T the Court at Osborne House, Isle of Wight, the 5th day of August, 1875.

PRESENT, ·

The QUEEN's Most Excellent Majesty in Council.

HEREAS the Ecclesiastical Commissioners VV for England have, in pursuance of the Act of the thirty-seventh and thirty-eighth years of Her Majesty, chapter sixty-three, and of the Acts therein referred to, duly prepared and laid before Her Majesty in Council a scheme, bearing date the seventeenth day of June, in the year one thousand eight hundred and seventy-five, in the words and figures following; that is to say:

"We, the Ecclesiastical Commissioners for England, acting in pursuance of the Act of the thirty-seventh and thirty-eighth years of your Majesty, chapter sixty-three, and of the Acts therein referred to, have prepared, and now humbly lay before your Majesty in Council, the following scheme with respect to the four archdeaconries within the diocese of Exeter; to wit, the Archdeaconry of Exeter, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Archdeaconry of Cornwall, and with respect to the rural deaneries, or some of them, which are within the said archdeaconries respectively.

"Whereas it has been represented to us by the Right Reverend Frederick, Bishop of the said diocese of Exeter, that it is desirable to make the arrangements with respect to the archdeaconries and rural deaneries of the same diocese, or of some of them, which are herein-

after recommended and proposed.

"And whereas we are of opinion that it is expedient that the said arrangements should be

carried into effect.

"Now, therefore, with the consent of the said Frederick, Bishop of the said diocese of Exeter, testified by his having set his hand and his episcopal seal to this scheme, we humbly recommend and propose with respect to the arch-deaconries within the said diocese of Exeter, that the following arrangements, after the effecting of which the said archdeaconries and rural deaneries respectively will comprise the several parishes or other parochial cures or divisions and the churches or chapels which are set forth or specified in the schedule annexed to this scheme, shall be made; that is to say:

"1. That the respective Deaneries of Dunsford and Plymtree, in the Archdeaconry of Exeter, shall be abolished, and the several parishes belonging thereto respectively shall respectively be transferred to and form part of such deaneries and archdeaconries respectively as hereinafter

provided.

"2. That the Deaneries of Dunkeswell and Honiton, in the Archdeaconry of Exeter, shall, except as hereafter provided, be amalgamated into one deanery, to be called the Deanery of Dunkeswell and Honiton; that the Deanery of Tiverton, in the same archdeaconry, shall be divided into two deaneries, to be called respectively the Deanery of Tiverton West and the Deanery of Tiverton East, and to consist respectively of such parishes as hereinafter provided; and that a new deanery be formed in the same archdeaconry, to be called the Deanery of Ottery, and to consist of the parishes hereinafter thereto assigned.

"3. That the several parishes of Clyst Hydon, Clyst Saint Lawrence, and Rewe, now in the Deanery of Plymtree, in the Archdeaconry of Exeter, shall be detached and dissevered from such deanery, and transferred to and form part of the Deanery of Aylesbeare, in the same arch-

deaconry; that the parish of Saint Thomas the Apostle, with the chapelry of Oldridge, and the new parish of Saint Andrew Exwick, now in the Deanery of Kenn, in the Archdeaconry of Exeter, shall be detached and dissevered from such deanery, and transferred to and form part of the Deanery of Christianity, in the same archdea-

"4. That the several parishes of Bow, with Broad Nymet and Clannaborough, now in the Deanery of Chulmleigh and Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the parish of Woolfardisworthy, now in the Deanery of South Molton and Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, shall respectively be detached and dissevered from such deaneries and archdeaconry respectively, and transferred to and form part of the Deanery of Cadbury and Arch-

deaconry of Exeter.

"5. That the parish of Crediton, with the chaplaincy thereof, and Posbury Chapel, now in the Deanery of Kenn, and the parish of Hittisleigh, now in the Deanery of Dunsford, all in the Archdeaconry of Exeter, shall respectively be detached and dissevered from such deaneries respectively and transferred to and form part of the said Deanery of Cadbury, in the same archdeaconry.

"6. That the several parishes of Broadhembury Buckerell, Feniton, Peyhembury, Plymtree, and Talaton, now in the Deanery of Plymtree, the several parishes and new parishes or ecclesiastical districts of Branscombe, Escot, Saint Philip and Saint James, Harpford with Fen Ottery, Ottery Saint Mary, Salcombe Regis, Sidbury, Sidmouth (with All Saints' Chapel), Tipton, Saint John and Westhill Saint Michael, now in the Deanery of Aylesbeare, and the several parishes of Gittisham, Farway, and Southleigh, now in the Deanery of Honiton, all in the Archdeaconry of Exeter, shall respectively be detached and dissevered from such deaneries respectively, and transferred to and form the aforesaid Deanery of Ottery, in the same archdeaconry.

"7. That the several parishes of Ashton, Bridford, Cheriton Bishop, Christow, Doddiscombs-leigh, Dunsford, Holcombe Burnell, Tedburn, Saint Mary, and Whitstone, now in the Deanery of Dunsford, and the Archdeaconry of Exeter, shall respectively be detached and dissevered from such deanery, and transferred to and form part of the Deanery of Kenn, in the same archdeaconry.

"8. That the following parishes, new parishes, chapelries, or chapels, now forming part of the Deanery of Tiverton, namely, the several parishes, new parishes, chapelries, or chapels of Bampton, (including Petton Chapel and Shillingford), Calverleigh, Loxbeare, Morebath, Templeton, Clare Portion, Pitt Portion, Priors Portion, and Tideral Portion, Priors Portion, combe Portion, Tiverton (with the chapelries or chapels of Chevythorne, Cove, and Saint George) West Exe Saint Paul, and Washfield, shall respectively be annexed to and form part of the said new Deanery of Tiverton West, in the Archdeaconry of Exeter, and the following parishes now forming part of the said Deanery of Tiverton, namely, the several parishes of Bickleigh, Burlescombe Clayhanger, Culmstock, Halberton, Hockworthy, Holcombe Rogus, Huntsham, Sampford Peverell, Uffculm, Uplowman, and Willand, shall respectively be annexed to and form part of the said new Deanery of Tiverton East, in the Archdeaconry of Exeter.

"9. That the parish of Cadeleigh, now in the Deanery of Cadbury, and Archdeaconry of Exeter, shall be detached and dissevered from such Deanery, and transferred to and form part of the said new Deanery of Tiverton West, in the same

archdeaconry.

"10. That the several parishes of Cruwys