- Lincolnshire (Holland).-Sutton St. Edmunds Commons, and Inkerson Fen, in the Parts of Holland, Lincolnshire.
- Norfolk. -(1.) The hundred of Freebridge Lynn, in the Western Division of the county of Norfolk.
 - (2.) The hundred of Smithdon, in the Western Division of the county of Norfolk.
 - (3.) The parishes of Feltwell St. Mary, and Feltwell St. Nicholas, including Feltwell Fen, in the Western Division of the county of Norfolk.
- Northamptonshire.—(1.) The parishes of Crick, Winwick, Watford, West Haddon, Guilsborough, and Nortoft, in the county of Northampton.

(2.) The parish of Braybrooke, in the county of Northampton.

(3.) The parish of Thorpe Lubenham, in the county of Northampton.

- Staffordshire.—The petty sessional division of Elford, the township of Wichnor, in the petty sessional division of Burton-upon-Trent, the township of Curborough and Elmhurst, in the petty sessional division of Rugeley, the parishes of Hints, and Drayton Bassett, and the township of Fazeley, in the petty sessional division of Shenstone, in the county of Stafford, and the boroughs of Burton-upon-Trent, and Lichfield.
- Warwickshire.—(1.) The parish of Kingsbury, in the petty sessional division of Atherstone, in the county of Warwick.

(2.) The parish of Seckington, in the petty sessional division of Atherstone, in the county of Warwick.

Wiltshire.--(1.) The parish of Pertwood; so much of the parishes of Chicklade and East Knoyle as lies to the north of the road from Chicklade to Willoughby Hedge; and so much of the several parishes of Hill Deverill, Brixton Deverill, and Monkton Deverill, as lies to the south-east of the Deverill River, in the county of Wilts. (2.) So much of the parishes of Durrington,

(2.) So much of the parishes of Durrington, and Balford, respectively, in the county of Wilts, as lies to the west of the River Avon; and so much of the parish of Amesbury, in the said county, as lies to the west of the said River and to the north of the northern boundary of the main road from Amesbury to Rollestone.

(3.) The parish of Great Somerford, and so much of the parish of Little Somerford as is in the occupation of Mr. Thomas Sloper, in the county of Wilts.

(4.) So much of the parishes of Brokenborough, Charlton, and Malmesbury St. Paul (exclusive of the Local Board District of Malmesbury), in the county of Wilts, as is comprised within the inner boundaries of the Fosse-road, the road from Malmesbury to Five Lanes, and the road from Five Lanes to Long Newnton.

(5.) So much of the parish of Little Hinton, in the county of Wilts, as lies to the north of the road running from Wanborough to Bishopstone; so much of the parish of Bishopstone, in the said county, as lies to the west of the new road to Bourton and the Bishopstone old road; and so much of the parish of Wanborough, in the said county, as lies within the parish of Little Hinton aforesaid.

Forkshire (East Riding).—(1.) 'The petty sessional division of North Hunsley Beacon, in the East Riding of the county of York.

(2.) The petty sessional division of Bainton Beacon, in the East Riding of the county of York.

(3.) All the lands and buildings situate at Bridlington, in the petty sessional division of Dickering, in the East Riding of the county of York, within the following boundaries, namely, —Marton-road, Sewerby Heads-road, Forty foot-lane, the Promenade, Chapel-street, Prospect-street, Quay-road, Saint John's-street, Kirkgate, and Pinfold-street, respectively.

Yorkshire (North Riding).---The townships of Kirbymoorside, Welburn, Beadlam, Nawton, Wombleton, Skiplam, Fadmoor, Gillamoor, Hutton-le-Hole, Great Edstone, Little Edstone, and North Holme, in the North Riding of the county of York.

Yorkshire (West Riding).—The whole of the petty sessional division of Bolton-by-Bowland, in the West Riding of the county of York.

Veterinary Department, Privy Council Office, 29th November, 1881.

War Office, November 28, 1881.

THE Queen has been graciously pleased to give orders for the appointment of Charles Alfred Cookson, Esq., Her Majesty's Consul at Alexandria, to be an Ordinary Member of the Civil Division of the Third Class, or Companions of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath.

> Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Downing Street, November 26, 1881.

THE Queen has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

To be an Ordinary Member of the First Class, or Knights Grand Cross of the said Most Distinguished Order :--

Sir Harry Smith Parkes, K.C.B., Her Majesty's Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary in Japan.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order :---

Auckland Colvin, Esq., Controller-General in Egypt.

Foreign Office, October 25, 1881.

THE Queen has been graciously pleased to appoint Demetrius Rudolph Peacock, Esq., to be Her Majesty's Vice-Consul at Batoum.

Foreign Office, November 21, 1881.

THE Queen has been graciously pleased to appoint Commander William Berjew Pauli, R.N., now Her Majesty's Consul at Manila, to be Her Majesty's Consul at Buenos Ayres.

(H. 8212.)

Board of Trode (Harbour Department),

Whitehall Gardens, November 28, 1881. THE Board of Trade have received through the Secretary of State for the Colonies a copy of a Despatch from the Governor of Ceylon, reporting that vessels arriving from any port of Java will be placed in quarantine until the expiration of fourteen days from the date of leaving that island. This regulation has been made in consequence of an outbreak of cholera in Java.