Lieutenant John Nethercote, from 19th Hussars, to be Captain, without purchase. Dated 28th June, 1871.

BREVET.

The following promotions to take place in succession to General Sir Charles Grene Ellicombe, K.C.B., Royal Engineers, who died on the 7th June, 1871:—

Lieutenant - General Thomas Foster, Colonel-Commandant of the Royal Engineers, to be General. Dated 8th June, 1871.

Major-General William Turnbull Renwick, Royal Engineers, to be Lieutenant-General. Dated

8th June, 1871.

Colonel Charles Erskine Ford, Royal Engineers, to be Major-General, to be antedated to 6th March, 1868, such antedate not to carry back pay prior to 8th June, 1871.

Captain and Brevet-Major Andrew Hugh Bogle, Royal (late Bengal) Artillery, to be Lieutenant-

Colonel. Dated 8th June, 1871.

Captain Charles William St. John, half-pay, late 94th Foot, and Staff Officer of Pensioners, to be Major. Dated 8th June, 1871.

In consequence of the promotion of Lieutenant-General Thomas Foster, the undermentioned Officers, who retired from the Royal Engineers as Lieutenant-Colonels on full-pay prior to the 3rd November, 1854, to be promoted as follows, viz.:—

Lieutenant - General Crighton Grierson to be General. Dated 8th June, 1871.

Lieutenant-General Thomas Coryndon Luxmoore to be General. Dated 8th June, 1871.

Lieutenant-General William Faris to be General. Dated 8th June, 1871.

The undermentioned Officers having completed the qualifying service with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel, to be Colonels, under the provisions of the Royal Warrant of 27th December, 1870:—

Lieutenant-Colonel Duncan James Baillie, Royal
Horse Guards. Dated 5th June, 1871.

Lieutenant-Colonel Henry Young Darracott Scott, Royal Engineers. Dated 7th June, 1871.

Paymaster, with the honorary rank of Captain, Thomas Bryson, 66th Foot, to have the honorary rank of Major. Dated 5th April, 1871.

Paymaster George Pumfrett, 103rd Foot, to have the honorary rank of Captain. Dated 15th May, 1871.

Quartermaster Thomas Vousden, who retires upon half-pay late Depôt Battalion, to have the honorary rank of Captain. Dated 28th June, 1871.

MEMORANDUM.

Assistant-Surgeon Peter Divorty, M.B., halfpay 11th Foot, has been permitted to commute his half-pay. Dated 8th June, 1871.

Deputy Commissary John Bates Marston, late of the Control Department, has been permitted to commute his half-pay. Dated 16th June, 1871.

Admiralty, 22nd June, 1871.

In accordance with the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 22nd February, 1870-

Lieutenant George Blakeley has been placed on the Retired List from the 21st instant, and allowed to assume the rank of Retired Commander from that date. Admiralty, 23rd June, 1871.

In accordance with the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 22::d February, 1870—

Reserved Captain Robert Robertson has been advanced to the list of Captains retired under Orders in Council of 24th April, 1847, 25th June, 1851, and 26th July, 1867, from the 9th ultime

Commander Hugo B. Burnaby has been placed on the Retired List of his rank from the 21st instant.

Admiralty, 24th June, 1871.

In accordance with the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 22nd February, 1870—

Naval Instructor George S. Bourne has been placed on the Retired List from the 1st January last.

Admiralty, 26th June, 1871.

Sub-Lieutenant Cecil Molyneux Gilbert Cooper has been promoted to the rank of Lieutenant in Her Majesty's Fleet with seniority of the 17th instant.

Commission signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Anglesey.

Royal Anglesey Militia.

Lieutenant Richard Hugh Balgair Galbraith to be Captain, vice Roberts, resigned. Dated 15th June, 1871.

Commission signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Bucks.

3rd Bucks Rifle Volunteer Corps.

Lieutenant Henry Hearn to be Captain, vice Fremantle, resigned. Dated 19th June, 1871.

Commission signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Caithness.

Ross, Caithness, Sutherland, and Cromarty Regiment of Militia, or the Highland Rifle Militia.

Joseph Charles Ross Grove, Esq., late Captain 42nd Foot, to be Captain. Dated 21st June, 1871.

Commissions signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Forfar.

Forfar and Kincardine Artillery Militia.

Edward Whyte Smith, Gent., to be First Lieutenant. Dated 15th June, 1871.

1st Administrative Battalion of Forfurshire Rifle Volunteers.

Captain James Petrie Dowall to be Major, vice Gordon, resigned (retaining his Commission as Captain in the 3rd Forfarshire Rifle Volunteer Corps). Dated 22nd June, 1871.

3rd Forfarshire Rifle Volunteer Corps.

George Simpson Patullo to be Ensign, vice Lumgair, promoted. Dated 22nd June, 1871.

Commission signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Hereford.

4th Herefordshire Rifle Volunteer Corps.

Henry Nicolls Knott to be Ensign. Dated 14th
June, 1871.