parishes churches or chapelries which are locally situate in the said diocese but are subject to a peculiar jurisdiction other than that of the Bishop of the said diocese shall be only subject to the jurisdiction of the Bishop of the said diocese.

"Whereas there is within the said Archdeaconry of Durham a certain peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of the Cathedral Church of Durham known as 'The Officialty' and it is incident to the same jurisdiction that the parishes and places comprised therein and subject thereto are subject to the authority of the official of the said Dean and Chapter and are not otherwise subject to the authority of any Archdeacon.

"And whereas the said parishes and places so subject to the authority of the Official of the Dean and Chapter of Durham are forty-eight in number and are those which are set forth in the schedule to this scheme annexed.

"And whereas the Venerable Edward Prest, now Archdeacon of the said Archdeaconry of Durham is also the present Official of the said Dean and Chapter of Durham for the 'Officialty' aforesaid.

"And whereas the Right Reverend Joseph Barber, Bishop of the diocese of Durham has proposed to us and has represented to us that it is in his opinion desirable that the parishes and places specified in the schedule to this scheme should be only subject to the jurisdiction of the Bishop of the said diocese and that the area of the said Archdeaconry of Durham should be altered by including therein the parishes and places specified in the said schedule.

"And whereas it appears to us to be expedient that the said proposals of the said Bishop should be carried into effect in manner hereinafter recom-

mended and proposed.

"And whereas the said Dean and Chapter of Durham and the said Edward Prest as such Official as aforesaid are willing that the said proposals of the said Bishop should be carried into effect and in testimony of such their willingness they the said Dean and Chapter and he the said Edward Prest have executed this scheme as hereinafter is expressed.

"Now therefore with the consent of the said Joseph Barber, Bishop of the said diocese of Durham (in testimony of which consent he hath set his hand and his episcopal seal to this scheme) we the Ecclesiastical Commissioners for England humbly recommend and propose that upon and from the day on which any Order of your Majesty in Council ratifying this scheme shall be published in the London Gazette the Archdeaconry of Durham shall comprise and consist of the present area of the said archdeaconry and the parishes and places the names of which are set forth in the schedule to this scheme annexed and with the consent as well of the said Joseph Barber, Bishop of Durham (testified as aforesaid) as also of the Very Reverend William Charles Lake now Dean of Durham, and the Chapter of Durham (in testimony of which last-mentioned consent the capitular seal of the Dean and Chapter of Durham is affixed to this scheme) and of the said Edward Prest (in testimony whereof he has signed and sealed this scheme) we the said Ecclesiastical Commissioners for England further recommend and propose that upon and from the day aforesaid all parishes churches and chapelries mentioned in or locally situate within the limits specified in the said schedule shall cease to be subject to the said peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of Durham known as 'The Officialty' and shall be only subject to the juris- ! diction of the Bishop of Durham for the time

"And we further recommend and propose that nothing herein contained shall prevent us from hereafter recommending and proposing any other matter or thing relating to the matters aforesaid or any them in accordance with the provisions of the said Acts or of either of them or of any other Act of Parliament.

"The SCHEDULE to which the foregoing Scheme has reference.

"The names of the Parishes and Places in the foregoing Scheme referred to; together with the names of the Rural Deaneries within which the same now are and will continue to be.

"Rural Deanery of Jarrow.

1. Harton V.

2. Hebburn Saint Cuthbert V.

3. Hedworth District.

4. Heworth V.

5. Heworth Saint Alban V.

Jarrow R.

7. Jarrow Grange V.

8. South Shields, Saint Hilda V.

9. Ditto Holy Trinity V.
10. Ditto Saint Mark V.

Ditto Saint Mark V.
 Ditto Saint Simon V.

12. Ditto Saint Stephen R.

12. Ditto Saint Stephen R.

13. Jarrow Docks, Saint Mary V.

14. Westoe V.

15. South Westoe District.

"Rural Deanery of Chester-le-Street.

16. Felling Christ Church V.

"Rural Deanery of Durham.

17. Croxdale R.

18. Durham Saint Oswald R.

19. Ditto Saint Cuthbert V

20. Ditto Saint Margaret V.

21. Bear Park Saint Edmund V.

22. Sacristan Saint Peter V.

23. Shincliffe R.

24. Witton Gilbert R. with Kimblesworth R.

"Rural Deanery of Auckland.

25. Merrington V.

26. Spennymoor V.

27. Whitworth V.

"Rural Deanery of Stanhope.

28. Edmondbyers R.

29. Muggleswick V.

"Rural Deanery of Darlington.

30. Aycliffe V.

31. Dinsdale R.

32. Heighington V.

"Rural Deanery of Houghton-le-Spring.

33. Dalton-le-Dale V.

34. Seaham V.

35. Seaham Harbour V.

" Rural Deanery of Wearmouth.

36. Monkwearmouth V.

37. Ditto All Saints V.

Ditto Venerable Bede V.

39. Ditto Saint Cuthbert V.

40. Southwick R.

38.

"Rural Deanery of Easington.

4!. Ferry Hill V.

42. Monk Hesleden V.

43. Pittington V.

44. Shadforth Saint Cuthbert R.

45. Sherburn V.

"Rural Deanery of Stockton.

46. Billingham V.

47. Haverton Hill V.

48. Wolviston V."