and Promotions in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of July, 1890 :---

APPOINTMENTS.

- Consular Service, Percy Fenwick Cuthbert Zohrab to be Vice-Consul (Kustendjie).
- Diplomatic Service, Alfred Mitchell Innes to be Attaché.
- Foreign Office, Beilby Francis Alston and Edward Guy Wetherall to be Clerks in the Librarian's Department.
- Inland Revenue, Daniel O'Connell to be Special Commissioner of Income Tax.
- Lords, House of, John Bull to be Resident Superintendent in the Department of the Lord Great Chamberlain.
- I ost Office, Elizabeth Williamson Aiken, Bertha Stokes Atkins, Ellen Lucy Barber, Mary Binnie, Emily Beatrice Brabner, Lucy Burgess, Louisa Jane Chalmers, Alice Mary Charsley, Alice Maud Chrismas, Eliza Clement, Alice Codd, Mary Ann Cohen, Annie Edith Coote, Eva Mary Cushon, Chalotte Davies, Alice Maude Dixon, Harriet Edith Maude Du Bois, Ethel Louise Ellerby, Sarah Annie Gale, Jessie Gillespie Montgomery Gilmour, Barbara Hendry, Amelia Patrick Lumsden, Isabel Findlay McEwan, Minnie McIlroy, Agnes Meikleham Macleod, Alice Ann Mann, Elizabeth Manson, Emily Ida Mills, Helena Frances Morle, Margaret Marshall Morrison, Helen Janet Elizabeth Obbard, Jane Patton, Ann Presland, Beatrix Rae, Mary Fanny Robertson, Dagmar Ferrier Rowe, Mary Helen Saunders, Louisa Keat Scott, Edith Jane Shervill, Eleanor Jane Slade, Elizabeth Maria Startup, Edith Maud Stoward, Edith Florence Waller, Catherine Irwin Waterhouse, Alice Jane Winyard, Nora Edith Woodford, and Lilian Flora
- Prisons Service (Ireland), Richard Walsh to be Clerk in a Prison.
- Supreme Court of Judicature, England, Joseph Shorey to be Lord Chancellor's Junior Clerk of the Chamber.
- Trade, Board of, George William Buckwell, James Clarence Scott Pease, and John Thompson to be Third Class Engineer Surveyors.

Walter Henry Butler, Alfred House, Wesley Riding, William Denman Russell, William Alfred Staniford, Philip John Turner, and Henry Bernard Uhde to be Assistants in the Bankruptcy Department.

War Office, John Batchelor, Wilfred Charles Humphrey, and Colin Percy Rogers to be Assistant Surveyors in the Royal Engineer Department.

Clerks of the Second Division.

- Admiralty, Henry George Arnold, George Morton Discombe, Ernest Addison Stanley Hayward, Frederick Horace Oldershaw Jerram, Walter Herbert Judson, Herrmann Fridolin Louis Rissland, Herbert Mitchell Sanders, and Benedict John Wilson.
- Civil Service Commission, Daniel George Cannell (for temporary duty).

Education Department, Albert Henry Mare.

Irish Land Commission, George Henry Rippon (for temporary duty).

Privy Council Office, Frederick George Baker.

Registrar-General's Office (Scotland), Henry McArthur.

Boy Clerks.

Admiralty, Herbert George Pearce.

- Customs, Francis Sidney Boot (for temporary duty), Andrew Scouler (Yarmouth), Edward Morgan Thomas (Liverpool), and William Alfred Webb (for temporary duty).
- Education Department, Alexander Thorpe Goodrich and Rembrandt Thomas Herring.
- Inland Revenue, William Henry North.
- Lunacy Commission (Scotland), Robert William Hogarth.
- Post Office, David John Davies, George Mackenzie, and James Jackson Ridler.
- Queen's and Lord Treasurer's Remembrancer's Office (Scotland), James Somervill Stafford (for temporary duty).
- Scotch Education Department, William Gordon Perrin.

War Office, Arthur Richmond Jay.

TRANSFERS, with the approval of the Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury :---

- Admiralty, James Ernest Drake, Clerk of the Second Division, from the Post Office (Dublin).
- Queen's and Lord Treasurer's Remembrancer's Office (Scotland). William Vickers, Clerk of the Second Division, from the Prison Commission (Scotland).
- War Office, Charles Alfred Matley, Clerk of the Second Division, from the Post Office.

PROMOTIONS, under Clause XVIII of the Order in Council of the 12th February, 1876 :---

Inland Revenue: John Anderson, Herbert William Burt, William Crawford, Walter Thomas Edwards, Thomas Gillespie, Andrew Kerr, Francis Marriott, John Moore, John Power, Edmund Smith, George Routledge Stenson, Thomas Stockham, Albert Samuel Twort, Frederic William Waggett, Henry James White, and Henry Wright, Clerks of the Second Division, to be Assistant Surveyor of Taxes.

Division, to be Assistant Surveyor of Taxes. William Battersby, David Herbert Blyth, Sidney Casbourne, George Willoughby Cornelius, Richard Humphry, and Alfred Percy Theobald, Clerks of the Second Division, to be Clerks of the Second Class in the Office of the Controller of Stamps and Stores.

NAVAL PRIZE MONEY.

Department of the Accountant-General of the Navy, Admiralty, 30th July, 1890.

NOTICE is hereby given to all persons interested therein, that preparations are now being made for the intended distribution of the Prize Money awarded for dhow, name unknown, captured on the 17th July, 1889, by Her Majesty's ship "Pigeon."

Agents or other persons having any just and legal demand, unliquidated, against the award, are required to transmit the particulars of any such demand to the Registrar of the Admiralty Division of Her Majesty's High Court of Justice, in order that the same may be examined, taxed, and allowed by that Officer, and paid under the sanction of the Judge of the said Court.

Due notice will be given, by future advertisement in the London Gazette, of the date proposed for the commencement of distribution; and, at the same time, the amount of an individual's share in the respective classes will be announced.