"such conditions and clauses of forfeiture as are | therein mentioned; and respecting the division of the said colonies into districts within which alone such demises or licences might be made to take 'effect; and respecting the renewal of any such demises or licences; and respecting the conflicting claims of different persons to obtain any such demise or licence ; and respecting any right of pre-emption which it might be proper to give to the holders of any such demise or licence; and respecting the forfeiture of any such demises or licences on the conviction of any holders thereof, of certain offences in any such colony; and respecting any other matters and things which might be requisite, either for carrying into more complete effect the occupation, in manner therein mentioned, of such waste lands as aforesaid, or for preventing the abuses incident thereto; it was enacted, that it should be lawful for Her Majesty, by any Order in Council, to make and establish all such rules and regulations as to Her Majesty should seem meet for the purposes aforesaid, or for any of them, and any such rules and regulations again to repeal, renew, alter, and amend ; and that all such Orders in Council should have the force and effect of law in the colonies aforesaid :

And whereas it is expedient, that the rules and regulations hereinafter contained should now be made and established for regulating the occupation of the waste lands of the Crown in the colony of New South Wales; it is hereby ordered by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice of the Privy Council, that within the said colony of New South Wales, the rules and regulations comprised in the following chapters shall henceforth be observed, and have the force and 'effect of law:

CAP. 1. As to the division of lands in New South Wales.

Section 1. The lands in the colony of New South Wales shall, for the purposes of the present Order, be considered as divided into three classes, and be dealt with accordingly as they may be situated in districts, to be denominated, respectively, as the settled, the intermediate, and the unsettled districts.

Section 2. The settled districts of the colony shall comprehend-

1.—The nineteen contiguous counties, the boundaries of which were settled and proclaimed

1532

before the first January one thousand eight hundred and thirty-eight.

II.—The counties, or reputed counties, of Macquarie and Stanley.

III.—The lands which may be within a distance of twenty-five miles, to be measured or reckoned from any point of the corporate limits of the town of Melbourne, in the county of Bourke.

IV.—The lands which lie within the distance of fifteen miles from any point of the outward limits of the town of Geelong, in the county of Grant.

V.—The lands which may lie within the distance of ten miles from any point of the outward limits of each of the following towns or townships, viz.

Portland, in the county of Normanby.

- Alverton, in the district of Gippsland.
- Eden, in the county of Auckland; Bathurst, in the county of Roxburgh; Wellington, in the county of the same name.
- The town which has been established at the head of the navigation of the river Clarence.
- The town of Macquarie, in the county of Macquarie.

The town of Ipswich, in the county of Stanley.

VI.—The lands which may lie within the distance of three miles from any part of the sea, throughout the extent of the colony, measured in a straight line.

VII.—The lands which may lie within the distance of two miles from either of the two opposite banks of any of the following rivers, viz.

- The Glenelg, from a point to be fixed by the Governor, not lower than where the Glenelg receives the waters of the Crawford, nor higher than where it receives the waters of the Wannow.
- The Clarence, from a point to be fixed by the Governor, at a distance not less than ten miles above the Government township at the head of the navigation, and not less than fifty miles from the sea, measured in a straight line.
- The river now known by the name of the Richmond, from a point to be fixed by the Governor, at a distance not less than twenty miles from the sea, measured along the course of the river.