India Office, June 22, 1897.

THE Queen has been graciously pleased on the occasion of the celebration of the completion of the Sixtieth Year of Her Majesty's Reign, to make the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Eminent Order of the Indian Empire :---

To be Knights Grand Commanders.

- His Highness Sir Bhanwar Pal Deo Bahadur Yadukul Chandra Bhal, Maharaja of Karauli, K.C.I.E.
- His Highness Faiz Muhammad Khan, Talpur, Mir of Khairpur in Sind.
- Sir Lachhmeshwar Singh Bahadur, Maharaja of Darbhanga, K.C.I.E.
- His Highness Sir Bhagwut Singh, Thakur Saheb of Gondal, K.C.I.E.
- General Crawford Trotter Chamberlain, C.S.I.

To be Knights Commanders.

Henry William Bliss, Esq., C.I.E.

- Nawab Amir-ud-din Ahmad Khan Bahadur, Chief of Loharu, C.I.E.
- Colonel William Sinclair Smith Bisset, Royal Engineers, C.I.E., Secretary to the Government of India in the Public Works Department.
- Major-General Edward Stedman, C.B., Indian Staff Corps.
- John Jardine, Esq., Indian Civil Service (retired). Rear-Admiral John Hext, Royal Navy (retired),
- C.I.E., Director of the Royal Indian Marine. Mancherjee Merwanjee Bhownaggree, Esq., C.I.E.
- Colonel Thomas Hungerford Holdich, C.B., C.I.E., Royal Engineers.
- James MacNabb Campbell, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service.
- Muhammad Munawwar Ali, Khan Bahadur, Prince of Arcot.

George William Allen, Esq., C.I.E.

Nawab Bahadur Khwaja Ahsan-ulla, of Dacca, C.I.E.

To be Companions.

M. R. Ry Panappakham Ananda Charlu, Vidia Vinodha, Rai Bahadur.

Colonel Russell Richard Pulford, Royal Engineers.

- Colonel Algernon George Arnold Durand, C.B., Indian Staff Corps.
- Benjamin Traill flinch, Esq., Director-in-Chief, Indo-European Telegraph Department.
- Frederick Shore Bullock, Esq., Indian Civil Service.
- Charles Henry Reynolds, Esq., Director-General of Telegraphs in India.
- Lieutenant-Colonel Beauchamp Duff, Military Secretary to the Commander-in-Chief in India.
- Lieutenant-Colonel Robert Alexander Wahab, Royal Engineers.
- Major Nawab Muhammad Ali Beg. Afsar-i-Jang, Bahadur, Commandant of the Hyderabad Imperial Service Lancers.
- Edwin Darlington, Esq., late Chief Collector of Customs in Burma.
- James Strachan, Esq, Engineer and Secretary to the Karachi Municipality.
- Poona Nursingarow Krislina Murti, Mysore State Council.
- The Reverend Dr. John Husband, F.R.C.S., Chairman of the Ajmere Municipal Committee. Dr. Waldemar Mordecai Haffkine.
- Dr. Augustus Frederick Rudolf Hærnle, Principal of the Calcutta Madrasa.
- Edward Nicholl, Esq., Secretary to the Amritsar Municipality.
- Rustamjee Dhanjibhai Mehta, Esq., ex-Sheriff of Calcutta.

Charles Godolphin William Hastings, Esq., Punjab Police.

Khan Bahadur Mancherjee Rustomji Dholu, Political Department, Aden.

Commander Arthur Whatley Chitty, late Indian Navy.

Rai Daulat Ram, Bahadur, Superintendent of Post Offices, Simla Division of the Punjab.

Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George.

Downing Street, June 22, 1897.

THE Queen has been graciously pleased, on the completion of the Sixtieth Year of Her Majesty's Reign, to give directions for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

To be Ordinary Members of the First Class, or Knights Grand Cross of the said Most Distinguished Order :--

- The Right Honourable Viscount Gormanston, K.C.M.G., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of Tasmania.
- The Honourable Sir Walter Francis Hely-Hutchinson, K.C.M.G., Governor and Commanderin-Chief of the Colony of Natal.
- Sir Alfred Milner, K.C.B., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of the Cape of Good Hope and Her Majesty's High Commissioner for South Africa
- The Honourable Wilfrid Laurier, President of the Privy Council and Premier of the Dominion of Canada.
- The Honourable Sir Richard John Cartwright, K.C.M.G., Minister of Trade and Commerce for the Dominion of Canada.
- Sir William Robinson, K.C.M.G., Governor and Commander in-Chief of the Colony of Hong Kong.
- Sir Henry Arthur Blake, K.C.M.G., Captain-General and Governor-in-Chief of the Island of Jamaica.
- The Honourable Sir Oliver Mowat, K.C.M.G., Minister of Justice for the Dominion of Canada.

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order :--

- Sir William Lambert Dobson, Knt., Chief Justice of the Colony of Tasmania, who has on several occasions administered the Government of the Colony in the absence of the Governor.
- Sir Frederick Matthew Darley, Knt., Lieutenaut-Governor of the Colony of New South Wales and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of that Colony.
- Colonel Frederic Cardew, C.M.G. Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of Sierra Leone.
- His Honour the Honourable George Airey Kirkpatrick, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Ontario, in the Dominion of Cauada.
- William Alexander Baillie Hamilton, Esq., C.B., C.M.G., Chief Clerk of the Colonial Department.
- Sandford Fleming, Esq., C.M.G., for services connected with the Dominion of Canada.
- Frederick Richard Saunders, Esq., C.M.G., Treasurer of the Island of Ceylon.
- Frank Athelstane Swettenham, Esq., C.M.G., Resident-General for the Federation of the Protected States of the Malay Peninsula.