Chaplains' Department, The Reverend Harwood Little, B.A., to be Chaplain to the Forces, Fourth Class. Dated 31st May, 1890, such antedate not to reckon towards promotion, precedence, or increase of pay prior to 25th February, 1891, and not to carry back allowances.

Medical Staff, Surgeon-Lieutenant-Colonel Henry Joseph O'Brien, M.B., to be Brigade-Surgeon-Lieutenant-Colonel, vice R. Collins, M.B., retired. Dated 14th February, 1892.

The undermentioned Sergeant-Majors, Medical Staff Corps. to be Quartermasters, with the honorary rank of Lieutenant. Dated 16th March, 1892:—

Harry Lockhart, vice Honorary Captain R. Gordon, deceased.

George James Lane, vice Honorary Captain H. S. Webb, retired.

Army Pay Department, Staff Paymaster and Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel George J. C. Whittington to be Chief Paymaster, with the honorary rank of Colonel, vice Honorary Colonel A. S. Murray, deceased. Dated 18th December, 1891.

Staff Paymaster and Honorary Major John Forbes Mosse retires on retired pay. Dated 16th March, 1892.

The undermentioned Paymasters and Honorary Majors to be Staff Paymasters:—

Richard R. B. Ternan, vice Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel G. J. C. Whittington. Dated 13th December, 1891.

Walter Howard, vice Honorary Major C. H. Sanford, retired. Dated 17th February, 1892.
Thomas C. Dempster, vice Honorary Major J. F. Mosse. Dated 16th March, 1892.

Captain Robert D. Longe, the Duke of Cambridge's Own (Middlesex Regiment), to be Paymaster. Dated 25th May, 1891.

Half-Pay, Major the Honourable John Pleydell-Bouverie, from 17th Lancers, to be Licutenant-Colonel. Dated 16th March, 1892.

MEMORANDA.

Lieutenant-Colonel John H. Eden, half-pay, retires on retired pay. Dated 16th March, 1892. Captain F. J. Fox, Royal Artillery, is granted the local rank of Lieutenant-Colonel, whilst Commandant of the Colonial Forces in New Zealand. Dated 4th March, 1892.

The undermentioned Quartermasters and Honorary Lieutenants, Army Service Corps, are granted the honorary rank of Captain. Dated 11th March, 1892:—

Frank Lumsden Cassell. William Parsons.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Captain H. W. Kemble resigns his Commission. Dated 16th March, 1892.

Lieutenant A. M. Powell, 2nd Volunteer Battalion, the Queen's (Royal West Surrey Regiment), resigns his Commission Dated 16th March, 1892.

ARMY MEDICAL RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Surgeon-Lieutenant Edmund Downes, M.D., F.R.C.S. Edin., 2nd Sussex Volunteer Artillery, to be Surgeon-Lieutenant. Dated 16th March, 1892.

India Office, 15th March, 1892.

THE Queen has approved of the following Promotions among the Officers of the Staff Corps and Indian Medical Services, and of Admissions

to the Staff Corps, made by the Governments in India:—

INDIAN STAFF CORPS.

To be Lieutenant-Colonels.

Major William Hill. Dated 5th January, 1892.

Major William Campbell Black. Dated 12th .

January, 1892.

Major Charles Arthur Cresswell. Dated 12th January, 18-2.

Major William Henry Salmon. Dated 12th January, 1892.

Captains to be Majors.

Dated 30th December, 1891:-Colonel in the Army Norman Robert Stewart .-Thomas Haughton Eyre. Alexander William Dennistown Campbell. Charles Stuart Wheler. Brevet Major Edmund George Barrow. Allan Smith. Maurice Crosbie Cooke-Collis. Brevet Major Claude Frederick Gambier... William Selwood Hewett. Francis George Lawrence Mainwaring. Alexander Bowes Mein. Mossom Innis Gibbs. Charles Mordaunt Fitzgerald. Arthur Cautley Bunny. Dated 3rd January, 1892:--William Grenville Mansel.

Lieutenants to be Captains.
Dated 11th August, 1891:—
Pulteney Malcolm.

Charles Hamilton Des Vœux.

Dated 10th January, 1892:-

Dated 22nd January, 1892:-Charles Mowbray Dallas. Ernest Perceval Wood. Frederick Cecil Rynd. Arthur Thomas Young. Charles Robert Keate. Augustus Blair Mayne. Stuart Hill Godfrey. Charles Merewether Ducat. Charles George Nurse. Philip James Gordon. Charles Edward Johnson. Francis Cracroft Colomb. Robert Maximilian Rainey. Francis Vaughan Whittall. Simpson Hackett Beresford Hobbs. Herbert Arrott Browning. Alfred Lucian Phillips. Reginald Harry Dawson. Lionel Herbert. Harry Trevor. Cecil Moncrieff Eales. Richard Henry Dugdale Thring. George William Rawlins. Arthur Blount Cuthbert Williams. William Adam Cuppage. James Outram Spens Fayrer. Kellow Chesney Charles Arnold Kemball. Westropp Joseph Peyton, C.M.G. Harry Seymour Hazelgrove. George Russell Row. Frederick Thesiger Williams. Harcourt Leicester Dodgson. Augustus Anderson Jervis Johnstone Lesley Charles Hamilton Stainforth. Francis Outram Anderson. Gordon Napier Caulfeild. Leslie Waterfield Shakespear. Jenkin Jones. Acton Alexander Graves. Arthur Tristram Herbert Newnham.