John Savile Lumley, Esq., and William Nelthorpe Beauclerk, Esq., now Third Secretaries, to be Second Secretaries in Her Majesty's Diplomatic Service.

FOREIGN OFFICE, June 21, 1879.

The Queen has been graciously pleased to appoint the Honourable Edmund John Monson, C.B., now Her Majesty's Consul-General for the Kingdom of Hungary, to be Her Majesty's Minister Resident and Consul-General to the Oriental Republic of the Uruguay.

The Queen has also been graciously pleased to appoint Christian William Lawrence, Esq., now a Second Secretary in Her Majesty's Diplomatic Service, to be Secretary to Her Majesty's Legation at Stockholm,

The Queen has also been graciously pleased to appoint Walter Baring, Esq., now a Second Secretary in Her Majesty's Diplomatic Service, to be Secretary to Her Majesty's Legation at Tehran.

FOREIGN OFFICE, June 30, 1879.

The Queen has been pleased to approve of Mr. Henry Kohen as Consul-General at Cardiff for His Majesty the Emperor of Austria.

The Queen has also been pleased to approve of Mr. Felix Dalmas as Consul at Sierra Leone for His Majesty the King of Portugal and the Algarves.

The Queen has also been pleased to approve of Mr. Henry C. Marston as Consul at Port Louis, and of Mr. George W. Roosevelt as Consul at St. Helena, for the United States of America.

The Queen has also been pleased to approve of Mr. Pedro Obregon as Consul at Port of Spain, Trinidad; of Mr. Rosendo Blanco as Consul at Southampton; of Mr. James Rushby as Consul at Grimsby; and of Mr. John Duff as Consul at Kingston, Jamaica, for the United States of Venezuela.

WHITEHALL, June 30, 1879.

The Queen has been pleased to grant unto John Nathaniel Westaway, Esq., the office and place of Advocate-General of the Island of Jersey, in the room of George Helier Horman, Esq., deceased.

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION, July 1, 1879.

In pursuance of the provisions of Her Majesty's Order in Council of the 12th February 1876, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce that the undermentioned Appointments in the Civil Service were notified to them in the month of June 1879:—

APPOINTMENTS.

British Museum,—William Forsell Kirby, to be Assistant.

- Colonial Office,—John Anderson, Charles Alexander Harris, and William Hepworth Mercer, to be Clerks.
- Diplomatic Service,—William M'Pherson, to be Clerk and Assistant to Legation, Madrid.
- Education Department,—Thomas Butt and Samuel Holliday, to be Inspector's Assistants,
- High Court of Justice,—Sydenham Hall, to be Clerk in the Master's Office, Queen's Bench Division.
- India Audit Office,—Francis Smith Hutchings, to be Lower Division Clerk.
- Inland Revenue,—Ernest George Binckes, Reginald Holbert Edwin Burt, Alfred Denis Godley, and Charles Herbert Ross, to be Assistant Surveyors of Taxes.
- Post Office,—Lydia M'Naull, to be Female Clerk in the Accountant's Office, Dublin.
 - George Brooks, to be Postmaster (Blackburn).
- Prisons Department (England),—John Barlow, to be Foreman of Works.
 - William Hoskins, to be Clerk in the Commissioners' Office.
- Record Office (England),—Hubert Hall, to be Clerk.
- Science and Art Department,—Charles Bailey and John Saltmarsh, to be Stores Clerks.
 - Clerks and Boy Clerks of the Lower Division.
- Admiralty,—George Cluffe Bateman, Patrick Bulfin, James Carter, and William Taylor, to be Clerks.
- Army Clothing Department,—Henry Freeman Cornwell, George Prideaux Millett, Thomas Swift, and Edward Wilkinson, to be Boy Clerks.
- Charity Commission,-Robert Muir, to be Clerk.
- Chief Secretary's Office (Ireland),—Samuel John Murray Power, to be Clerk.
- Home Office,—Stanhope William Simmonds, to be Clerk.
- Local Government Board (England),—John Wilton Coles, Wesley Pettigrew Henry, James Langton, and John Wills Symons, to be Clerks.
- Metropolitan Police Office (Dublin), Thomas Edmund Lyons M'Clelland, to be Boy Clerk.
- Post Office,—John Bowe Carter, Henry Dyer, Walter Thomas Edwards, and Frederic Wyborn, to be Boy Clerks.
- Registrar General's Office (Scotland),—William M'Namara, to be Boy Clerk.
- Science and Art Department,—Francis John Bull,
 Herbert William Etheridge, Joseph John
 Etherington, Arthur James Hamilton Kempt,
 Thomas Laidlaw, Michael Francis M'Evoy,
 Arthur Maslen, and Charles Alexander Patterson, to be Clerks.
- Seamen's Registry Office, Charles Frederick Mortimore, to be Clerk.
- War Office, George Henry Lovell, George M'Nabb, William Harry Nicoll, John O'Farrell, and Thomas Trees, to be Clerks. Joseph Frederick Turner, to be Boy Clerk.
- Woods, Office of,-William Varian, to be Clerk: