County of Orkney and Zetland.

The Honourable Cospatrick Thomas Dundas to be Deputy Lieutenant. Dated 15th April, 1886.

William Arthur Bruce, Esq., to be Deputy Lieutenant. Dated 15th April, 1886.

## EXCHEQUER BILLS.

Treasury Chambers, Whitehall, May 13, 1886.

THE Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury hereby give notice to the holders of Exchequer Bills issued under the authority of the Act 29 Vict., cap. 25, and dated the 11th June, 1881, that the interest thereon for the half-year ending on the 11th June, 1886, will be payable at the Bank of England on and after the 11th day of June, 1886.

day of June, 1886.

The said EXCHEQUER BILLS, dated the 11th June, 1881, WILL BE PAID OFF, either in New Bills or in money, on the 11th June, 1886, when the Interest will cease. Such Bills will be received at the Bank of England daily from ten till two o'clock,

UNTIL WEDNESDAY, THE 2ND DAY OF JUNE, 1886, INCLUSIVE.

Printed forms, containing instructions for the preparation of the Lists and the arrangement of the Bills, may be obtained on application at the Chief Cashier's Office, Bank of England.

The holders must insert their names and addresses in each List; but where the names of holders are inserted in the body of the Bills, the indorsements of such holders must be obtained previously to their Lists and Bills being left for examination.

NEW BILLS, prepared in accordance with the provisions of the Act 29 Vict., cap. 25, dated the 11th day of June, 1886, may be obtained in payment of the principal of the whole, or part, of the Exchequer Bills advertised for payment, on the claimants specifying in their Lists the amount of New Bills required by them.

The interest of the said New Bills will be payable by coupons, half-yearly, on the 11th December and 11th June, at the Bank of England. The rate of interest will be advertised from time to time in the London Gazette. Such rate for the half-year to the 11th day of December, 1886, will in due course be notified in the London Gazette.

The Bills will be current from year to year, for a period of five years, commencing on the 11th June, 1886, at the option of the holders; and they will be payable for duties, aids, and taxes, at any time during the last six months of every year, viz., between the 11th December, in each year, and the 11th June following.

The New Bills in payment of the Bills left on or before the said 2nd day of June for Exchange, will be issued ON FRIDAY, THE 11TH DAY OF JUNE, 1886, when the claimants must attend at the Bank of England to sign receipts for the payment of Principal.

Notice will be given yearly of the days on which holders of the New Exchequer Bills who may be desirous of being paid the principal moneys must send their Bills to the Bank of England for examination and payment.

Payment, in money, may be obtained at the Bank of England after the said 11th day of June next for any Exchequer Bills hereby advertised for payment in New Bills or in money

No. 25588.

as above, and which may not be brought in accordingly, upon the claimants leaving the Bills for examination three days prior to that on which such payment is desired, between the hours of Ten and Two.

## Civil Service Commission, May 13, 1886.

THE Civil Service Commissioners hereby give notice, that the Candidates hereinafter named have passed the Preliminary Examination for Second Class Clerkships in the India Office, Second Class Clerkships in the India Audit Office, and for Men Clerkships of the Lower Division of the Civil Service, viz.:—

Of the Candidates examined on May 5, 1886:—

Amiss, Arthur Armitage, Willie Backwell, Richard Francis Baines, Thomas Ball, William Thomas Barnes, Edgar Vincent Barnsdale, Frederick Barnsdall, William Percy Biggs, James Bissenden, Edward Blakeston, Joseph Robinson Bonning, Joseph Henry Boohan, John Daniel Bouch, James Willows Box, James Harold Brand, Herbert Frank Brown, Arthur Brown, James Brown, Thomas Walter Bull, Arthur Dean Burnham, Arthur Shout Burt, John Richard Clark, Frank Peacock Clarke, Frederick William Franklin Clarke, Walter John Comyns, Henry Joseph Copley, George Coxon, James Curry, John Cuthbert, William Dalton, Patrick Danks, Alfred Ernest Davies, Ernest Martin Dawes, George William Francis Dawson, Walter Edward Donkin, Frederick Robert Doyle, Martin John Joseph Dunn, Henry Arthur Earnshaw, Charles Augustus Emary, Percy Farnhill, George Edward Farr, Philip Edward Field, Stanley George Flynn, Edward Forsaith, Henry Rowley Fowle, John Sydney Fox, John Wakefield Freeman, Michael Freestone, Richard Frost, George William Furlong, Charles John Garvin, James Gill, Harry Glendinning, William Greenwood, Peter Edward Hadfield, Arthur Hagon, William John Harries, Gwilym John Hawkins, Charles Edward Neynoe