Captain William Gordon Roe, Royal Army Service Corps.

Lieutenant (Assistant Ordnance Mechanical Engineer) Hammond James Rotton, Royal Army Ordnance Corps.

Lieutenant Richard Vernon Russell. The East

Lancashire Regiment.

Subadar-Major Bhagwat Parshad Sharma, King George's Royal Indian Military School. Lieutenant (District Officer) Charles Thomas Skeats, Royal Artillery.

Temporary Lieutenant (Quarter-Master) Albert Edwin Smart, Royal Corps of Signals.

Captain John Henry Smith, Ceylon Defence

Major Henry Nevill Sowdon, Royal Artillery. Lieutenant (Quarter-Master) Alfred Standing, Royal Artillery, Territorial Army.

Captain (acting Major) Edward William Stevens, The Duke of Wellington's Regiment (West Riding).

Captain (temporary Major) Gwynne Brian Sugden, The South Wales Borderers.

Quarter-Master and Honorary Major Albert William Taylor, M.C., Australian Military

Captain William Francis Kynaston Thompson, Royal Artillery

Major Charles Gordon Campbell Wade, The Royal Fusiliers (City of London Regiment).

Major Christopher Prioleau Warren, M.C., The Rifle Brigade (Prince Consort's Own).

Warrant Officer Class I. (Regimental Sergeant-Major) Frank Allan Wetherall, Royal New Zealand Artillery, New Zealand Military

Quarter-Master and Honorary Major Bruce Wilson, Australian Military Forces.

Battery Sergeant-Major Douglas Wilson, Singapore Royal Artillery Volunteers, Straits Settlements Volunteer Force.

Warrant Officer Class I. (Conductor) Frederick Arthur Woodhouse, Indian Army Corps of Clerks.

Captain Philip James Woodhouse, The King's Shropshire Light Infantry, Territorial Army. Major Frederick Wren, Army Educational Corps.

To be an Honorary Member of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Rais Henry Haim Ludmer, Trans-Jordan Frontier Force.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD.

> St. James's Palace, S.W.1, 11th July 1940.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following appointments to the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire in recognition of distinguished services rendered in recent operations:-

To be an Additional Knight Commander of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Air Vice-Marshal Patrick Henry Lyon Playfair, C.B., C.V.O., M.C., Royal Air Force.

To be Additional Commanders of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Air Commodore Arthur Samuel Glynn, Royal Air Force.

Air Commodore (now Acting Air Vice-Marshal) Frederick George Darby Hards, D.S.C., D.F.C., Royal Air Force.

Group Captain Robert Victor Goddard, Royal Air Force.

Group Captain Walter Thorne, Royal Air Force.

To be Additional Officers of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Wing Commander Henry Frederick Vulliamy Battle, D.F.C. (06208), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Ronald Hartley Carter, D.F.C. (16071), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Edward Simeon Colbeck Davis, A.F.C. (16107), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander (now Acting Group Captain) Victor Emmanuel Groom, D.F.C. (04035), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Harold Alfred Haines, D.F.C. (04037), Royal Air Force.

Commander James Donald Innes Hardman, D.F.C. (15155), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander George Henry Harrison, D.F.C. (04044), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Raymund George Hart, M.C. (22211), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander (now Group Captain) Thomas Audley Langford-Sainsbury, D.F.C., A.F.C. (07201), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Arthur Pethick Revington (16019), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Douglas Arthur William

Sugden (11159), Royal Air Force.
Wing Commander Thomas Cathcart Traill,
M.C., D.F.C. (04245), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander (now Group Captain) George Edward Wilson (03106), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Geoffrey Ivon Lawrence Saye, A.F.C. (16255), Royal Air Force. Squadron Leader (now Acting Wing Com-

mander) Philip Francis Canning (28205), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Denis Finlay (33056), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Edward Roy Pearce (05206), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader (now Wing Commander) Geoffrey William Tuttle, D.F.C. (22074), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Gerald Patrick Linton \mathbf{Leader} Weston (25053), Royal Air Force.
Squaren Leader Frederick Francis Wicks,

D.F.C. (26148), Royal Air Force.

Lieutenant-Colonel Kenneth Pearce Smith, The Royal Berkshire Regiment.

be Additional Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Flight Lieutenant John Wesley Caddy (13147), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Ernest Joseph Dease (75476), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

Acting Flight Lieutenant Francis Charles Howard Kirby (35161), Royal Air Force.

Flying Officer George Stephen Drake (43320), Royal Air Force. Flying Officer David Edwards (21401), Royal

Air Force.