(1.) The said Trinity House shall be entitled | from time to time to nominate from the members of their body for the time being three representatives to serve upon the Committee of the said Commissioners, to whom the management of the lights, buoys, and beacons of the Harbour of Newcastle-upon-Tyne shall for the time being be entrusted so long as any three of the elder or younger brethren named in the list contained in the First Schedule hereto are living, the first nominees being (if able and willing to serve) those who served as Master, Deputy Master, and Secretary in the year 1882.

(2.) The names of the nominees of the said Trinity House shall be transmitted to the said Commissioners before the 9th day of November in every year, and each nominee shall come into office at the same time as the members of the Committee who are chosen by the said Commissioners, and shall hold office for a year, but shall be eligible for renomination from time to time. Any cusual vacancy occurring among the nominees may be filled up by the nomination by the said Trinity House, within six weeks of the occurrence of the vacancy of a member of their body who shall hold office, so long only as the vacating member would have held office.

(3.) Every nominee of the said Trinity House shall be eligible to serve as chairman of the said Committee, and shall have the like right of voting and other rights as the members of the Committee chosen by the said Commissioners.

(4.) The said Committee shall, during the continuance of the right of representation of the said Trinity House herein provided, be appointed by the said Commissioners at their annual meeting in

each year.

(5.) The said Commissioners will discharge, perform, and execute all the duties and obligations of maintaining and keeping lighted or otherwise in respect of the lighthouses, buoys, and beacons belonging to the said Trinity House, and intended to be transferred to the said Commissioners by an Indenture bearing even date herewith, which are imposed on the said Trinity House by the said Act of 1801 or otherwise, and will at all times indemnify and save harmless the said Trinity House from and against the same or any of them, and from any loss, damage, claims and expenses of any description which may at any time result or happen by reason of the non-performance or non-fulfilment of the same or any of them.

(6.) The said Trinity House will complete at their own expense and hand over the lighthouse on the Groyne at South Shields on the south side of the harbour entrance to the said Commissioners, and the said Commissioners on their part will not make any claim for the amount of the accrued surplus of receipts over expenses in connection with the harbour lights, buoys, and beacons, from the 1st day of January 1872 to the 31st day of

December 1882.

- (7.) The said Commissioners will take over all members of the said Trinity House at present holding appointments in connection with the harbour lights, buoys, and beacons (except the Secretary and Summoner), and will continue them at their existing remuneration, so long as they discharge their duties satisfactorily, until death, retirement, or disablement, and will make the same provision for them in the event of their disablement or retirement as they would have received from the said Trinity House, namely two-thirds of the remuneration.
- (8.) So long as the said Trinity House have any representative upon the Committee of the said Commissioners as hereinbefore provided, they I Thomas Robson.

shall have the right of nominating members of the House to any future vacancies in the said lastmentioned appointments, or any substituted office or offices, provided that their nominees be in other respects competent persons, and that the salary and terms of engagement generally shall be determined by the said Commissioners.

(9.) The said Commissioners will annually pay to the said Trinity House by equal quarterly payments, beginning from the 1st day of January, 1883, the proportionate parts of the respective salaries of the Secretary and Summoner according to the apportionment shown in the Second Schedule hereto, during the respective lives of the present holders of these offices, or, if the present Secretary and Summoner die before the end of 1897, until the 31st day of December, 1897.

(10.) So long as the keeper of any lighthouse intended to be transferred to the said Commissioners as aforesaid shall be a member of the said Trinity House he shall be entitled to reside in the house belonging to the said Trinity House at present occupied by the keeper of such lighthouse, and not transferred to the said Commissioners, free of charge, except a nominal acknowledgment, all reasonable repairs, rates, and taxes being borne and paid by the said Commissioners.

11. All dues received by the said Trinity House on and since the 1st day of January 1883 in respect of the said harbour, lights, buoys, and beacons, shall be deemed to have been received on behalf of, and shall be paid over to, the said Commissioners, subject to the payment of all proper

charges thereout.

12. The said Commissioners will bear and pay all expenses of the said Trinity House, legal or otherwise, incidental to the preparation and execution of these Presents, and the said Indenture, bearing even date herewith, or the Agreement for the same, or attending the negotiations relative thereto.

In witness whereof, the said Trinity House and the said Commissioners have respectively caused their Common Seals to be hereunto affixed the

day and year first above written.

The Common Scal of the said Master, Pilots, and Seamen of the Trinity House of Newcastleupon-Tyne, was hereunto affixed by Order of the Board in the presence of Fred. Smith, Secretary.



Thomas Watson, Master. J. H. Watson, Deputy-Master.

The Common Seal of the Tync Improvement | Commissioners was hereunto affixed in the presence of



R. Urwin, Secretary. James C. Stevenson, Chairman.

## THE FIRST SCHEDULE.

LIST OF THE ELDER AND YOUNGER BRETHREN. Elder Brethren.

Joseph Henry Watson. George C. Coates. Frederick Smith. J. J. Robertson. Thomas Watson. George Coates. William E. W. Grigs.

George Crawford. Henry Coates. C. W. Weatherley. Samuel Allen. Thomas E. Grigs. Joseph K. Henderson. Austin Scott.

Younger Brethren.

Jacob W. Carr. Andrew Fairlam. Robert B. Henzell. John Pollock. Samuel Kent. Andrew Christie. George Grigs.