- has been retired under Article 59 of the Royal Warrant of 31st January, 1880, on re-organi-zation of the Department. Dated 15th April, 1880.
- Deputy Commissary-General of Ordnance G. J. Pirkis, having completed 30 years' service, has been placed on the Retired List. Dated 1st May, 1880.
- Deputy-Commissary A. Montenaro has been placed on retired pay, on re-organization of the Department. Dated 1st May, 1880.
- Quartermaster Thomas Hassell has been placed on retired pay, with the honorary rank of Captain. Dated 1st May, 1880.
- Assistant Commissary-General of Ordnance H. A. Russell to be Deputy Commissary-General of Ordnance. Dated 1st May, 1880.
- Deputy-Assistant Commissary-General of Ordnance P. J. C. Flynn to be Assistant Commissary-General of Ordnance. Dated 1st May, 1880.
- Assistant-Commissary Godfrey Octavius Warren to be Deputy-Assistant Commissary-General of Ordnance. Dated 1st May, 1880.

BREVET.

- Lieutenant-Colonel and Brevet Colonel John Watson, V.C., C.B., Bombay Staff Corps, to have the local and temporary rank of Major-General whilst commanding a division in the North West Frontier of India. Dated 22nd March, 1880.
- Captain Warren Richard Colvin Wynne, Royal Engineers, to be Major, in recognition of his distinguished services during the Zulu Cam-paign of 1878-9. Dated 2nd April, 1879. (Since deceased).
- Commission signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Suffolk.
- Thomas Clement Cobbold, Esq., C.B., M.P., to be Deputy Lieutenant. Dated 29th April, 1880.

Commissions signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Banff.

- Sir John Innes, Bart., to be Deputy Lieutenant.
- Dated 26th April, 1880. William Francis Day Steuart, Esg., younger, to be Deputy Lieutenant. Dated 26th April, 1880.
- Henry Alexander Grant, Esq., to be Deputy Lieutenant. Dated 26th April, 1880.
- John Patrick Gordon, Esq., younger, to be Deputy Lieutenant. Dated 26th April, 1880.
- Lieutenant-Colonel Patrick B. Simpson, younger, to be Deputy Lieutenant. Dated 26th April, 1880.
- William George Steuart Menzies, Esq., to be Deputy Lieutenant. Dated 26th April, 1880.

## Civil Service Commission, May 4, 1880.

IN pursuance of the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 12th February, 1876, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments and Transfer in the Civil Service, were notified to them in the month of April, 1880 :-

## APPOINTMENTS.

Admiralty, Robert Bruce and Samuel John Grose Plint to be Dockyard Writers.

David Flemming, Arthur Robson, and William Henry Shorey to be Professional Dockyard Writers.

No. 24841.

E

Assistant-Commissary Robert Scipio M. de Ricci British Museum, Reginald Lane Poole to be Assistant, London.

- Foreign Office, Alfred Henry Eades to be Office Keeper.
- Inland Revenue, James Edward Hope to be Assistant Registrar of Inventories, Edinburgh.
- Post Office, Ann Louisa Carter, Mary Agnes Clarke, Emily Frances Denman, Georgina Emily Glover, Rose Mary Gurney, Louisa Rosina Mary Guy, Emily Caroline Howell, Margaret Lambert, Susanna Mott, and Mary Jane Tizard, to be Counterwomen.

Edward Spencer Bell (Ventnor, Isle of Wight), Thomas Clark (Whitby), John Edward Punchard (Dartmouth), and John Langford Viney (Sittingbourne), to be Postmasters.

Samuel Maddams Fane, Walter John Gapes, William Hurford, and Frederick George Nind to be Paperkeepers in the Secretary's Office.

- Prisons Department (England), James Greig to be First Class Clerk.
- Supervision, Board of (Scotland), John Thomas Maxwell to be Clerk.

Clerks and Boy Clerks of the Lower Division.

- Admirally, James George Alexander Aird and Lavinio Setacci to be Clerks.
- Charity Commission, Charles Norris Francis to be Clerk.
- Colonial Office, Henry Watts to be Clerk.
- Customs, Robert Alderson, Richmond Breay Apperson, Walter Ashford, Edward Cross Bray, Patrick Bulfin, Walter Bullock, Percival Raymond Cock, Andrew Galloway, Henry Genochio, Henry John Goode, John Augustine Harris, William George Hobbs, Henry Philip Knight, Sidney Scott, Thomas Reece Smith, Leonard Henry Snow, Arthur William Tucker, Edwin Alfred West, and Robert Wilkie to be Clerks.
- Education Office, Horace Andrew Gifford, Arthur William King, William James Moore, Thomas William Ward Whetnall, and William Wright to be Clerks.

Albert George Adams, William Bartlett, Herbert Linford Chappell, Benjamin Hewison, James Archibald Hewson, James Frederick Horn, Ernest Charles Mullens, John Rickard, Joseph Saunders, and Thomas Megam Wood to be Boy Clerks.

- Inland Revenue, George Henry Bennell and Walter Charles Rhoades to be Clerks.
- Lunacy, Board of (Scotland), Alexander Somerville Gibson to be Boy Clerk.

Post Office, Walter Prime to be Boy Clerk.

- Public Works Office (Ireland), James Joseph Healy and Alfred Edward Wright to be Clerks.
- Trade, Board of, Frederick William Foreman to be Boy Clerk.

## TRANSFER.

Mint, Thomas Robert Sacheverell, Clerk of the Lower Division, from the War Offie.

## NAVAL PRIZE MONEY.

Department of the Accountant-General of the Navy and Comptroller of Navy Pay, Admiralty, April 29, 1880.

NOTICE is hereby given to all persons interested therein, that preparations are now being made for the intended distribution of the tonnage