honorary rank of Major:

- Thomas Lancelot Reed. Dated 1st July, 1881.
 - Somerville Arthur Gurney. Dated 1st July, 1881.
 - Charles Wells Archdale. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- Northumberland Corps, George Frederic 2nd Catcheside, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 2nd Oxfordshire Corps, Lieutenant Arthur Ernest Ward to be Captain. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 3rd Renfrewshire Corps, Lieutenant Robert Scobie to be Captain. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 1st Ross-shire Corps, Major Duncan Henry C. R. Davidson to be Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 1st Roxburgh and Selkirk Corps, Acting Chaplain the Reverend Donald M'Leod resigns his appointment. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 2nd Somersetshire Corps, Lieutenant Colonel Henry Bethune Patton is granted the honorary rank of Colonel. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- Captain John Sloman is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- 2nd Staffordshire (Staffordshire Rangers) Corps, William Edward Stamer, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 1st Stirlingshire Corps, William Denholm, Gent., to be Lieutenant (Supernumerary). Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 1st Suffolk Corps, Captain Ernest St. George Cobbold is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- Cadet Corps attached to 4th Surrey Corps. Alexander Hay Tod, Esq., B.A., to be Hono-rary Captain. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 6th Surrey Corps, The undermentioned Officers resign their Commissions :-
 - Captain Samuel Brownfield. Dated 17th August, 1881.
 - Lieutenant Edward John Alfred Wade. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 8th Surrey Corps, Archibald Coxwell Voules, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 2nd Sussex Corps, Lieutenant-Colonel Sir Walter B. Barttelot, Bart., C.B, M.P., is granted the honorary rank of Colonel. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- Captain Warden Sergison is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- 1st Sutherland Corps, John MacKintosh, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 1st Tower Hamlets Corps (Tower Hamlets Rifle Volunteer Brigade), Captain Russell Gole is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated Ist July, 1881.
- The undermentioned Surgeons are granted the honorary rank of Surgeon-Major :
- Thomas Gray, M.D. Dated 1st July, 1881. John Hayball Paul, M.D. Dated 1st July, 188Î.
- Octavius Mark White, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 1st Wiltshire Corps, Lieutenant Henry Broome Pinniger resigns his Commission.. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 2nd Willshire Corps, Edward Llewellyn Gwillim, Esq., to be Captain. Dated 5th August, 1881.

- The undermentioned Captains are granted the Ist Worcestershire Corps, Lieutenant Colonel Frederick Winn Knight, C.B., M.P., is granted the honorary rank of Colonel. Dated 1st July, 1881.
 - Captain William Norris is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 1st July, 1881.
 - 3rd West Riding of Yorkshire Corps, Honorary Major Thomas Kent Neild resigns his Commission as Adjutant ; also is permitted to retain his rank, and to continue to wear the uniform of the Corps on his retirement. Dated 31st July, 1881.
 - 4th West Riding of Yorkshirs Corps, Major John Caw to be Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 17th August, 1881.
 - 6th West Riding of Yorkshire Corps, Lieutenant Charles Frederick Roberts to be Captain. Dated 17th August, 1881.
 - 7th West Riding of Yorkshire Corps, Captain Charles Edward Bousfield to be Major. Dated 17th August, 1881.
 - 8th West Riding of Yorkshire Corps, Lieutenant-Colonel Walter Spencer Stanhope is granted the honorary rank of Colonel. Dated 1st. July, 1881.
 - Arthur Nicholson Smith, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 17th August, 1881.

Whitehall, July 16, 1881.

THE Right Honourable John Duke, Lord Coleridge, Lord Chief Justice of England, has appointed William Godfrey Newman, of Southampton, in the county of Hants, Gentleman, to be one of the Perpetual Commissioners for taking the acknowledgments of deeds to be executed by married women, under the Act passed for the abolition of fines and recoveries, and for the substitution of more simple modes of assurance, in and for the county of Hants, and the town and county of the town of Southampton.

THE CONTAGIOUS DISEASES (ANIMALS) ACT, 1878.

THE following areas are now Areas Infected with Foot-and-Mouth Disease under the abovementioned Act (except the lines of railway within those areas as far as those lines are used or required for the transit of animals through those areas, without untrucking) :-

- Cambridgeshire .- The parishes of Waterbeach, and Landbeach, in the petty sessional division of Cambridge, in the county of Cambridge.
 - (Liberty of the Isle of Ely).-The whole of the parish of Thorney, and that part of the parish of Wisbech, which is situate to the west of the Old South Eau Bank, in the Liberty of the Isle of Ely.

Derbyshire.-(1.) The whole of the petty sessional division of Derby, in the county of Derby, and the borough of Derby.

(2.) The petty sessional divisions of Ash-

bourne, and Sudbury, in the county of Derby. (3.) The parish of Crich, in the petty sessional division of Belper, in the county of Derby.

(4.) The petty sessional division of Swadlińcote, in the county of Derby.

(5.) The petty sessional division of Repton and Gresley, in the county of Derby.

(6.) The park, grounds, and premises known