Harwich, respectively approved by the Privy Council for the landing and lairage of foreign animals.

Gloucestershire .- (1.) The Petty Sessional Division of Cirencester, in the county of Gloucester. (2.) The Petty Sessional Division of Tewkesbury, in the county of Gloucester, and the borough of Tewkesbury.

Hampshire.—(1.) The county of Southampton, and the boroughs of Andover, Basingstoke, Lymington, Portsmouth, Romsey, Southampton,

and Winchester, except as follows :-

(a.) The Isle of Wight, and the boroughs of Newport and Ryde, which are declared to be an area infected with foot-and-mouth disease by Order of Council dated the eleventh day of January, one thousand eight hundred and

(b.) The New Forest within the perambulation and within the regards of the New Forest,

in the county of Southampton;
(c.) The Royal Clarence Victuelling Yard and the other lands and buildings in the port of Portsmouth approved by the Privy Council for the landing or lairage of foreign animals;

- (d.) The foreign animals wharf, and the foreign animals quarantine stations, and the other lands and buildings in the port of Southampton, approved or defined by the Privy Council for the landing or lairage or for the quarantine of foreign animals; and such landing-places in the port of Southampton as were on 18th February, 1881 (the date of the Order) used for the landing of animals from Ireland.
- (2.) The Isle of Wight, including the boroughs of Newport and Ryde.
- Huntingdonshire. The county of Huntingdon, and the boroughs of Godmanchester, Huntingdon, and St. Ives (Huntingdonshire).
- Kent.—The county of Kent, and the boroughs of Canterbury, Deal, Dover, Faversham, Folkestone, Gravesend, Hythe, Maidstone, Margate, Ramsgate, Rochester, Sandwich, Tentorden, and Tonbridge Wells.
- Lancushire.-The county of Lancaster, and the boroughs of Accrington, Ashton-under-Lyne, Barrow - in - Furness, Blackburn, Blackpool, Bolton, Burnley, Bury, Clitheroe, Lancaster, Manchester, Oldham, Over Darwen, Preston, Rochdale, St. Helens, Salford, Southport, Stalybridge, Warrington, and Wigan, except as follows:—The Petty Sessional Division of Kirkdale; and the foreign animals wharf at the Ramsden Dock, at Barrow-in-Furness; and such landing places in that county or in those boroughs as were on the 8th February, 1881 (the date of the Order) used for the landing of animals from Ireland.
- Leinestershire.—The county of Leicester, and the borough of Leicester.
- Lincolnshire.—The Parts of Holland, the Parts of Kesteven, and the Parts of Lindsey, Lincolnshire, and the boroughs of Boston, Grantham, Stamford, Grimsby, Lincoln, and Louth, except the foreign animals wharf, and the lands and buildings at Grimsby approved by the Privy Council for the landing and lairage of foreign animals.
- Middlesex. The county of Middlesex.
- Norfolk.—The county of Norfolk, and the boroughs of King's Lynn, Norwich, Thetford, and Yarmouth.

- Victoria Docks, and at Thames Haven, and at | Northamptonshire.-The county of Northampton, and the boroughs of Daventry and Northampton. Soke of Peterborough.—The Soke of Peterborough, and the borough of Peterborough.
 - Nottinghamshire.—The county of Nottingham, and the boroughs of East Retford, Newark, and Nottingham.
 - Oxfordshire.—The Petty Sessional Division of Bullingdon, in the county of Oxford.
 - Shropshire.—The county of Salop, and the boroughs of Bridgnorth, Ludlow, Oswestry, Shrewsbury, and Wenlock.
 - Suffolk. The county of Suffolk, and the boroughs of Beccles, Bury St. Edmunds, Eye, Ipswich, Southwold, and Sudbury.
 - Surrey .- The county of Surrey, and the boroughs of Godalming, Guildford, Kingston-on-Thames, and Reigate.
 - Sussex.—The county of Sussex, and the boroughs of Arundel, Brighton, Chichester, Hastings, Hove, and Ryc.
 - Warwichshire.—(1.) So much of the borough of Birmingham, in the county of Warwick, as lies between Jamaica Row, Dean Street, Pershore Street, and Edgbaston Street.

(2.) The Petty Sessional Divisions of Atherstone, Birmingham, Coleshill, Coventry, Rugby, and Solihull, in the county of Warwick

- (3.) The Petty Sessional Divisions of Stratford; and Warwick, in the county of Warwick, and the borough of Stratford-on-Avon.
- iltshire.—(1.) The Petty Sessional Divisions of Cricklade, and Swindon, in the county of Wilts. (2.) The Petty Sessional Division of Everley and Pewsey, in the county of Wilts.
- Vorcestershire.—The county of Worcester, and the boroughs of Bewdley, Droitwich, Dudley, Evesham, Kidderminster, and Worcester.
- Forhshire (North Riding).—(1.) The Petty Sessional Division of Bulmer West, in the North Riding of the county of York.
 - (2.) The Petty Sessional Division of Allertonshire, in the North Riding of the county of York.
- Yorkshire (West Riding).—The West Riding of the county of York, and the boroughs of Barnsley, Batley, Bradford, Dewsbury, Don-caster, Halifax, Huddersfield, Leeds, Pontefract, Ripon, Rotherham, Sheffield, and Wakefield, except the foreign animals wharf in the port of Goole defined by the Privy Council for the landing of foreign animals.

THE following areas will be Areas Infected with Foot-and-Mouth Disease from and after the 8th of March, 1881:-

- Staffordshire .- The county of Stafford, and the boroughs of Burslem, Burton - upon - Trent, Hanley and Shelton, Lichfield, Longton, New-castle-under-Lyme, Stafford, Stoke-upon-Trent, Tamworth, Walsall, and Wolverhampton.
- Yorkshire (East Riding).—The East Riding of the county of York, and the boroughs of Beverley, Hedon, and Kingston-upon-Hull, except the foreign animals wharf, and the lands and buildings in the port of Hull, defined or approved by the Privy Council for the landing or lairage of foreign animals.

Veterinary Department, Privy Council Office, 4th March, 1881.

E 2