Staffordshire.

T the General Quarter Sessions of the Peace of our Lady the Queen, holden at Stafford, in and for the said county of Stafford, upon Monday in the first week after the twenty-eighth day of December, to wit, the thirty-first day of December, in the forty-first year of the reign of our Sovereign Lady Victoria, by the Grace of God of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland Queen, Defender of the Faith, and in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and seventy-seven, before Thomas Fletcher Twemlow, Esquire, Chairman, the Right Honourable Arthur, Baron Wrottesley, the Right Honourable Thomas George, Earl of Lichfield, the Right Honourable Edward Richard, Baron Hatherton, the Honourable and Reverend Arthur Chetwynd Talbot, Richard Dyott, William Thomas Locker, Robert William Hanbury, Esquires, and others their fellows, Justices of our said Lady the Queen, assigned to keep the peace in the county aforesaid, and also hear and determine divers felonies, trespasses, and other misdemeanours committed in the same county.

Henry John Wentworth Hodgetts Foley, Esquire, Sheriff.

> Leek Highway District. PROVISIONAL ORDER.

WHEREAS, Hyde Smith, Joshua Brough, John Robinson, John Brough, Hugh Sleigh, Augustus Henry Asgill Colvile, Dryden Henry Sneyd, Samuel Franceys Gosling, Robert Heath, Robert Heath the younger, Philip Lancaster Brocklehurst, and Edward John Ridgway, Esquires, being twelve of Her Majesty's Justices of the Peace acting in and for the county of Stafford, all of whom are resident in the highway district hereinafter mentioned or act in the Petty Sessional Division of Leek, in the said county, in which such district or some part thereof is situate, did, on the 5th day of December, in the year of our Lord 1877, by writing under their hands, require the Clerk of the Peace for the said county to add to or send with the notice required by Law to be given of the holding of the then next General Quarter Sessions of the Peace, in and for the said county, a notice in the form marked "A" in the schedule to a certain Act made and passed in the session of Parliament holden in the 25th and 26th years of the reign of Her Majesty Queen Victoria, intituled "An Act for the better management of highways in England," or as near thereto as circumstances would admit, that at such Court of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace to be holden in and for the said county of Stafford, a proposal would be made to the Justices of the Peace for the said county then and there assembled to constitute the parishes, townships, tithings, hamlets, and places next hereinafter mentioned, and now separately maintaining their own highways respectively, a highway district to be called the "Leek Highway District," that was to say, Alstonefield, Basford, Beresford, Biddulph, Blackwood, Bradnop, Butterton, Calton, Cheddleton, Cloud-wood, Crowborough, Ecton Quarter Wetton, Elkstone Upper Quarter, Elkstone Lower Quarter, Endon, Fawfieldhead Upper Quarter, Fawfieldhead Lower Quarter, Foxt, Gratton, Green Lane Leekfrith, Grindon, Hazlewood, Heathylee, Heaton, Hollinsclough, Horton, Horton Hay, Ilam, Ipstones, Leek, Longnor, Longsdon, Lowe, Meerbrook, Morridge, Musden or Musden Grange, Onecote, Quarnford, Rownall, Rudyard, Rushton James, Rushton Marsh, Rushton Middle, Sheen Lower Quarter, Sheen Town Quarter, Sheen Water Quarter, Sheen Upper Quarter, Shury,

Stanley, Stanshope, Swinscoe, Throwley, Tittesworth, Upper Hulme, Warslow, Waterfall, Wetton, Woodcockhurst, and all other parishes, townships, and places within the Leek Petty Sessional Division. And whereas the said Clerk of the Peace did duly comply with the said requisition in every particular.

Now, at the General Quarter Sessions of the Peace of our Lady the Queen, holden in and for the county of Stafford, at Stafford, on Monday, the **8**1st day of December, in the year of our Lord 1877, the Justices of the Peace for the said county now here assembled upon a due consideration of the premises, and upon being satisfied that the said requisition has been duly complied with, and that all proper notices have been given in the manner and to the persons as required by the first-mentioned Act, or otherwise, do entertain the said proposal, and under and by virtue of the first-mentioned Act, and of all other Acts enabling them in this behalf, do hereby provisionally order that the several parishes, townships, tithings, hamlets, and places hereinbefore mentioned shall constitute and become a highway district to be called "The Leek Highway District."

And it is further provisionally ordered that where a parish or township separately maintaining. its own poor (hereinafter called a poor law parish) is divided into townships, tithings, hamlets, or places, each of which separately maintains its own highways, such townships, tithings, hamlets, and places shall be combined with the poor law parish of which the same originally formed a part, and that no separate waywardens be elected for such townships, tithings, hamlets, and places so absorbed, and that each of the several poor law parishes following, namely, Alstonefield, Biddulph, Bloore with Swinscoe, Bradnop, Butterton, Calton in Blore, Calton in Waterfall, Calton in Mayfield, Cheddleton with Basford, Endon, Longsdon and Stanley, Fawfieldhead, Grindon, Heathylee, Heaton, Hollinsclough, Horton, Ilam, Ipstones, Leek and Lowe (except so much thereof as is within the limits of the "Leek Improvement Act, 1855"), Leckfrith (except so much thereof as is within the limits of the "Leek Improvement Act, 1855"), Longnor, Musden or Musden Grange, Onecote, Quarnford, Rudyard, Rushton James, Rushton Spencer, Sheen, Tittesworth (except so much thereof as is within the limits of the "Leek Improvement Act, 1855"), Warslow, and Elkstones, Waterfall, Wetton, and Woodhouses shall (after this Order is made final) become a highway parish and be subject to the same liabilities in respect of all the highways within it which were before maintained by such townships, tithings, hamlets, and places so absorbed separately, as if all their several liabilities had attached to the whole poor law parish, and that a waywarden or waywardens shall be elected for such poor law parish as a whole.

And it is further provisionally ordered that the number of waywardens to be elected by the parish of Biddulph shall be two, and by each other highway parish, as afterwards defined, one.

And it is further provisionally ordered that except where otherwise provided the waywarden or waywardens shall be annually elected for each poor law parish hereinbefore mentioned (and herein referred to as and called highway parish) by the inhabitants liable to contribute to the maintenance of the highways within such parish at a vestry meeting, duly convened and held for the purpose, on the 25th day of March, or within 14 days next afterwards in every year.

And it is further provisionally ordered, that the