which the animals are to be moved, which licence shall not be granted until satisfactory evidence has been adduced to that Local Authority that the animals to be moved-

(i.) either have been bred on the farm or premises from which they are to be moved, or have been pastured or fed thereon for a period of at least one month: and

(ii.) have not been exposed in any market, fair, exhibition, or public sale in England or

Wales: and

(iii.) are not affected with foot-and-mouth disease, and have not been in contact with animals affected with or suspected of that disease.

Offences.

6. If an animal is moved in contravention of this Order, the owner thereof, and the person for the time being in charge thereof, and the person causing, directing, or permitting the movement, and the person or company moving or conveying the animal, and the owner and the charterer and the master of the vessel in which it is moved, and the consignee or other person receiving or keeping it, knowing it to have been so moved, shall, each according to and in respect of his or their own acts and defaults, be deemed guilty of an offence against the Act of 1878. C. L. Peel.

THE CONTAGIOUS DISEASES (ANIMALS) ACT, 1878.

THE following areas are now Areas Infected with Foot-and-Mouth Disease under the abovementioned Act (except the lines of railway within those areas as far as those lines are used or required for the transit of animals through those areas, without untrucking):-

Buckinghamshire.—(1.) The whole of the parishes of Swanbourne, and Mursley, in the county of Buckingham, except the hamlet of Salden in

the parish of Mursley.

(2.) The whole of the parish of Wing, in the county of Buckingham, except the lands situate in that part of the said parish which lie to the eastward of the road leading from the village of Wingrave to the village of Ledburne and the said road; also so much of the parish of Linslade, in the said county, as lies to the westward of the main line of the London and North-Western Railway, and to the southward of the main road leading from Aylesbury through the village of Wing to Leighton Buzzard.

(3.) So much of the parish of Hardwick, in the county of Buckingham, as lies to the westward of the main road from Aylesbury to Winslow (except the hamlet of Weedon); also so much of the parish of Whitchurch, in the said county, as lies to the westward of the road from Oving to the village of Whitchurch and of the main road from Whitchurch to Aylesbury; and also the whole of the parish of Pitchcott, in

the said county.

Cambridgeshire.—An area lying around the North Farm Homestead, at Kneesworth, in the petty sessional division of Arrington and Melbourn, in the county of Cambridge, lately in the occupation of Charles Sell, but now in the occupation of John Jarman, and comprised within the following limits, namely,—bounded on the west by the Old North-road, on the north by the parish of Whaddon, on the east and south-east by a brook, and on the south by the highway leading from Kneesworth towards Meldreth.

(Liberty of the Isle of Ely).—(1,) The whole of the parish of Thorney, and that part of the parish of Wisbech, which is situate to the west of the Old South Eau Bank, in the Liberty of the Isle of Ely.

(2.) The whole of the parish of the united parishes of Saint Mary, and Saint Andrew, Whittlesey, in the Liberty of the Isle of Ely.

Cornwall. - (1.) The parishes of Mabe, Constantine, Mawnan, Budock, St. Gluvias, and Mylor, in the county of Cornwall, and the boroughs of Falmouth, and Penryn, except the foreign animals wharf at Penryn Wharf, in the borough of Penryn.

(2.) The parishes of Gwennap, Redruth, Stithians, Perranarworthal, and Kenwyn, in

the county of Cornwall.

(3.) The parishes of Kea, and Feock, in the county of Cornwall.

Derbyshire.—The petty sessional division of Swadlincote, in the county of Derby.

Essex.—(1.) The parishes of Foxearth, Borley. Liston, Pentlow, and Otten Belchamp, in the county of Essex.

(2.) The parishes of West Bergholt, and

Great Horksley, in the county of Essex.
(3.) The parishes of Dedham, and Ardleigh, in the county of Essex.

(4.) The parishes of Lawford, Mistley, and Little Bromley, in the county of Essex.

(5.) The parishes of Tilty, Broxted, Great Easton, Little Easton, Thaxted, Chickney, and Takeley, in the county of Essex.

Hampshire.—(1.) Those portions of the parishes of North Stoneham, and South Stoneham, in the county of Southampton, which are bounded on the south-east by the river Itchen, on the south-west by the road leading from Wood Mill through Burger Street to the Upper Common Gate, on the west by the Winchester road as far as the lane opposite Messrs. Bull and Son's farm, and on the north and north-east by the road leading past the Bishopstoke railway station to the river Itchen.

(2.) That portion of the parish of Millbrook, in the petty sessional division of Southampton, in the county of Southampton, which is bounded on the south by the Southampton Water, on the east by the Shirley-road and the Romsey-road as far as the Old Toll Bar, on the north by Brownhill-lane and Bedbridge-lane to the River Test, and on the west by the River Test.

(3.) The whole of the parish of East Tytherley, in the petty sessional division of Romsey,

in the county of Southampton.

Hertfordshire.-The parishes of Therfield, Kelshall, Sandon, Wallington, and Ashwell, in the petty sessional division of Odsey, in the county of Hertford, except so much of the road leading from Baldock to Royston as lies on the northern boundary of the parishes of Therfield, and

Lancushire. - (1.) The townships of Balderstone, Dutton, Osbaldeston, and Clayton-le-Dale, in the petty sessional division of Blackburn Lower, in the county of Lancaster.

(2.) The townships of Aighton Bailey and Chaigley, Bowland with Leagrim, and Thornley with Wheatley, in the petty sessional division of

Clitheroe, in the county of Lancaster. (3.) The townships of Alston, Elston, Grim-

sargh with Brockholes, and Hothersall, in the county of Lancaster.

Leicestershire .- The parish of Lubenham, in the petty sessional division of Market Harborough, in the county of Leicester.