by purchase, vice Brereton. Dated 7th June |

82d Foot, Brevet Major George Pinckney, from the Ilth Foot, to be Captain, vice Rogers, who exchanges. Dated 6th June 1939.

96th Foot, Captain Matthew Richmond, from the 11th Regiment of Foot, to be Captain, vice Lee, who exchanges. Dated 7th June 1839.

Rifle Brigade, Frederick Robert Elrington, Gent. to be Second Lieutenant, by purchase, vice Gage, promoted. Dated 7th June 1839.

1st West India Regiment, Lientenant Matthew Fitzpatrick, from half-pay of the 97th Regiment of Foot, to be Lieutenant, vice Tuite, appointed to the 19th Regiment of Foot. Dated 7th June 1839.

UNATTACHED.

Lieutenant Augustus H. S. Young, from the 45th Foot, to be Captain, by purchase, vice White, whose promotion, on the 14th December 1838, has been cancelled. Dated 7th June, 1839.

Lieutenant Joseph Robinson, from the 60th Regiment of Foot, to be Captain, without purchase Dated 7th June 1839.

BREVET.

Captain Hugh Gore Edwards, of the 10th Foot, to be Major in the Army. Dated 19th January be Major in the Army. 1837.

HOSPITAL STAFF.

To be Assistant-Surgeons to the Forces.

George William Powell, M.D. vice David Dumbreck, who retires upon half-pay. Dated 7th June 1839.

Thomas Rose Dyce, Gent. vice Paynter, appointed to the 60th Foot. Dated 7th June 1839.

MEMORANDUM.

The date of Lieutenant Staunton's commission, in the 6th Foot, is 4th December 1834, and not 22d May 1835.

ERRATUM in the Gazette of the 31st May last.

For Second Lieutenant the Honourable Henry Edward Hall Gage to be First Lieutenant in the Rifle Brigade, vice Esten,

Read Second Lieutenant the Honourable Henry Edward Hall Gage to be First Lieutenant in the Rifle Brigade, by purchase, vice Esten.

Commission signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Kent.

East Kent Regiment of Militia.

Alexander Leith, Gent. to be Ensign. Dated 30th May 1839.

Whitehall, June 9, 1839.

The Queen has been pleased to issue a new. Commission of Lieutenancy for the city of London,

for that purpose, viz:-Her right trusty and wellbeloved Samuel Wilson, Esq., Lord Mayor of the city of London, and the Lord Mayor of the said city for the time being; Her trusty and well-beloved Sir Claudius Stephen Hunter, Bart., George Scholey and Samuel Birch, Esqrs., Sir Matthew Wood, Bart., Sir William Heygate, Bart., William Venables, Anthony Brown, Matthias Prime Lucas, and William Thompson, Esqrs., Sir John Key, Bart., Sir Peter Laurie, Knt, Charles Farebrother, William Taylor Copeland, and Thomas Kelly, Esqrs., Sir John Cowan, Bart., Aldermen of the city of London, Charles Ewan Law, Esq., Recorder of the city of London, and the Recorder of the said city for the time being, Sir Chapman Marshall, Knt., James Harmer, Thomas Johnson, John Pirie, Thomas Wood, John Lainson, James White, John Humpherv, William Magnay, and Michael Gibbs, Esqrs. Aldermen of the city of London, and the Aldermen of the said city for the time being; Sir James Shaw, Bart. Chamberlain of the city of London, and the Chamberlain of the said city for the time being; Henry Woodthorpe, Esq. Town-Clerk of the city of London, and the Town-Clerk of the said city for the time being; John Mirehouse, Esq. Common Serjeant of the city of London, and the Common Serjeant of the said city for the time being; Thomas Price, Joseph Daw, Thomas Whilby, Richard Brook, John Blacket, Joseph Carter, William Sandell Angell, John Lorkin, Thomas Corney, David Allan, William Curling; John Downes, James Frisby, William Green, Richard Hicks, William Thomas Heath, John Kinnersley Hooper, Walter Anderson Peacock, William Parnell Tyars, Robert Westwood, Thomas. Quested Finnis, John Obadizh Jaques, James Ramshaw, William Stevens, John Atkinson, James Southby Bridge, John Brown, Edward Godson, Thomas Pewtress, and William Richardson, Esqrs,, Deputies of the city of London, and the Deputies thereof for the time being; John Garratt, Edward Tickner, Robert Williams, and George Hibbert, Esqrs., Sir Robert Baker, Knt., James Brogden and Stephen Edward Thornton, Esqrs, Sir Thomas Neave, Bart, Jeremiah Olive, Jeremiah Harman, Isaac Solly, Andrew Loughnan, Abel Chapman, Andrew Henry Thompson, Cornelius Buller, William Ward, and Melvil Wilson, Esqrs., Sir John Rae Reid, Bart, John Henry Pelley, Robert Barelon, John Bender, John Henry Pelley, Robert Barclay, John Bowden, Henry Davidson, Abel Lewis Gower, Thomson Hankey, jun., John Ben-jamin Heath, John Gellebrand Hubbard, Charles Frederick Huth, Alfred Latham, James Malcolmson, William Cotton, Humphrey St. John Mildmay, James Morris, George Warde Norman, John Horsley Palmer, James Pattison, Christopher Pearse, Timothy Abraham Curtis, Charles Pole, Henry Porcher, William R. Robinson, Thomas Charles Smith, Thomas Matthias Wiguelin, Bonamy Dobree, Charles Pascoe Grenfell, John Oliver Hanson, Rowland Mitchell, Sheffield Neave, Henry James Prescott, Thomas Warre, Money Wigram, and William Unwin Sims, Esqrs.; Sir James Law Lushington, Knight Grand Cross of the Most Honourable Military Order of the Bath; Sir Richard constituting and appointing the several persons Jenkins, Knight Grand Cross of the Most Honour undermentioned to be Her Majesty's Commissioners able Military Order of the Bath; William Astel, Jenkins, Knight Grand Cross of the Most Honour_