TREASURY WARRANT.

WE, the Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury, in exercise of all powers enabling us in this behalf; do by this Warrant, made on the representation of Her Majesty's Postmaster-General (testified by his signing the same), and under the hands of two of us, the said Commissioners, order, direct, and declare as follows :--

1. The Treasury Warrant dated the 31st day of August, 1877, relating to the rates of postage upon letters conveyed by post from the Argentine Republic to the United Kingdom is hereby repealed.

2. The rate of postage to be henceforth charged by or under the authority of Her Majesty's Postmaster-General in lieu of the rate fixed and specified in the said Warrant of the 31st day of August, 1877, in respect of letters posted in the Argentine Republic addressed to the United Kingdom, shall be the rate of postage mentioned and specified in Part II of Schedule No. 1 of the Warrant of the 4th August, 1877, so far as such part of such last mentioned Schedule relates to such letters as aforesaid.

3. This Warrant shall come into operation on the 1st day of April, 1878.

Dated this 26th day of February, 1878.

Row. Winn, J. D. H. Elphinstone, Two of the Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury. John Manners,

Her Majesty's Postmaster-General.

Civil Service Commission, February 28, 1878.

IN pursuance of the provisions of Clause 20 of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 12th February, 1876, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments were notified to them in the month of February, 1878:—

APPOINTMENTS.

British Museum, Lazarus Fletcher to be First Class Assistant.

Convict Service, Edward George Buck and Richard Lines to be Schoolmasters.

Education Department, Robert Smith to be Inspector's Assistant.

Post Office, John Hodgson (West Hartlepool), William Clarke (Worthing), James Rogers (Liskeard), and William Rodwell (Tring) to be Postmasters.

Susanna Sarah Allport to be Clerk (Receiver and Accountant-General's Office).

William John Edwicker to be Assistant in the Secretary's Office.

Emma Wilkins to be Female Returner.

Trade, Board of, Hugo Beaumont Burnaby, John Zell Cressy, Henley John Edwards, Robert William Evatt, William Charles Geary, Charles Gibbons, Henry Gimblett, Frederick William Gough, Gilbert Troward Key, James Mavor, Henry Robert James Pearch, Gideon Colquhoun Sconce, and Fenton Wake to be Nautical Surveyors.

Walter Abbott, James Napier Armit, Robert Bell, Henry Edward Brown, Isaac Carver, James Colvin, Samuel Tom Cornish, Martin Costelloe, William Dalton, George Phillips Dixon, William Fraser, David Alfred Glasgow, George Godfrey, John Harding Hill, Frederick Jago, Charles Robert Owen Jarvis, Walter Jubb, William Henry Laslett, James McNeil, James Magowan, William Lómer Mansfield, William Henry Mills, Alexander Munro, Peter Paxton, Stephen James Joseph Paxton, Stuart Mortimer Reynolds, Thomas Routleff, Alfred Ruston, Samuel Shrigley, Thomas Henry Sloggett, George Sparrow, Gustavus Symons, James John Taffs, William Joseph Taylor, William Charles Thomas, Charles Watersou, Charles Westaway, John Thomas Wilkins, Robert Tate Williamson to be Shipwright Surveyors.

William Henry Moore to be Principal Surveyor for Tonnage.

William Henry Turner to be principal Shipwright Surveyor for Wooden Ships, and James Wimhurst to be Principal Shipwright Surveyor for Iron Vessels.

Robert Taylor Gibson, George Herriot, Peter Samson, John Gray Taylor, and Charles Duffy Williams to be Surveyors of Steamships.

William Harvey Bisset, H. nry Spottiswoode Bone, John Sherren Brewer, Robert Bushby, George Carlisle, Thomas Archer Clarke, David Dixon Dixon, Henry Baker Fabian, Immer Fielden, John Francis, James Grant, John McFarlane Gray, Gilbert Holden Orme Hamerton, Walter Hannah, Henry Alphonso Henri, Robert Hetherington, Henry Hoar, David Henry Holman, John Broad James, Edward Lewis, George Henry Loxdale, Albert John Bray Newman, David William Pendry Pincombe, James Rae, James Ramsay, Henry Wilson Reed, Thomas James Richards, John Joseph Rose, John Anthony Rowe, Jones Saunders, Charles Hubert Smith, Samuel Wilkinson Snowden, John Sowter, John Spear, Lawrence Steele, James Stewart, Robe t Edmonds Taplin, William Crees Taylor, James James Kennedy Thomson, James Vercoe, Courtenay Osborne Weeks, William Coe Wheatley, William Henry Woodthorpe, and Francis William Wymer to be Engineer Surveyors.

Clerks and Boy Clerks of the Lower Division.

- Admiralty, Henry Francis Buller (February 6) to be Clerk in the Royal Naval College, Greenwich.
- Inland Revenue, James Dillon (February 2) and William Henry Maccabee (February 8) to be Clerks.
- Post Office, Gustavus Adolphus Allin (February 8), Leonard Lewis (February 16), William Onyon (February 16), William George Charles Reed (February 16), and Edward Icely Tarn (February 16) to be Boy Clerks.
- War Office, Evan Charles Woodcock Lawrence (February 20), Richard William Beadon (February 21), Patrick O'Shea (February 26), George Frederick Chapman Pyper (February 26), and Oscar Herbert Taylor (February 27) to be Clerks.

INCOME TAX.

WHEREAS by an Act passed in the 28th year of Her Majesty, cap. 30, for granting to Her Majesty certain duties of Customs and Inland Revenue, power is given for increasing, in certain cases, the number of persons appointed under the provisions made by the Act passed in the 5th and 6th years of Her Majesty, cap. 35, Commissioners for the general purposes of the Income Tax Acts, and persons to supply vacancies amongst such