WHEREAS, at a Court of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace for the county of Devon, held at the Castle of Exeter, on the 30th day of June last, a Provisional Order was made

in the words following, that is to say:

Whereas, on the 24th day of April last, five of Her Majesty's Justices of the Peace for the county of Devon did, by writing, under their hands, require the Clerk of the Peace for the said county to add to or send with the notice for holding this Court of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace for the said county, a notice in the Form marked A, in the schedule to the Act 25 and 26 Victoria, c. 61, or as near thereto as circumstances would admit, that, at this Sessions, a proposal would be made to the Justices to constitute the parishes of Tavistock, Brentor, Beerferris, Lamerton, Lidford, Milton Abbott, Marytavy, Petertavy, (including the hamlet of Wilsworthy,) Sampford Spiney, Sydenham Damerell, and Whitchurch, a Highway District; and did also require the said Clerk of the Peace to send, by post, in a prepaid letter, notices in the aforesaid form, to the Churchwardens and Overseers of every parish mentioned in the said notice.

And whereas the Clerk of the Peace having complied with the said requisition, the said five Justices (two at least of whom were resident within the proposed Highway District) made the said proposal to this Court, and the same having been entertained by the Justices here assembled.

This Court doth order (subject to the same being confirmed at the next Quarter Sessions to be held for this county, on the 20th day of October next,) that the parishes and places undermentioned be constituted a Highway District, and that the same shall be known by the name of the "Tavistock Highway District."

And this Court doth also order (subject, as aforesaid,) that the number of Waywardens, which each parish shall elect, shall be the number set against the name of each parish respectively, viz:

·Parish,		No. of Waywardens.	
Tavistock	***	·	2
Brentor	•••	•••	1
Beerferris	• • • •	•••	2
Lamerton	•••	•••	2
Lidford	***	•••	1
Milton Abbott	•••	•••	1
Marytavy	•••	•••	l
Petertavy (includin	g the hamle	tof	
Wilsworthy)	•	•••	1
Sampford Spiney	***	•••	1
Sydenham Damerel	n	•••	i
Whitchurch	***	•••	1

And this Court doth further order, that should any parish hereinbefore mentioned, separately maintaining its own poor, be divided into townships, tithings, hamlets, or places, each of which has hitherto separately maintained its own highways, the said townships, tithings, hamlets, or places, shall be combined with the parish wherein the same are respectively situate, and that where the same are situate in more than one parish they shall be combined with the parish in which they shall have the largest boundary line, and no separate Waywardens shall be elected for the same, and that such parish shall be subject to the same liabilities in respect of all highways within it, which were before maintained by such townships, tithings, hamlets, and places separately, as if all their several liabilities had attached to the whole parish, and that a Waywarden or two Waywardens, if two Waywardens shall have been hereinbefore ordered, shall be elected for such parish as a And this Court doth lastly order, that, should any of the parishes or places hereinbefore mentioned, or any part or parts thereof be comprehended in the terms of the restrictions imposed with respect to the formation of Highway Districts, by section vii. of the said Act, 25 and 26 Victoria, c. 61, such parishes or places, or part or parts thereof, shall not be included in the said Highway District, and this Order so far only as regards the said parishes or places, or part or parts thereof, shall be of no effect.

Notice is hereby given, that the confirmation of the said Provisional Order by a Final Order will be taken into consideration by the Justices at the Court of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace for the said county of Devon, to be held at the Castle of Exeter, on the 20th day of October next.

If. Ford, Clerk of the Peace.

HEREAS, at a Court of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace for the county of Devon, held at the Castle of Exeter, on the 30th day of June last, a Provisional Order was made in the words following; that is to say:

Whereas, on the 1st day of June instant, five of Her Majesty's Justices of the Peace for the county of Devon did, by writing under their hands, require the Clerk of the Peace for the said county to add to or send with the Notice for holding this Court of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace for the said county, a notice in the form marked A, in the schedule to the Act 25 and 26 Victoria, c. 61, or as near thereto as circumstances would admit, that, at this Sessions, a proposal would be made to the Justices to constitute the parishes of Buckland-tout-Saints, Blackawton, Chivelstone, Charleton, Churchstow, Dodbrooke, East Allington, Kingsbridge, Loddiswell, Malborough, East Portlemouth, Sherford, Slapton, Stokenham, South Pool, Stoke Fleming, South Milton, South Huish, Thurlestone, West Alvington, and Woodleigh, a Highway District; and did also require the said Clerk of the Peace to send, by post, in a prepaid letter, notices in the aforesaid form, to the Churchwardens and Overseers of every parish mentioned in the said notice.

And whereas, the Clerk of the Peace having complied with the said requisition, the said five Justices (two, at least, of whom were resident within the proposed Highway District) made the said proposal to this Court, and the same having been entertained by the Justices here assembled.

This Court doth order (subject to the same being confirmed at the next Quarter Sessions to be held for this county, on the 20th day of October next,) that the parishes and places undermentioned be constituted a Highway District, and that the same shall be known by the name of the "Kingsbridge Highway District."

And this Court doth also order (subject, as aforesaid,) that the number of Waywardens, which each parish shall elect, shall be the number set against the name of each parish respectively, viz.:

		No. of	
Parish.		Waywardens.	
Buckland-tout-Saints		1	
Blackawton	•••	1	
Chivelstone	•••	1	
Charleton'		1	
Churchstow		1	
Dodbrooke	•••	1	
East Allington	•••	1	
Kingsbridge		1	
Loddiswell	•••	1	