To the QUEEN's Most Excellent Majesty. May it please Your Majesty,

WE, the Mayor, Aldermen, and Citizens of the City of Chester, in Council assembled, beg mest respectfully and sincerely to express our heartfelt sympathy with Your Majesty and Your Daughter the Princess Beatrice, in the loss You have sustained by the lamented Death of His Royal Highness Prince Henry of Battenberg.

Our regret is much enhanced by the fact that He left England at the call of duty, and died in

the service of His adopted Country.

We devoutly hope that the Almighty may grant Your Majesty and Your Widowed Daughter strength and comfort to support You in this Your great Affliction, and we trust that it may be some consolation to Your Majesty to know that Your mourning for the Departed Prince is shared by the whole of the vast communities over which You so happily reign.

Given under the Corporate Scal of the City of Chester, this 13th day of February, 1896.

> Benjamin C. Roberts, Mayor. Sam. Smith, Town Clerk.



To the QUEEN's Most Excellent Maje-ty. May it please Your Majesty,

WE, Your Majesty's faithful and loyal subjects the Mayor, Aldermen, and Burgesses of the County Borough of Wigan, in the County of Lancaster, in Council assembled, humbly beg leave to express our sorrow at the sad bereavement which Your Majesty and Your beloved Daughter Her Royal Highness Princess Henry of Battenberg and Her Family have sustained, by the death of Colonel His Royal Highness Prince Henry Maurice of Battenberg, K.G., and we beg most respectfully to assure Your Majesty and the Princess and Her Royal Highness's Family of the heartfelt sympathy of the inhabitants of this ancient Borough for Your Majesty and Her Royal Highness and Her Family in this great affliction.

Given under the Corporate Common Seal of the Mayor, Aldermen, and Burgesses of the Borough of Wigan, this 5th day of February, 1896.

Robert Layland, L, S. Mayor. J. J. Charnock. Town Clerk.

And the following on the same subject: From

Thornaby-on-Tees Corporation.

Barton-under-Needwood Habitation of the Primrose League.

Bootle Town Council. Carnarvonshire County Council.

Goole Conservative Club. Hertford Town Council.

Heywood Conservative Clubs. Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland.

Saint Mary, Islington, Vestry of.

Lisburn Board of Guardians.

Louth Corporation.

Chippenham Corporation.

Darlington Board of Guardians.

Hackney (South Division) Conservative Asso-

Henshaw's Blind Asylum, Board of Governors. Hove Urban District Council.

Royal Mersey Yacht Club.

National Union of Conservative and Constitutional Associations.

Teddington Urban District Council.

Waterford Board of Guardians.

Carisbrooke School Board.

National Union of Conservative and Constitutional Association (Metropolitan Division).

Hornsey Habitation of the Primrose League. Beaconsfield Habitation of the Primrose League. Abersychan, Garndiffaith, and Talywain Constitutional Club.

Weston-super-Mare Urban District Council. National Council of the Young Men's Christian esociations.

Isle of Wight County Artizans' and Mechanics' Industrial Society.

London, Clergy of the City of.

Stockport Corporation.

Ludlow Corporation.

Royal United Service Institution.

Saint Giles-in-the-Fields and Saint George, Bloomsbury, Board of Guardians of the Parishes

Middlesbrough Corporation.

Rochester Cecil Habitation of the Primrose League.

Kendal Corporation.

Corwen Board of Guardians.

Aberystwyth Town Council.

East Sussex County Council.

Stafford Town Council.

Bolton Board of Guardians.

Printers' Pension, Almshouse, and Orphan Asylum Corporation.

London, Lieutenants of the City of.

Widnes Town Council.

Sundgate Urban District Council.

National Union of Teachers.

Bournemouth, Royal Victoria Hospital.

Wiltshire County Council.
Camberley, No. 1714, Albert Edward Lodge.
Merthyr Tydfil, Loyal Cambrian Lodge No. 110 of Freemasons.

St. Asaph Board of Guardians.

Barnard Castle and Startforth Conservative Working Men's Club.

Wisbech Corporation.

West Sussex County Council.

Tamworth Corporation.

Surrey County Council.

Royal College of Surgeons of England. Old Saint Martin's Club.

Handsworth Urban District Council.

Southampton County Council.

Darwen Corporation. Falmouth Branch of the British and Foreign Sailors' Society.

Lewisham Board of Guardians.

Heywood Corporation.

Darlington Corporation.

Conway Corporation.

Darlington School Board.

Eye Town Council.

Kent County Council.

Presbytery of London South of the Presbyterian Church of England.

Tillingbourne Valley Habitation No. 2519 of the Primrose League.

Southend-on-Sea Corporation.

Richmond Town Council.

Pembrokeshire County Council.

Northern Union of Conservative Associations.

Jarrow Town Council.

Cheshire County Council.

Aldershot School Board.

Newcastle-upon-Tyne Corporation.

Leicester Corporation.