The Bishop of the Episcopal Church in Scotland for the Diocese of Edinburgh (Rt. Rev. Kenneth C. H. Warner, D.S.O., D.D.).

Clergy resident in Edinburgh.

The Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland (Rt. Rev. W. White Anderson, M.C., D.D.).

The Hereditary Great Constable of Scotland (Rt. Hon. The Countess of Erroll). The Secretary of State for Scotland (represented by Commander T. D. Galbraith, M.P., Under-Secretary of State).

Peers: Rt. Hon. The Lord Strathspey.

Baronets: Sir Thomas Clark, Bt., Sir Mark Dalrymple of Newhailes, Bt.

Lairds: Major Borthwick of Borthwick and Crookston, Baron of Heriotmuir, Captain Rattray of Craighall-Rattray, Baron of that Ilk.

Flag Officer, Scotland, Rear-Admiral J. H. F. Crombie, C.B., D.S.O.

General Officer Commandingin-Chief, Scottish Command, Lt.-Gen. Sir Gordon H. A. MacMillan of MacMillan, K.C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O., M.C.

Air Officer Commanding 18 Group, Royal Air Force, Air Vice Marshal H. T. Lydford, C.B., C.B.E., A.F.C.

Major-General G. F. Johnson, C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O., Chief of Staff, and Officers of the Headquarters Staff, Scottish Command.

Officers of the Imperial Forces in Uniform.

Deputation from the British Legion, viz. Lt.-Col. Colin S. MacLeod, T.D., Major W. Menzies, and John Millar, Esquire, J.P.

Macers of the Council and Session and Justiciary, bearing their Maces.

The Lord Justice-General and Lord President of the Court of Session (Rt. Hon. Lord Cooper).

The Lord Advocate (Rt. Hon. J. L. M. Clyde, Q.C., M.P.)
The Lord Justice-Clerk (Rt. Hon. Lord Thomson).

Judges of the Court of Session and Justiciary.

The Solicitor-General (W. R. Milligan, Esquire, Q.C.). Queen's and Lord Treasurer's Remembrancer (W. D. Collier, Esquire).

Clerk of Justiciary (James D. Leechman, Esquire, Q.C.). Principal Clerk of Session (J. Mitchell, Esquire).

Crown Agent (L. I. Gordon, Esquire).

The Dean (John Cameron, Esquire, D.S.C., Q.C.) and Faculty of Advocates.

The Deputy Keeper (Sir Ernest M. Wedderburn, O.B.E., D.L., LL.D., D.Sc.) and Society of Writers to H.M. Signet.

The President (Charles T. Nightingale, Esquire, J.P.) and Society of Solicitors in the Supreme Courts.

The President (J. M. Ross, F.F.A., F.R.S.E.) and Faculty of Actuaries. The President (R. G. Simpson, M.C.) and Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Keeper of the Palace of Holyroodhouse (His Grace the Duke of Hamilton, P.C., K.T., G.C.V.O.). Keeper of the Palace of Falkland (Major Crichton-Stuart of Falkland).

Representatives of Government Departments, viz.

Scottish Home Department (Sir Charles C. Cunningham, K.B.E., C.B., C.V.O., Secretary). Scottish Education Department (Sir John Mackay Thomson, C.B., F.R.S.E., Secretary). Keeper of the Records of Scotland (Sir James Fergusson of Kilkerran, Bt.).

Keeper of the Registers of Scotland (John McVie, Esquire).

Department of Agriculture for Scotland (Sir Patrick Laird, C.B., F.R.S.E., Secretary).

Department of Health for Scotland (Sir George Henderson, Secretary).

General Board of Control for Scotland (John Jardine, Esquire, C.B., O.B.E., F.R.C.S.E., F.R.S.E., Chair-

Registrar-General for Scotland (Mr. Registrar E. A. Hogan).
Ministry of Works (D. L. Macintyre, Esquire, V.C., C.B., Under-Secretary).
Board of Trustees for the National Galleries of Scotland (Robert Moncrieff, Esquire, M.B.E., Secretary).
Board of Trustees for the National Library of Scotland (M. R. Dobie, Librarian, and W. Beattie, Keeper of Printed Books).

H.M. Registry of Friendly Societies for Scotland (Lt.-Col. C. L. Addison-Smith, C.B.E., W.S., Registrar). Ministry of Labour and National Service (Peter H. St. J. Wilson, Controller, Scotland)

Comptroller, Inland Revenue (represented by Registrar of Death Duties for Scotland, Mr. Registrar A. W. H.

Principal of the University (Sir Edward V. Appleton, G.B.E., K.C.B., D.Sc., LL.D., F.R.S.)

Professors of the University.

President (Dr. W. A. Alexander) and Fellows of the Royal Society of Physicians.

President (Professor Walter Mercer) and Fellows of the Royal Society of Surgeons.

Royal Society of Edinburgh (Professor James Ritchie, C.B.E., Professor J. H. Gaddum, F.R.S., Dr. J. E. Mackenzie, O.B.E.)

Royal Zoological Society of Edinburgh (Professor James Ritchie, C.B.E.*).

Chairman (Robert Wilson, Esquire, J.P., F.R.S.E., Vice-Chairman), Governor (P. J. W. Kilpatrick), and
Principals (J. Y. White, Clerk to Governors) of the Heriot-Watt College.