## DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 and 1896.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of SWINE-FEVER for the Week ended June 12th, 1897, distinguishing Counties (including Boroughs\*).

County.	Outbreaks confirmed.	Swine Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been ex- posed to Infection.	County.	Outbreaks confirmed.	Swine Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been ex- posed to Infection.
ENGLAND.	No.	No.	ENGLAND.	No.	No.
Buckingham	1	3	Lancaster	1	59
Isle of Ely	1	11	Norfolk	.i 1	39
Chester	2	54	Northampton	2	21
Cumberland	1	12	Somerset	. 2	113
Derby	. 5	32	Stafford	4	7
Devon		7	Suffolk	•	20
Essex	3	45	York, North Riding	. 8	7
Gloucester		·	" West Riding	. 5	32
Hants	2	15		·	
Huntingdon	1	31	TOTAL	. 36	£08

\* For convenience Berwick-upon-Tweed is considered to be in Northumberland, Dudley is considered to be in Worcestershire, Stockport is considered to be in Cheshire, and the city of London is considered to be in the county of London.

## SWINE-FEVER INFECTED AREAS.

THE following Areas are now Areas Infected with Swine-Fever under the above-mentioned Acts:—

Berkshire.—An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Abingdon, and Wallingford (or Moreton), in the county of Berks, and also comprising the boroughs of Abingdon, and Wallingford (23 November, 1896).

Cheshire.—An Area in the county of Chester comprising the parishes of Runcorn, Halton, Weston, Clifton, Stockham, Sutton, Aston by Sutton, Aston Grange, Kingsley, Kingswood, Newton by Frodsham, Frodsham Lordship, and Frodsham (29 April, 1897).

Derbyshire.—An Area in the county of Derby comprising the parishes of Beighton, Killamarsh, Eckington, and Staveley (5 June, 1897).

Gloucestershire.—(1.) An Area in the county of Gloucester comprising the parishes of Stroud, Bisley with Lippiatt, Chalford, Stonehouse, Rodborough, Kings Stanley, Leonard Stanley, Standish, Randwick, Woodchester, Whiteshill, Cainscross, Uplands, and Thrupp (26 January, 1897).

(2.) An Area comprising the parishes of Sandhurst, Norton, Boddington, Uckington, Swindon, Prestbury, Charlton Kings, Leckhampton, Up Hatherley, Badgeworth, Churchdown, Staverton, Down Hatherley, Twigworth, Great Shurdington, Maisemore, Lassington, Highnam Over and Linton, Hartpury, Corse, Ashleworth, Hasfield, Haw and Tirley, Deerhurst, and Leigh, in the county of Gloucester, and also comprising the borough of Cheltenham (30 April, 1897).

Lancashire.—(1.) An Area in the county of Lancaster comprising the parishes or townships of Standish-with-Langtree, Orrell, Pemberton, Winstanley, Billinge Higher End, Billinge Chapel End, Ashton-in-Makerfield, Golborne, Lowton, Haydock, Newton-in-Makerfield, Kenyon, Southworth-with-Croft, and Culcheth, and also comprising the borough of Wigan (21 December, 1896).

(2.) An Area in the county of Lancaster comprising the parishes of Cronton, Tarbock, Ditton, Halewood, and Hale, and also comprising the borough of Widnes (26 April, 1897).

Norfolk.—An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Freebridge Marshland, and Clackclose, in the county of Norfolk (16 November, 1896).

Northamptonshire.—(1.) An Area in the ccunty of Northampton comprising the parishes of Rushden, Finedon, Irthlingborough, Little Addington, Great Addington, Woodford, and Ringstead (14 January, 1897).

(2.) An Area comprising the parishes of Dallington, Dallington St. James, Duston, Duston St. James, Far Cotton, Kingsthorpe, and Hardingstone, in the county of Northampton, and also comprising the borough of Northampton (14 January, 1897).

(3.) An Area in the county of Northampton comprising the parishes of Broughton, Pytchley, Orlingbury, Isham, Little Harrowden, and Great Harrowden (29 April, 1897).

Staffordshire.—An Area comprising the parishes of Kingswinford, Brierley Hill, and Quarry Bank, in the county of Stafford (22 March, 1897).

Suffolk.—An Area in the county of Suffolk comprising the petty sessional division of Stowmarket, the petty sessional division of Bosmere and Claydon (excluding the parishes of Swilland and Westerfield), so much of the petty sessional division of Samford as lies to the north and west of the main road from Ipswich to Stratford St. Mary, the petty sessional division of Hadleigh or Cosford (except the parishes of Thorpe Morieux, Brettenham, and Hadleigh Hamlet), and the parishes of Rattlesden and Woolpit in the petty sessional division of Thingoe and Thedwestry (14 April, 1897).

Warwickshire.—An Area in the county of Warwick comprising the parishes of Sutton Coldfield, Minworth, Aston Manor, Erdington, Castle Bromwich, and Water Orton (4 January, 1897).