

The London Gazette.

Published by Authority.

FRIDAY, DECEMBER 9, 1887.

A T the Court at Windsor, the 28th day of November, 1887.

PRESENT,

The QUEEN's Most Excellent Majesty in Council.

HEREAS the Ecclesiastical Commissioners for England have, in pursuance of the Act of the sixth and seventh years of His late Majesty King William the Fourth chapter seventy-seven and of the Act of the third and fourth years of Her Majesty chapter one hundred and thirteen and of the Act of the thirty-seventh and thirty-eighth years of Her Majesty chapter sixty-three duly prepared and laid before Her Majesty in Council a scheme, bearing date the tenth day of November, in the year one thousand eight hundred and eighty-seven, in the words and figures following, that is to say:—

"We the Ecclesiastical Commissioners for England in pursuance of the Act of the sixth and seventh years of His late Majesty King William the Fourth chapter seventy-seven and of the Act of the third and fourth years of Your Majesty chapter one hundred and thirteen and of the Act of the thirty-seventh and thirty-eighth years of Your Majesty chapter sixty-three have prepared and now humbly lay before Your Majesty in Council the following scheme with respect to a certain rural deanery to wit the Rural Deanery of North Meols and Ormskirk within the Archdeaconry of Liverpool in the diocese of Liverpool.

"Whereas the said Rural Deanery of North Meols and Ormskirk now comprises and consists of twenty-six cures being the twenty-five cures which are in that behalf enumerated in a certain Order of Your Majesty in Council bearing date the twenty-ninth day of June in the year one thousand eight hundred and eighty-two and published in the London Gazette on the fourteenth day of July then following and also one other cure formed since the date of that Order being the cure of Saint Luke Southport.

"And whereas the Right Reverend John Charles Bishop of the said diocese of Liverpool is desirous that the said Rural Deanery of North Meols and Ormskirk shall be divided into two rural deaneries the one of them to be called 'The Rural Deanery of North Meols' and the other of them to be called 'The Rural Deanery of Ormskirk' and is further desirous that the same division shall be made in the manner set forth in the schedule to this scheme annexed.

Now therefore with the consent of the said John Charles Bishop of Liverpool (in testimony whereof he hath set his hand and episcopal seal to

this scheme) we the said Ecclesiastical Commissioners humbly recommend and propose that as from the day on which any Order of Your Majesty in Council ratifying this scheme shall be published in the London Gazette and without any assurance in the law other than such duly gazetted Order the said rural deanery of North Meols and Ormskirk shall be divided into and shall become two rural deaneries whereof the one shall bear the name of and be called 'The Rural Deanery of North Meols' and shall comprise and consist of those cures fourteen in number which are specified and set forth under the name of that rural deanery in the schedule annexed to this scheme as aforesaid and the other shall bear the name of and be called 'The Rural Deanery of Ormskirk' and shall comprise and consist of those cures twelve in number which are specified and set forth under the name of the lastly-mentioned rural deanery in the same schedule.

"And we further recommend and propose that nothing herein contained shall prevent us from recemmending and proposing any other matter or thing with respect to the matters aforesaid or any of them under or by virture of the said Acts or any of them or of any other Act of Parliament.

"The SCHEDULE to which the foregoing Scheme has reference.

"The Rural Deanery of North Meols comprising the following parishes cures or churches.

Parish Cure or Church.	Rural Deanery within which Parish Cure or Church has been hitherto situate.
1. Altear 2. Birkdale Saint James 3. Birkdale Saint Peter 4. Crossens Saint John 5. Formby 6. Formby Saint Luke 7. North Meols 8. Southport All Saints 9. Southport St. Andrew 10. Southport Christ Church 11. Southport Holy Trinity 12. Southport Saint Luke 13. Southport Saint Paul	North Meols and Ormskirk ditto
14. Saint Stephens in the Banks	ditto