War Office, Pall Mall, 7th November, 1876.

Her Majesty has been graciously pleased to approve of Surgeon-Major Francis Stephen Bennet François de Chaumont, M.D., being appointed Professor of Military Hygiene at the Army Medical School at Netley. Dated 11th October, 1876.

War Office, 7th November, 1876.

MILITIA.

The Royal Cornwall Rangers, Duke of Cornwall's
Own.

Captain William Lewis Salusbury-Trelawny resigns his Commission. Dated 8th November, 1876.

1st Derby.

George Edward Salmond, Gent., to be Sub-Lieutenant (Supernumerary). Dated 8th November, 1876.

Royal South Gloucester.

Major William James Holt resigns his Commission, also is granted the honorary rank of Lieutenant-Colonel, and is permitted to continue to wear the uniform of the Regiment on his retirement. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Hampshire.

Charles Mordaunt Stevens, Gent., to be Sub-Lieutenant (Supernumerary). Dated 8th November, 1876.

4th Royal Lancashire.

William Lee Pilkington, Gent., to be Sub-Lieutenant (Supernumerary). Qated 8th November, 1876.

George Herbert Pilkington, Gent., to be Sub-Lieutenant (Supernumerary). Dated 8th November, 1876.

6th Royal Lancashire.

Licutenant-Colonel John Henry Chambers is granted the honorary rank of Colonel. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Lieutenant Henry Howard Gray to be Captain. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Leicester.

Captain and Adjutant Rolland Vincent Sylvester Grimston resigns his Commission. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Royal East Middlesex.

Sub-Lieutenant George Evan Lloyd to be Lieutenant. Dated 10th March, 1875.

4th or Royal South Middlesex.

Lieutenant John Barham Day to be Captain. Dated 8th November, 1876.

2nd Royal Surrey.

The Honourable William St. John Fremantle Brodrick to be Sub-Lieutenant (Supernumerary). Dated 8th November, 1876.

The King's Own Royal Tower Hamlets.

John Harry Blumberg Barber, Gent., to be Sub-Lieutenant (Supernumerary). Dated 8th November, 1876.

The Royal South Wales Borderers.

Roderick Edmund Howe Gwynne, Gent., to be Sub-Lieutenant (Supernumerary). Dated 8th November, 1876.

'3rd West York.

Captain and Adjutant the Honourable Frederick Charles Howard resigns his Commission. Dated 8th November, 1876.

6th West York.

Julius Henry Goodwyn, Gent., to be Sub-Lieutenant. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Highland Borderers' Light Infantry.

Captain Colin John Campbell resigns his Commission. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Royal Perth.

William Stewart, Gent, to be Sub-Lieutenant (Supernumerary). Dated 8th November, 1876

West Cork Artillery.

Sub-Lieutenant Charles Sherwood Cade to be Lieutenant. Dated 12th May, 1875.

Dublin City Artillery.

Gaptain Henry Ponsonby Shaw Darley resigns his Commission. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Kerry.

Lieutenant-Colonel Dayrolles Blakeney, Lord Ventry, is granted the honorary rank of Colonel. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Major James Crosbie is granted the honorary rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Major Edward Herbert is granted the honorary rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Leitrim.

Lieutenant Theophilus Bolton Jones to be Captain. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Louth.

Sub-Lieutenant Alfred Hamilton Ormsby to be Lieutenant. Dated 22nd July, 1874.

YEOMANRY CAVALRY.

Royal North Devon.

Sub-Lieutenant George Christopher Davie to be Lieutenant. Dated 24th June, 1874.

Essex.

Sub-Lieutenant Frederick Napier Broome resigns his Commission. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Lanarkshire.

Supernumerary Lieutenant Barrington B. Douglas Campbell resigns his Commission. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Westmoreland and Cumberland.

Captain Sir Henry Ralph Vane, Bart., to be Major, vice R. Burn, promoted. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Royal Wiltshire.

Major A. Lethbridge Goddard resigns his Commission, also is permitted to retain his rank, and to continue to wear the uniform of the Regiment on his retirement. Dated 8th November, 1876.

Civil Service Commission, November 4, 1876.

THE Civil Service Commissioners hereby give notice, that at an Open Competitive Examination for a Clerkship of the Superior Class in the Store Department of the India Office, held under the