Hornsey,

the Court at St. James's, the 3d day of January 1840,

PRESENT,

The QUEEN's Most Excellent Majesty in Council.

THEREAS by an Act, passed in the tenth year of the reign of His late Majesty King George the Fourth, it was, amongst other things, enacted, that it should be lawful for His Majestv at any time, by the advice of His Privy Council, to order that any parishes, townships, precincts, and places, whether parochial or extra-parochial, in the counties of Middlesex, Surrey, Hertford, Essex, and Kent, of which any part shall be situate within twelve miles of Charing-cross, in the city of Westminster, shall, after a certain day, to be named in such Order, be added to, and form part of, the metropolitan police district, and be placed under the charge of a police to be appointed under the said Act; and whereas by an Act, passed in the Parliament held in the second and third years of the reign of Her present Majesty, it was enacted, that any place which is part of the Central Criminal Court district, except the city of London and liberties thereof, and such places as are or may be included in any Act already passed, or tobe passed, in the said session of Parliament, intituled " An Act for regulating the police in the city of " London;" and also, that any part of any parish, township, precinct, or place, which is not more than fifteen miles distant from Charing-cross, in a straight line, may be added to, and form part of, the metropolitan police district; and whereas it is expedient that the parishes, townships, precincts, and places following, that is to say:

County of Middlesex,

Ashford, Bedford, East, Cowley, Cranford, Drayton, West, Edgeware, including Whitchurch, Edmonton, Enfield, Finchley, Fryern Barnet, Feltham, Greenford, Harrow, Hendon, Hadley Monken,

Haves, Hanwell, Heston, Hanworth, Hampton, Town and Court, Hamptonwick, liberty, Harefield. Hillingdon, Harlington, Harmondsworth, Ickinham, Isleworth, Kingsbury, Laleham, Littleton, Northalt, Norwood, precinct, Perivale, Pinner, Ruislep, South Mimms, Stanmore, Great and Little, Stanwell, Staines, Sunbury, Shepperton, Tottenham, Twyford Abbey, Twickenham, Teddington, Uxbridge, township and chapelry, Wilsden; County of Surrey,

Addington, Banstead, Beddington,

Wallington, hamlet,

Cuddington, Cheam, Croydon, Coulsdon. Carshalton, Chessington,

Ewell, exclusive of part near Walton.

Epsom, Farley,

Kew,

Kingston-on-Thames,

Ham-with-Hatch, hamlet, Hook, hamlet,