh of Port Glasgow.

The President, Fellows, and Members of the Royal Medical Society, Edinburgh.

The Provost and Magistrates of the Burgh of Invergordon.

The County Council of Selkirk.

The Lord Lieutenant, Deputy Lieutenants, Magistrates, Justices, Commissioners of Supply, and Residents within the County of Selkirk.

The Chairman and Members of the School Board of the Burgh of Oban.

The County Council of the County of Banff.
The Association of Registrars of Births, Marriages, and Deaths in Scotland.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Town Council of the Royal Burgh of Kirkcaldy.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Commissioners of the Burgh of Lochgilphead.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Commissioners of the Burgh of Partick.

The County Council of Sutherland.

The Ministers and Elders of the Presbytery of Forfar.

The Lord Lieutenant, Deputy Lieutenants, Justices of the Peace, Commissioners of Supply, and County Councillors of the County of Roxburgh, and the Magistrates and Commissioners of the Burghs of Kelso and Melrose.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Council of the Burgh of Peterhead.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Commissioners of the Burgh of Fraserburgh.

The Members of the Royal Scottish Society o Painters in Water Colours.

The Members of the Leith Liberal Club.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Commissioners of the Burgh of Gourock.

The Directors of the Glasgow Working Men's and West of Scotland Sabbath Protection Associa-

The Members of the Incorporated Society of Solicitors in the Supreme Courts of Scotland.

The Council and Members of the Royal Glasgow Institute of Fine Arts.

The County Council of the County of Midlothian.

The Ministers and Elders of the Presbytery of Dundee of the Free Church of Scotland.

The Provost, Magistrates, and Commissioners of the Burgh of Bathgate.

The Commissioners of the Burgh of Broughty

The County Council of the County of Orkney.

Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George,

Downing Street, June 22, 1897.

THE Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of the Sixtieth Anniversary of Her Majesty's accession to the Throne, to give directions for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

To be Ordinary Members of the First Class: or Knights Grand Cross of the said Most Distinguished Order :-

Sir Donald Currie, K.C.M.G., M.P., for services to British African Trade.

Sir Thomas Sutherland, K.C.M.G., M.P., Director of the Suez Canal Company.

To be an Honorary Member of the First Class, or Knights Grand Cross of the said Most Distinguished Order :-

His Excellency Abulk Assim Khan, styled Naseral-Mulk, K.C.M.G., Envoy from His Majesty the Shah of Persia, to aunounce His Majesty's

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order :-

Colonel Herbert Charles Chermside (late Royal

Engineers), C.B., C.M.G.
Arthur Hardinge, Esq., C.B., Her Majesty's
Agent and Consul-General at Zanzibar.

Lieutenant-General Frederick Marshall, C.M.G., Colonel 1st Royal Dragoons.

James Mackie, Esq., M.B., C.M.G., late British Delegate on the Egyptian Board of Health. Robert Hamilton Lang, Esq., C.M.G., late English

Controller of the Egyptian Daira Sanieh. Major Francis Arthur Marindin, late Royal Engineers, C.M.G. (Inspector of Railways, Board of

Trade) William Edmund Garstiu, Esq., C.M.G., Under-Secretary of State, Egyptian Public Works Department.

Ralph Dinham Rayment Moor, Esq., C.M.G., Her Majesty's Commissioner and Consul-

General in the Niger Coast Protectorate. Walter Caine Hillier, Esq., late Her Majesty's Consul-General in Corea.