- Captain Frederick Archibald Campbell to be Rear-Admiral in Her Majesty's Fleet.
- Captain George Wodehouse to be retired Rear-Admiral.
- Captain Frederick Beauchamp Paget Seymour, C.B., to be Rear-Admiral in Her Majesty's Fleet.
- Captain the Honourable John Welbore Sunderland Spencer to be Rear-Admiral in Her Majesty's Fleet.

Consequent on the foregoing, the following promotions on the Reserved and Retired Lists, also dated this day, have taken place :---

Reserved List.

- Vice-Admirals to be Admirals : Honourable Edward Howard. Richard Crozier. Honourable Plantagenet Pierrepoint Cary. Robert Craigie. John Bunch Bonnemaison M'Hardy.
- Rear-Admirals to be Vice-Admirals : Sir Bartholomew James Sulivan, K.C.B. Henry Bagot. Sir George Nathaniel Broke Middleton,
 - Bart., C.B.

Retired List.

(Under Orders in Council of 24th April, 1847, 25th June, 1851, and 26th June, 1867.)

Rear-Admirals.to be Vice-Admirals : Joseph Pearse. William Nevill.

Reserved Captains : Edward Hollinworth Delafosse, Thomas Furber, John Cornwall, Spencer Smyth, Charles Calmady Dent, Robert Loney, Charles Wilson Riley, Godfrey Lamplugh Wolley, Cheesman Henry Binstead, William Cheselden Browne, Henry Duncan Twysden,

have been placed on the List of Captains retired under Orders in Council of 24th April, 1847, 25th June, 1851, and 26th June, 1867, and have been allowed to assume the rank of Retired Rear-Admiral from this date.

Reserved Captain Frederick Chevallier Syer has also been placed on the List of Captains retired under these Orders in Council from this date.

In accordance with the provisions of the Order in Council of the 22nd February, 1870, the following Officers have been placed on the Retired List, and allowed to assume the rank of Retired Captain from this date :---Commander :

Frederick Pelham Warren. George Thomas Maitland Purvis. William Luke Partridge. Wray Richard Gledstanes Palliser. Henry James Grant. George Macintosh Balfour. The Right Honourable William Buller, Lord Elphinstone. Charles Stuart Forbes. James Stanley Graham. George Frederick Cottam. William Dawson.

In accordance with the provisions of the foregoing Order in Council, the following Officers No. 23603. E

have been placed on the Retired List of their rank from this date :-

Commander : Alexander George West. Fitzjames Stuart McGregor. John de Courcy Andrew Agnew. George Henry Clarke. Offley Malcolm Crewe-Read. John Norris Norman. George Edward Knox Gore. Henry Bartlett King. Edward Wollaston Lang. Henry Barré Beresford. Charles Edward Sidebottom Venner. George Durbin. Horatio Nelson. John Milward Reeve. William Swinburne. James Carter Campbell. Henry West. Douglas Herbert. Edmund Ludlow Strangways. William Travers Forbes Jackson. William Hugh Phipps. John Murray. George Augustus Brine. Thomas Cuppage Bruce. Maxwell Fox. John Kennaway Simcoe. James Wood Armstrong. Honourable George FitzClarence. Edward Ferdinand Holme. John Hawley Glover. Thomas Stackhouse. Arthur Alexander Walton Onslow. George Walter Edward Lloyd. Edward William Hawes.

In accordance with the provisions of the foregoing Order in Council, the following Officers have been placed on the Retired List, and allowed to assume the rank of Retired Commander from this date :--

Lieutenants : George Skene Tayler. Thomas Digby Sulivan The Honourable Robert Francis Boyle. William Grant Douglas. Adam Alexander Duncan Dundas. Edward Algernon Blackett. Nelson Grantley Spencer. George Mills Frederick Molesworth. John Ward. Frederick Jones Protheroe. Joshua Berkeley. George Stratton. St. John Coventry. Murray Thomas Parks. John George Boileau. Thomas Harpur Greer. John Powles Cheyne. George Vaughan Philipps. George Barnett Goolden. Henry Davies. James Thomas Pringle. Robert Patton Jenkins. William Fitz James Legh. Edmund Francis Weld. William Henry Ives. Robert William Duil. Charles Edward Burlton. Neale Dottin Fonnereau Lillingston. Philip James Hankin. William Milton Bridger. William Swaffield Bailey. William Brown.