70th Foot, Herbert Ringwood. Dated 11th September, 1876.

Frank Gun Delamain. Dated 24th November, 1877, but his Commission as Lieutenant in the Army to bear date the 12th February, 1876.

73rd Foot, John Henry Collier Coode. Dated 10th September, 1875.

Charles Walter Harris. Dated 10th September, 1876.

85th Foot, William Baume Capper. Dated 12th February, 1876.

Ernest Henry Rivett-Carnac. Dated 12th February, 1876.

Charles James Robert Stirling. Dated 11th September, 1876.

Philip Bulman. Dated 11th September, 1876.

92nd Foot, Edward Cecil Bethune. Dated 10th September, 1875.

Rifle Brigade, Geoffrey Stanley Phipps Hornby. Dated 10th September, 1875.

India Office, 16th September, 1878.

HER Majesty has been pleased to approve of the resignation of the Service of the undermentioned Officer:—

Lieutenant-Colonel George Vincent Fosbery, V.C. Dated 25th August, 1878.

Civil Service Commission, September 14, 1878.

THE Civil Service Commissioners hereby give notice, that the Candidates hereinafter named have passed the Preliminary Examination for Men Clerkships in the Lower Division of the Civil Service; viz.:—

Anderson, Robert Andrew Andrews, Henry John Atherton, Richard Ayton, Alfred Sydney Barclay, William Thomas Baron, Walter Bennett, William Hart Briggs, William Henry Dawson Brown, Peter Thomson Burley, George Caldbeck, William Francis Carroll, Daniel Carroll, Timothy Carruthers, Charles Johnson Cavanagh, John Chichester, Ernest William Clunan, John Joseph Clutterbuck, William James Comwell, Frederick William Cooke, Thomas Cox, Bernard Henry Dawson, Arthur Robert Devere, William John Downey, Thomas George Dromgoole, A. H. Duff, John Edwards, Henry Evans, Thomas Cameron Falshaw, Fitzwilliam Bennett Field, John William Fitzgerald, Denis Fitzgerald, James Augustine Flecker, Ernest Hope Follows, George Herbert Ford, Frederick John Gilchrist, George

Glossop, Frank George Graham, George Herbert Graham, John Anderson Grose, Woodman Cole Groves, Charles James Hand, Walter Mark William Edward John Hayward, William Head, Timothy John Hegarty, Michael Henry, James Maurice Henry, Wesley Pettigrew Hogben, Herbert William Hooker, Samuel Libby Howell, G. J. Ingham, Charles Hartley James, John Jones, Edward Owen Kaye, Samuel William Craven Kenny, Richard Joseph Kindell, Charles Edward Kruse, Herman Conrad Latham, Edward Lennox, Wilton Lindsay, James Brown Lines, William Edward Louth, Joseph John Lovelock, Edward Herbert Luck, Frederick William Lumb, Joseph Hallowell McEvoy, Michael Francis McIlquham, William Ashlin Mooney, Alexander Moore, James Dominick Mullineux, John New, Joseph Henry Nulty, Andrew Michael Nunneley, Frederick William O'Farrell, John Power, John Riley, Horace Ritchie, William Robert Robb, John Robinson, William Rochford, James Augustine Sarel, William Sarel Smith, John Henry Spencer, William Arthur Stringer, Jabez Sulley, Philip Taylor, Arthur Foldey Thomas, William James Thwaites, George Henry Tuohy, Michael Joseph Watling, Albert Edward Watson, William Charles Calicot Watts, Frederick Webb, Theodore Walter Willoughby, William Henry Witt, William James Wray, John Frederick Granville Wright, Francis Henry Wright, George Yates, Charles

MERSEY CONSERVANCY.

Mersey Conservancy Office,
8, Richmond-terrace, London.
THE Commissioners for the Conservancy of
the River Mersey hereby give notice, pursuant to
the 9th section of the Act 5 and 6 Victoria,
cap. 110, intituled "An Act for the better Navigation of the River Mersey," that they have
received from Messrs. Hoult and Wise, of 5,
Fenwick-street, Liverpool, a notice, given pursuant to the provisions of the above-mentioned