- 3rd Battalion, the Worcestershire Regiment, Lieutenant Henry Eardley Whitmore to be Captain. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 3rd Battalion, the Border Regiment, Captain Frederick Robertson Sewell is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 1st July,
- The permission granted to Captain Charles John Myers to retain his rank, and to continue to wear the uniform of the Royal Cumberland Militia on his retirement, notified in the London Gazette of 6th July, 1880, is cancelled, on his appointment to the 4th Battalion, Lincolnshire Regiment, as Captain.
- 4th Battalion, the Border Regiment, Thomas, Earl of Bective, to be Honorary Colonel of the Battalion. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 3rd Battalion, the Hampshire Regiment, Lieutenant-Colonel George Briggs is granted the honorary rank of Colonel. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- 3rd Battalion, the South Staffordshire Regiment, Lieutenant the Honourable Daniel Harry Finch to be Captain. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 4th Battalion, the South Staffordshire Regiment, Lieutenant-Colonel Robert Jameson Eustace Eustace is granted the honorary rank of Colonel. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- Lieutenant Abram Jackson to be Captain. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 3rd Battalion, the Prince of Wales's Volunteers (South Lancashire Regiment), Captain James Watson is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- 3rd Battalion, the Sherwood Foresters (Derbyshire Regiment), Edmund Anthony Jefferson Maynard, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 3rd Battalion, Princess Charlotte of Wales's (Berkshire Regiment), Captain and Honorary Major Robert Christopher Arbuthnot resigns his Commission; also is permitted to retain his rank, and to wear the prescribed uniform on his retirement. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 7th Battalion, the King's Royal Rifle Corps, Lieutenant Peter Wade Grant Copland-Crawford to be Captain. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 9th Battalion, the King's Royal Rifle Corps, Arthur Cary Gilbert Helyar, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 3rd Battalion, the Prince of Wales's (North Staffordshire Regiment), Major and Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel Eyre Trench John Richard Nugent resigns his Commission; also is permitted to retain his rank, and to wear the prescribed uniform on his retirement. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 4th Battalion, the Durham Light Infantry, Lieutenant Thomas Lockhart to be Captain. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 3rd Battalion, Seaforth Highlanders (Ross-shire Buffs), Lieutenant James Honyman Henderson to be Captain. Dated 30th June, 1881.
- 3rd Battalion, the Royal Irish Rifles, Lieutenant Ferdinand Aitkens resigns his Commission. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 4th Battalion, the Royal Irish Rifles, Lieutenant-Colonel George Hamilton, Marquis of Donegall, K.P., resigns his Commission. 17th August, 1881. Dated

- George Hamilton, Marquis of Donegall, K.P., late Lieutenant - Colonel, to be Honorary Colonel of the Battalion. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- Francis Macnaghten Leslie, Esq., late Lieutenant 63rd Foot, to be Captain. Dated 17th August,
- 5th Battalion, the Royal Irish Rifles, Lieutenant-Colonel-Commandant and Honorary Colonel William Brownlow Forde resigns his Commission; also is permitted to retain his rank, and to wear the prescribed uniform on his retirement. Dated 17th August, 1881.

Captain and Honorary Major George Fox Grant to be Major, vice A. V. Davoren, resigned. Dated 17th August, 1881.

3rd Battalion, Princess Louise's (Sutherland and Argyll Highlanders), Charles Findlay, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 28th July, 1881.

- 4th Battalion, Princess Louise's (Sutherland and Argyll Highlanders), Major William Cuninghame is granted the honorary rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 1st July, 1881.
- 7th Battalion, The Prince Consort's Own (Rifle Brigade), Leonard Williams, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 3rd Battalion, the Prince of Wales's Leinster Regiment (Royal Canadians), Nicholas Trafalgar Biddulph, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 17th August, 1881.
- 5th Battalion, the Prince of Wales's Leinster Regiment (Royal Canadians), Captain and Honorary Major Francis O'Donnell Murphy resigns his Commission; also is permitted to retain his rank, and to wear the prescribed uniform on his retirement. Dated 17th August,
- 3rd Battalion, the Royal Munster Fusiliers, Ernest Hugh Lomax Helyar, Gent., to be Lieutenant. Dated 17th August, 1881.

MILITIA MEDICAL DEPARTMENT.

Surgeon Robert Lucas, 3rd Battalion, the Royal Scots (Lothian Regiment), to be Surgeon-Major. Dated 13th July, 1881.

Surgeon-Major Henry James Paine, 3rd Battalion, the Welsh Regiment, resigns his Commission; also is permitted to retain his rank, and to wear the prescribed uniform on his retirement. Dated 17th August, 1881.

YEOMANRY CAVALRY.

Ayrshire, Lieutenant-Colonel Charles Vereker Hamilton-Campbell is granted the honorary rank of Colonel. Dated 1st July, 1881.

Major Richard F. F. Campbell is granted the

honorary rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 1st July, 1881.

The undermentioned Captains are granted the honorary rank of Major:

William Parker Adam. Dated 1st July, 1881. Robert Morris Pollok. Dated 1st July, 1881. James Somervell. Dated 1st July, 1881. William Ralston Patrick. Dated 1st July, 1881.

Denbighshire, Captain Arthur Mesham is granted the honorary rank of Major. Dated 1st July, 1881.

Duke of Lancaster's Own, Lieutenant-Colonel Commandant the Honourable Algernon Fulke Egerton is granted the honorary rank of Colonel. Dated 1st July, 1881.

The undermentioned Captains are granted the honorary rank of Major :-

Richard Henry Ainsworth. Dated 1st July, Howarth Ashton. Dated 1st July, 1881.