Crown Office, April 20, 1880.

MEMBERS returned to serve in the PARLIA-MENT summoned to be holden at Westminster on the 29th April, 1880.

Universities of Edinburgh and St. Andrew's. The Right Honourable Lyon Playfair.

County of Galway.

Mitchell Henry, Esq Major John Philip Nolan.

Town of Galway.

John Orell Lever, Esq. Thomas P. O'Connor, Esq.

County of Cork.

William Shaw, Esq.

David Latouche Colthurst, Esq.

Universities of Glasgow and Aberdeen. James Alexander Campbell, Esq., of Stracathro, LL.D.

Education Department, Whitehall, April 19, 1880.

THE Lords of the Committee of the Privy Council on Education have issued orders this day for the formation of School Boards in the Parishes

> ... Huntingdon Brampton...

... Kent; Brenchly ...

and for the compulsory formation of School Boards in the undermentioned Parishes:-

... Gloucester Hucclecote

Llandewi-Velfrey ... Pembroke

... Essex Wanstead...

and in the undermentioned United Districts :-

and Pickstock Chetwynd (comprising the parishes of

Chetwynd and Pickstock) Salop

Machen and Waenfawr (comprising the parishes of Lower Machen, Upper Ma-

Rhydgwern,

... Monmouth Glamorgan)

Thropton (comprising the parishes of Cartington, Great Tosson and Rye Hill, High and Low Trewhitt, Little Tosson, Snitter, Thropton,

and Warton) ... Northumberland

The parish of Llandyfriog, in the county of Cardigan, has been united to the School Board District of Kenarth, in the county of Carmarthen

Admiralty, 16th April, 1880.

THE following promotions have been made from this date:

Staff Commanders:

William Mayes,

Frank Inglis,

to be Staff Captains in Her Majesty's Fleet.

IN accordance with the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of 22nd February, 1870, and 29th November, 1879 -

Lieutenant Henry Hill Justice, has been placed on the Retired List from this date.

Admiralty, 19th April, 1880.

THE undermentioned Surgeons have been promoted to the rank of Fleet Surgeon in Her Majesty's Fleet, with seniority of 23rd March, 1880 :-

> Bernard Renshaw. John Allan Robertson, M.B.

Admiralty, 20th April, 1880.

IN accordance with the provisions of Her Majesty's Orders in Council of the 22nd February, 1870, and 29th November, 1879-

Lieutenant Francis Elliot Walker has been placed on the Retired List of his rank from this date.

War Office, Pall Mall,

20th April, 1880.

Commissariat and Transport Department, The following Officers having completed 30 years' full-pay service are granted a step of honorary rank on retirement. Dated 1st April, 1880:—
Deputy Commissary-General James Bell Lundy

to be Honorary Commissary-General. Deputy Commissary-General Henry Moore to be

Honorary Commissary-General. Commissary Robert G. D. Selby to be Honorary

Assistant Commissary-General. Commissary William Fryer has been permitted to commute his retired pay. Dated 6th April,

Commissariat and Transport Staff, In the Gazette of 12th March, 1880, under the heading "To be Assistant Commissaries-General," the name of Ashley Cooper Ryland should have been

The following Assistant-Commissaries, transferred from the Ordnance Store Department to the Commissariat and Transport Department, to Deputy Assistant Commissaries-General. Dated 1st April, 1880 :-

James Stoneman. Guthrie Hylton Jessop. Augustin Fitzgerald Roland Creagh. George Thomas Colebrooke. John Rogers.

The undermentioned Assistant-Commissaries of the Commissariat and Transport Department to be Quartermasters. Dated 31st January, 1880:-John Gallagher.

Patrick O'Leary.

Ashley Cowper Ryland.

1880.

Ordnance Store Department, Deputy Commissary W. H. Howell has been placed on retired pay, under Article 59 of the Royal Warrant of 31st January, 1880. Dated 1st April, 1880. Assistant-Commissary James C. Stanley has been

placed on retired pay under Article 59 of the Royal Warrant of 31st January, 1880. Dated 12th April, 1880.

Army Pay Department, Paymaster and Honorary Major Alexander Davidson, 105th Foot, is placed on half-pay. Dated 21st April, 1880.

BREVET.

Her Majesty has been graciously pleased to approve of the following promotions being conferred on the undermentioned Officers in recognition of their services during the recent operations in South Africa. Dated 21st April, 1880 :-

To be Lieutenant-Colonels.

Major William Francis Butler, C.B., balf-pay, late 69th Foot.

Major Philip Robert Anstruther, 94th Foot. Major Henry Augustus Bushman, 9th Lancers.

To be Majors.

Captain Edmund Lomax Fraser, 60th Foot. Captain John Frederick Maurice, Royal Artillery. Captain Marshall James Clarke, Royal Artillery. Captain Walter Reginald Fox, Royal Artillery. Captain William George Knox, Royal Artillery.