Devonshire Artillery. Dorsetshire. 1st or South Durham. 2nd or North Durham. lst or East Essex. 2nd or West Essex. Royal Glamorganshire Light Infantry. Royal Glamorganshire Artillery. 1st Royal or South Gloucestershire Light Infantry. 2nd Royal or North Gloucestershire. Hampshire. Isle of Wight Artillery. Herefordshire. Hertfordshire. Huntingdonshire. West Kent Light Infantry. Kent Artillery. 1st Royal Lancashire. 2nd Royal Lancashire. 3rd Royal Lancashire. 4th Royal Lancashire Light Infantry. 5th Royal Lancashire. 6th Royal Lancashire. 7th Lancashire Rifles. Leicestershire. Royal South Lincoln. Royal City of London. Royal Montgomery and Merioneth. 1st Royal or East Middlesex. 2nd Royal (or Edmonton) Middlesex Rifles. 3rd Royal (or Westminster) Middlesex Light Infantry. 4th Royal (or South) Middlesex. Royal Monmouthshire Light Infantry. 1st or West Norfolk. 2nd or East Norfolk. Northamptonshire and Rutlandshire. Northumberland Light Infantry. Nottinghamshire. Shropshire. 1st Somersetshire. 2nd Somersetshire. 3rd or King's Own Staffordshire Rifles. West Suffolk. 1st Royal Surrey. 2nd Royal Surrey. 3rd Royal Surrey. Royal Sussex Artillery. Queen's Own Light Infantry or 2nd Tower Hamlets. 1st Warwickshire. Royal Westmoreland Light Infantry. Worcestershire. East Yorkshire. East and North Yorkshire Artillery. North Yorkshire. 2nd West Yorkshire Light Infantry. 4th West Yorkshire. 5th West Yorkshire. 6th West Yorkshire.

A^T the Court at Osborne House, Isle of Wight, the 16th day of April, 1861,

PRESENT,

The QUEEN's Most Excellent Majesty in Council.

W HEREAS by an Act passed in the session of Parliament holden in the fifty-seventh year of the reign of His Majesty King George the Third, intituled "An Act to empower His

A 2 ·

" Majesty to suspend training, and to regulate " quotas of the Militia," it is, amongst other things, enacted, " That it shall be lawful for His Majesty, " by any Order or Orders in Council, to suspend " the calling out of the Militia of the United " Kingdom, or any part of the United Kingdom, " or of any county, riding, shire, stewartry, city, " town, or place, for the purpose of being trained " and exercised in any year, and to order and " direct that no training or exercising of the " Militia of the United Kingdom, or of any part " of the United Kingdom, or of any county or " counties, riding or ridings, shire or shires, " stewartry or stewartries, city or cities, town or " towns, or place or places, specified in any such " Order or Orders in Council shall take place in " any year, anything contained in any Act or " Acts of Parliament to the contrary notwith-" standing."

And whereas it has seemed fit to Her Majesty, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to suspend the calling out of the Militia of certain parts of the United Kingdom hereinafter mentioned, for the purpose of being trained and exercised in the year one thousand eight hundred and sixty-one.

Now, therefore, Her Majesty, by the advice of Her Privy Council, doth hereby suspend the calling out of the regiments of Militia specified in the schedule annexed to this Order for the purpose of being trained and exercised in the year one thousand eight hundred and sixty-one, which schedule is hereby directed to be taken as part of this Order; and it is further ordered, that this Order and the said schedule be published in the London Gazette.

Arthur Helps.

Schedule of Militia Regiments referred to in the foregoing Order.

Bedfordshire Light Infantry. 2nd Royal Cheshire. Durham Artillery. Hampshire Artillery. East Kent. Royal Lancashire Artillery. Royal North Lincoln. 5th Middlesex, or Royal Elthorne Light Infantry. Norfolk Artillery. Northumberland Artillery. Oxfordshire. 1st or King's Own Staffordshire. 2nd or King's Own Staffordshire Light Infantry. Suffolk Artillery. 1st Royal Sussex Light Infantry. King's Own Light Infantry, or 1st Tower Hamlets. 2nd Warwickshire. Royal Wiltshire. 1st West Yorkshire. **3rd West Yorkshire**. Edinburgh City Artillery. Fifeshire Artillery. Forfarshire and Kincardineshire Artillery. 2nd Lanarkshire. Stirlingshire, Dumbartonshire, Clackmannanshire, and Kinrosshire,