purposes of that Act, as to Her Majesty, with the advice aforesaid, should seem expedient, and to give aname to each of such districts, and to determine at what place within each district the court for the election of coroner for such district should be holden, as thereinafter provided, and every such Order should be published in the London Gazette; and whereas the justices of the peace of the county of Cumberland, assembled in general quarter sessions on the first day of July one thousand eight hundred and forty-five, did resolve that a petition should be presented to Her Majesty, praying for such division or alteration as thereinafter mentioned, and did adjourn the further consideration thereof until their general quarter sessions to be holden, at Carlisle, on the first of July then next; due notice thereof having been given to the coroners of the said county, and two of the justices, attending such general quarter sessions, did thereby certify, under their hands and seals, that such petition was agreed to; and whereas the said justices have since presented their petition to Her Majesty, representing that, in and by an Act of Parliament, made and passed in the eighth year of the reign of Her Most Gracious Majesty, intituled "An Act to amend " the law respecting the office of county coroner," it was enacted, that when and as often as it should seem expedient to the justices of any county that such county should be divided into two or more districts for the purposes of the said Act, it should be lawful for the said justices, in general or quarter sessions assembled, to resolve that a petition should be presented to Her Majesty, praying that such division should be made, and thereupon to adjourn the further consideration of such petition until notice thereof should be given to the coroners of such county, in the manner in the said Act provided; that the petitioners, in pursuance of the power given to them in and by the said Act, at their last Michaelmas quarter sessions, did resolve, that a petition should be presented to Her Majesty, praying that the said county of Cumberland should be divided into two districts for the purposes of the said Act, and did thereupon adjourn the further consideration of such petition to their general quarter sessions to be holden, at Carlisle, on the first day of July then next; that notice of such resolution, and of the time when the petition would be taken by the

said justices into consideration, was given to the said coroners by the clerk of the peace in the manner in the said Act provided; that the petitioners have conferred with the coroners who attended the said meeting for that purpose, touching the present petition, and, having due regard to the size and nature of each proposed district, the number of the inhabitants, the nature of their employments, and such other circumstances as appeared to them fit to be considered in carrying into execution the provisions of the said Act, have resolved, that it is expedient that the said county should be divided into two districts for the purposes of the said Act, and that the said districts should be similar to and coextensive with the present Parliamentary divisions of east and west Cumberland, and therefore praying, that Her Majesty will be graciously pleased to direct that such division be made of the said county of Cumberland into the said two districts; and the said justices represented that the said county should be divided into two districts for the purposes of the said Act, to be called by the several and respective names following, that is to say, No. 1, to be called the Eastern Division, being similar to and co-extensive with the eastern Parliamentary division of the said county, and containing the several parishes, townships, and places following, that is to say, Abbey-street, Aikton, Ainstable, Alston, Anthorn, Arthuret, Askerton, Bampton Great, Bampton Little, Beaumont, Belbank, Berrier and Murrah, High, Blackwell Low, Bewcastle, Blackwell Blencogo, Botcherley, Bolchergate, Boustead-hill, Bowness, Bowscale, Brampton, Brisco, Burgh, Burtholme, Caldergate, Carge, Carleton, Castle Carrock, Castle Sowerby, Castle-street, Catterlen, Corby Great and Warwick-bridge, Corby Little, Crofton, Croglin, Crosby on Eden, Culgaith, Cummersdale, Cumrew, Cumwhinton and Cotchill, Cumwhilton, Dacre, Dalsion, Denton Nether, Denton Upper, Dumburgh, Dundraw, Eden-hall, English-street; Etterby, Farlam, Fenton and Faugh, Fingland, Fisher-street, Gamblesby. Glassonby. Greystoke, Grinsdale, Harraby, Hayton, Hesket, Hethersgill, Houghton, Hunsonby and Winskill, Hutton, Hutton John, Hutton Roof, Hutton Soil, Irthington, Kingmoor, Kingwater, Kirkandrews on Eden, Kirkandrews-Middle, Kirkandrews Moat; Kirkandrews Nether,

A 2