Civil Service Commission, April 4, 1881.

THE Civil Service Commissioners hereby give notice, that the Candidates hereinafter named have passed the Preliminary Examination for Second Class Clerkships in the India Office, and for Men Clerkships in the Lower Division of the Civil Service, viz.:—

Of the Candidates examined on March 29,

Acht, William Conrad Ainscough, James Alexander, Alfred Edward Balleine, Arthur Edwin Banks, Thomas George Bassett, Frederick Best, John Biffen, William Birkby, James Blakey, Edward Thompson Blomfield, Edward Eldridge Brett, William Henry Briant, Frank Buck, Ernest Burt, Herbert William Cahill, Patrick Joseph Carbury, John Carter, Sydney Cartwright, William George Charlton, William Coe, Herbert Crane, John Bell Crawford, Richard Frederick Cridland, Francis Joseph Daly, Francis Daly, Michael
Daly, Patrick Michael
De Courcy, John J. De Segundo, Charles Sempill Desmond, John Jeremiah Dickson, James Draper, Herbert James Driscoll, John Duncan, Leland Lewis Edwards, Richard James Elliott, Arthur William Entwisle, Robert James Evans, Evan Finch, William George Finlay, George Foster, Arthur Wheelwright Fowles, William Don France, Albert William Galt, Alexander Robert Glaysher, John Gorrie, William Grigsby, Charles Edwin Guenigault, John Hale, Arnold Henry Hall, James Charles Philip Hamilton, William Hampson, Charles Edward Hansford, Jesse Harrington, Thomas Hartley, Arthur Danesbury Hatfield, William Healey, William Augustus Heggie, Thomas Herbert, Frank Bertram Hole, Albert Edward Hopwood, John Lowe Howse, Arthur Edwin Hutchings, Arthur William Johnston, John Robert James Kearney, John Knowles, Joseph Lacey, Frederick

Lawless, Nicholas Leach, Richard Lennon, Alfred Richard Lloyd, Edward Bell Lupton, Thomas Hugh McCabe, David Henry McGrath, John Mageean, William Henry Maginnis, James Mahony, John Marks, William Frederick Marriott, Francis
Marshall, Thomas
Martin, Charles Edward
Mason, William Popplewell
Mayle, Lemes McAdam Maule, James McAdam Molohan, Richard Monteith, William Moran, Martin Newman, Leonard Normile, Bartholomew T. O'Connor, Michael John O'Keeffe, Maurice Patrick O'Neill, Patrick Joseph Osborn, Thomas William Fryer Pay, Samuel Richard Pearson, Robert Wilson Potbury, John Power, James William Powlesland, Sydney George Pratt, Alfred Waterman Preston, Harry Russell Preston, Herbert Price, William Robert Purkess, Edwin Pycraft, Albert Edward Rand, Herbert Redhead, James Ridley Rice, George Richardson, Walter Henry Roberts, Stephen Sadlier, Richard Saville, Joseph Smith, Alexander Smyth, Randolph Marriott Stabler, Charles Staden, Walter Thomas Stead, Harry Stenson, George Routledge Stockham, Thomas Stokes, William Henry Stuart, Michael Tapscott, Frederick Taylor, James Burnett Tonkin, Alfred Ernest Tucker, John Venables, Frank Walker, John Walker, Walter John Wallace, George Ward, James Patrick Ward, William Edward Ignatius Warr, George Benjamin Wright, Arthur Robinson

## Civil Service Commission, April 8, 1881.

THE Civil Service Commissioners hereby give notice that on the 23rd May, 1881, and following days a Competitive Examination will be held in London, Edinburgh, Dublin, Bristol, Leeds, Liverpool, Cork, and Belfast under the Regulations dated 22nd February, 1881, and published in the London Gazette of the same date, at which examination one Candidate will be selected for a Second Class Clerkship in the India Office, and 56 for the Lower Division of the Civil Service, including those who may succeed in the