mouth disease, are hereby declared to be free from foot-and-mouth disease, and those hamlets and townships shall, as from the commencement of this Order, cease to be areas or parts of an area infected with foct-and-mouth disease.

3. The following areas (namely), -(1) the borough of Accrington; (2.) the borough of Burnley; (3.) the petty sessional divisions of Accrington, Blackburn Lower, and Clitheroe, in the county of Lancaster, and the boroughs of Blackburn, and Clitheroe; and (4.) the townships of Alston, Elston, Grimsargh with Brockholes, and Hothersall, in the county of Lancaster; shall continue to be and are hereby declared to be areas infected with foot-and-mouth disease.

C. L. Peel.

## THE CONTAGIOUS DISEASES (ANIMALS) ACT, 1878.

THE following areas are now Areas Infected with Foot-and-Mouth Disease under the abovementioned Act (except the lines of railway within those areas as far as those lines are used or required for the transit of animals through those areas, without untrucking):—

- Bedfordshire. The whole of the parish of Northill, and that portion of the parish of Sandy lying to the west of the river Ivel, in the petty sessional division of Biggleswade, in the county of Bedford.
- Buckinghamshire. (1.) The whole parish of Chesham, (including the hamlets of Ashley Green, Asheridge, Bellingdon, Botley, Charteridge, Hundridge, Latimer, and Waterside,) the parish of Chesham Bois, and the parish of Chenies, in the county of Buckingham.

(2.) The whole of the parish of Marsworth, in the county of Buckingham.

(3.) The whole of the parish of Beaconsfield, in the county of Buckingham.

(4.) The whole of the parish of Hambleden, in the county of Buckingham.

(5.) The whole of the parish of Ellesborough, in the county of Buckingham.

(6.) The whole of the parishes of Swanbourne, and Mursley, in the county of Buckingham, except the hamlet of Salden in the parish of Mursley.

Cambridgeshire.— The parishes of Waterbeach, Landbeach, and Cottenham, in the petty sessional division of Cambridge, in the county of Cambridge.

(*Liberty of the Isle of Ely*).—The whole of the parish of Thorney, and that part of the parish of Wisbech, which is situate to the west of the Old South Eau Bank, in the Liberty of the Isle of Ely.

Cornwall.-(1.) The parishes of Mabe, Constantine, Mawnan, Budock, St. Gluvias, and Mylor, in the county of Cornwall, and the boroughs of Falmouth, and Penryn, except the foreign animals wharf at Penryn Wharf, in the borough of Penryn.

(2.) The parishes of Gwennap, Redruth, Stithians, Perranarworthal, and Kenwyn, in the county of Cornwall.

(3.) The parishes of Kea, and Feock, in the county of Cornwall.

Derbyshire.-(1.) The whole of the petty sessional division of Derby, in the county of Derby, and the borough of Derby.

(2.) The petty sessional divisions of Ashbourne, and Sudbury, in the county of Derby. (3.) The parish of Crich, in the petty sessional division of Belper, in the county of Derby.

(4.) The petty sessional division of Swadlincote, in the county of Derby.

(5.) The petty sessional division of Repton and Gresley, in the county of Derby.

Dorsetshire.-(1.) The parish of Owermoigne, in the petty sessional division of Dorchester, in the county of Dorset.

(2.) The tything and hamlet of Plush in the parish of Buckland Newton, and the higher tything of Piddletrenthide in the parish of Piddletrenthide, in the petty sessional division of Cerne, in the county of Dorset.

Hampshire.—(1.) Those portions of the parishes of North Stoneham, and South Stoneham, in the county of Southampton, which are bounded on the south-east by the river Itchen, on the south-west by the road leading from Wood Mill through Burger Street to the Upper Common Gate, on the west by the Winchester road as far as the lane opposite Messrs. Bull and Son's farm, and on the north and north-east by the road leading past the Bishopstoke railway station to the river Itchen.

(2.) That portion of the parish of Millbrook, in the petty sessional division of Southampton, in the county of Southampton, which is bounded on the south by the Southampton Water, on the east by the Shirley-road and the Romsey-road as far as the Old Toll Bar, on the north by Brownhill-lane and Redbridge-lane to the River Test, and on the west by the River Test.

(3.) All those fields on the north side of the Stockbridge-road below the cottages called the Barracks to the end of Triendley's Wood, extending north to the Warren Bottom Close part of Itchens Fields and part of the Glebe, including the bye-lane called Harridge Grove, and thence to the Stockbridge-road, in the parish of North Waltham, in the county of Southampton.

- Hertfordshire.—The parishes of Therfield, Kelshall, Sandon, Wallington, and Ashwell, in the petty sessional division of Odsey, in the county of Hertford, except so much of the road leading from Baldock to Royston as lies on the northern boundary of the parishes of Therfield, and Kelshall.
- Lancushire.—(1.) The hamlet of Mossley, the townships of Tonge, Royton, Chatterton, Thornham, Butterworth, and the hamlet of Whitworth lower end, in the hundred of Salford, in the county of Lancaster, and the boroughs of Accrington, and Burnley.

(2.) The petty sessional divisions of Accrington, Blackburn Lower, and Clitheroe, in the county of Lancaster, and the boroughs of Blackburn and Clitheroe.

(3.) The townships of Alston, Elston, Grimsargh with Brockholes, and Hothersall, in the county of Lancaster.

Leicestershire. — (1.) The parish of Bowden Magna, in the petty sessional division of Market Harborough, in the county of Leicester.

(2.) The parish of Lubenham, in the petty sessional division of Market Harborough, in the county of Leicester.

(3.) The parishes of Langton Tur, and Langton West, in the petty sessional division of Market Harborough, in the county of Leicoster.

(4.) The parish of Slawston, in the petty sessional division of Market Harborough, in the county of Leicester.

5138 5138