Health, 1919-21. Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries. 1929-30, and Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, 1930-31. For political and public

Sir George Bowyer, Bt., M.C., D.L., M.P., Member of Parliament for the Buckingham division since December 1918. Vice-Chairman of the Conservative Party, 1930-35. A Conservative Whip, 1925 to 1935. Comptroller of His Majesty's Household, 1931. A Lord Commissioner of H.M. Treasury, 1926-29. For political and public services.

Sir John Cadman, G.C.M.G., D.Sc., D.Litt., D.Eng., M.Inst.C.E., Chairman, Anglo-Iranian Oil Company and Iraq Petroleum

Admiral of the Fleet Sir Alfred Ernle Montacute Chatfield, G.C.B., K.C.M.G., C.V.O., First Sea Lord and Chief of the Naval Staff. Julius Salter Elias, Esq., Chairman and Managing Director, Odham's Press.

Colonel John Cuthbert Denison-Pender, Member of Parliament for the Newmarket Division, 1913-18, and for Balham and Tooting, 1918-22. Member of the London County Council for South St. Pancras, 1910-19. For political and public services.

Sir (Frederick) George Penny, Bt., J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for Kingstonon-Thames since 1922. A Conservative Whip since 1926 and Deputy Government Chief Whip since May 1935. Treasurer of His Majesty's Household since 1935; Comptroller, 1932-35, and Vice-Chamberlain, 1931-32. A Lord Commissioner of H.M. Treasury, 1928-29, and in 1931.

Sir Walter Russell Rea, Bt., Member of Parliament for Scarborough, 1906-18; for North Bradford, 1923-24, and for Dewsbury, 1931-35, Chief Liberal Whip, 1931-35. Comptroller of His Majesty's Household, 1931-32. For political and public services.

Sir John Davenport Siddeley, C.B.E., J.P. Lately President, Engineering and Allied Employers' National Federation and Chairman and Managing Director, Armstrong Siddeley Motors.

The KING has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of His Majesty's Coronation, to declare that the undermentioned shall be sworn of His Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council:-

Edward Leslie Burgin, Esq., LL.D., M.P., Member of Parliament for Luton since 1929. Parliamentary Secretary to the Board of Trade since 1932.

Sir Felix Cassel, Bt., K.C., Judge Advocate General, 1916-1934.

Colonel Sir George Loyd Courthope, Bt., M.C., T.D., J.P., D.L., M.P., Member of Parliament for the Rye Division of Sussex since 1906. A Forestry Commissioner. political and public services.

The Honourable Sir Patrick Duncan, G.C.M.G., Governor-General of the Union

of South Africa.

Isaac Foot, Esq., Member of Parliament for Bodmin, 1922-23 and 1929-35. Secretary for Mines, 1931-32. For political and public services.

George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, G.C.M.G., D.S.O., O.B.E., Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand.

Brigadier-General The Honourable Alexander Gore Arkwright, Baron Gowrie, V.C., G.C.M.G., C.B., D.S.O., Governor-General of the Commonowealth of Australia.

The Honourable Ernest Lapointe, K.C., Minister of Justice of the Dominion of Canada.

Frederick William Pethick-Lawrence, Esq., M.P., Member of Parliament for Leicester West, December 1923 to October 1931, and for Edinburgh East since November 1935. Financial Secretary to the Treasury, June 1929 to October 1931. For political and public services.

The Right Honourable Sir (Robert William) Hugh O'Neill, Bt., LL.D., M.P., Member of Parliament for Mid-Antrim, 1915-22, and for County Antrim since 1922. Member of Parliament for County Antrim in the Parliament of Northern Ireland, 1921-29. First Speaker of the House of Commons of Northern Ireland, 1921-29. For political and public services.

Henry, Baron Snell, C.B.E., LL.D., J.P., Leader of the Opposition in the House of Lords. Chairman of the London County Council since 1934. Member of Parliament for East Woolwich, 1922-31. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for India, 1931. For political and public services.

John, Baron Tweedsmuir, G.C.M.G., C.H., Governor-General of the Dominion of Canada.

The KING has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of His Majesty's Coronation, to signify his intention of conferring Baronetcies of the United Kingdom on the following:—

The Right Honourable Sir (Richard) Dawson Bates, O.B.E., D.L., M.P., Minister of Home Affairs, Northern Ireland.

Captain Sir William Edge, J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for Bolton, 1916-23, and for Bosworth since 1927. A Lord Commissioner of H.M. Treasury, 1919-22. political and public services.

Major Sir George Clements Hamilton, J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for Ilford since February 1928, and for Altrincham, 1913 to 1923. For political and public services.

ommander Archibald Richard James Southby, J.P., D.L., R.N. (Retired), M.P., Commander Member of Parliament for the Epsom division since 1928. A Conservative Whip since 1931. A Lord Commissioner of H.M. Treasury since 1935.

Sir Cuthbert Sidney Wallace, K.C.M.G., C.B., M.B., B.S., D.Sc., L.R.C.P., F.R.C.S., President of the Royal College of Surgeons.

Sir David Milne-Watson, LL.D., D.L., President of the National Gas Council and Governor of the Gas Light and Coke Com-

Robert Eaton White, Esq., V.D., D.L. For political and public services in the County of Suffolk extending over a long period of vears.