The above mentioned islands, viz., M"hlen-wärder, Waltershof, and Altenwärder are inc uded within the new frontier.

The line then runs along the northern shore of the Kleine Hattwick, the old Süder-Elbe, and cuts the present frontier at a marked point on the landing quay near the second class Custom-house of Moorburg.

The present frontier on the left bank of the Elbe from the landing quay, near Moorburg, to the limits of Cuxhafen, and the present frontier on the right bank of the Elbe from the Neumühlen Quay to the Kaiser Wilhelm Koog, will cease to exist immediately on the establishment of the new frontier.

Ships which may happen to lie within those portions of the stream of the Elbe which are to be incorporated, shall, if entitled to carry the Customs' flag or lights, hoist the same either at the moment or even before the actual establishment of the new frontier.

Vessels entitled to hoist flag and lights which, at the time of the incorporation shall be in the lower Elbe, without having been cleared, will be subject to the regulations enforced before the incorporation, and will have to take clearance in that way.

At the request of captains of vessels proposing to enter or leave the Elbe, the Custom-houses of Cuxhafen and Altona will deliver clearance according to the new regulations as early as December 31st.

All ships within the waters of the Elbe at the moment of incorporation which have not had clearance may be sealed by the Customs' authorities or boarded and occupied by Customs' officers.

# Admiralty, 31st January, 1882.

IN accordance with the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of 22nd February, 1870—

Paymaster Charles Augustus Pritchard has this day been placed on the Retired List, with permission to assume the rank and title of Paymaster-in-Chief.

## Admiralty, 1st February, 1882.

IN accordance with the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of 22nd February, 1870—

Paymaster Arthur Price has this day been placed on the Retired List, with permission to assume the rank and title of Paymaster-in-Chief.

> War Office, Pall Mall, 3rd February, 1832.

Staff, Major-General John Neptune Sargent, C.B., to be a Major-General on the Staff of the Army, with a view to his commanding the Troops in China, Hong Kong, and the Straits Settlements, vice Lieutenant-General E. W. Donovan, who vacates that appointment consequent on promotion. Dated 1st April, 1882.

Lieutenant-Colonel Wilsone Black, C.B., the South Wales Borderers, to be an Assistant Adjutant and Quartermaster-General on the Staff of the Army, vice Colonel A. S. Cameron, V.C., King's Own Borderers, who has vacated that appointment. Dated 25th February, 1882.

Major Alfred James Paterson, the Princess of Wales's Own (Yorkshire Regiment), to be a Brigade Major on the Staff of the Army, vice Major W. T. Dooner, the Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers, who has resigned that appointment. Dated 4th February, 1882. War Office, 3rd February, 1882.

## MILITIA.

ARTILLERY.

orfar and Kincardine, Captain Frederick Baird is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 4th February, 1882.

Kent, Lieutenant Frank Wetherall Hight resigns his Commission. Dated 4th February, 1882.

The Prince of Wales's Own Norfolk, Major and Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel the Honourable Harbord Harbord resigns his Commission; also is permitted to retain his rank, and to wear the prescribed uniform on his retirement. Dated 4th February, 1882.

4th February, 1882.
Captain Edward Southwell Trafford to be Major, vice the Honourable H. Harbord. Dated 4th

February, 1882.

Lieutenant John Sancroft Holmes to be Captain, vice E. S. Trafford. Dated 4th February, 1882.

Royal Pembroke, Lieutenant Reginald Gregory Lund resigns his Commission. Dated 4th February, 1882.

Yorkshire, Major Robert Christopher Wintour resigns his Commission; also is permitted to retain his rank, and to wear the prescribed uniform on his retirement. Dated 4th February, 1882.

### Engineer.

Royal Monmouthshire, Harold Charles Moffatt, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 4th February, 1852.

### Infantry.

3rd Battalion, the Buffs (East Kent Regiment), Lionel Seymour Rawlinson, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 4th February, 1882.

4th Battalion, the Royal Warwickshire Regiment, Lieutenant Harry Wilde Schofield to be Captain. Dated 4th February, 1882.

4th Battalian, the Devonshire Regiment, William Alexander Forbes, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 4th February, 1882.

3rd Battalion, the Prince of Wales's Own (West Yorkshire Regiment), Thomas Bradford Dixon, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 4th February, 1882.

3rd Battalion, the Royal Welsh Fusiliers, Licutenant George Everard Arthur Cayley to be Captain. Dated 4th February, 1882.

3rd Battalion, the Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry, The undermentioned Gentlemen to be Lieutenants:—

Gerard Codrington Napier. Dated 4th February, 1882.

Arthur Francis Salmon. Dated 4th February, 1882.

4th Battalion the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) Lieutenant Henry Ernest Heydemann, from the 3rd Battalion, to be Captain. Dated 4th February, 1882.

3rd Battolion, the Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment), Captain and Honorary Major Erasmus Harris Vaughton resigns his Commission; also is permitted to retain his rank, and to wear the prescribed uniform on his retirement. Dated 4th February, 1882.

4th Battalion, the King's Light Infantry (Shrop-shire Regiment) Lieutenant Benjamin Cornish Cleave resigns his Commission. Dated 4th February, 1882.

5th Battalion, the Riftr Brigade (the Prince Consort's Own), John Napier Grant, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 4th February, 1852.