4. The number of councillors to be elected by the Town Council of the Burgh entitled to be represented on the County Council shall be as follows:—

| Burgh | | | | | | | | | Number of Councillors. |
|---------|---|---------|------|-----|-----|------|------|-------|------------------------|
| Lerwick | 9 | ••• | | ••• | ••• | | | • • • | 12 |

5. This Order shall come into force on the first day of October 1929, and the Order of the Secretary for Scotland dated the 27th August 1889, determining the number of County Councillors for each County Council in Scotland and apportioning them between the county and each of the burghs entitled to be represented on the County Council, so far as relating to the County of Zetland, and the Order of the Boundary Commissioners under the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1889, dated the 3rd July 1891, relating to the County of Zetland, are hereby repealed as from 16th May 1930.

Scottish Office, Whitehall, S.W.1, 16th August 1929.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT (SCOTLAND) ACT, 1929.

RECONSTITUTED COUNTY COUNCIL FOR THE . COUNTY OF LANARK.

In accordance with the requirements of subsection (4) of Section 8 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929, intimation is hereby given that the Secretary of State proposes to make an Order in the terms annexed hereto, and that before making the said Order he will consider any objections and representations in writing respecting the same received in the Scottish Office, Whitehall, London, S.W.1, within twenty-one days of the date hereof.

ORDER by the Secretary of State determining the contents and boundaries of the electoral divisions of the County of Lanark, the number of county councillors for the County and the apportionment of these county councillors between the landward area and the burghs entitled to be represented on the County Council.

In pursuance of the powers conferred upon me by Section 8 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929, I hereby determine as follows:—

1. For the purposes of the reconstitution of the County Council of the County of Lanark (in this Order called the County) the number of county councillors for the County shall be 90.

2. The number of county councillors to be elected for the landward area of the County shall be 52.

3. The contents and boundaries of the electoral divisions of the County shall be as follows:—

| No. of Division. | Name of Division. | Contents and Boundaries. | | | | |
|---------------------|--------------------------|--|--|--|--|--|
| 1 2 | Crawford Crawfordjohn | The parish of Crawford. (1) The parish of Crawfordjohn, (2) the parish of Lamington and Wandell, (3) the parish of Coulter, and (4) the parish of Wiston and Roberton. | | | | |
| 3 | Carmichael | (1) The parish of Symington, (2) the parish of Covington, (3) the parish of Pettinain, (4) the parish of Carmichael, (5) the parish of Libberton, and (6) the parish of Biggar, exclusive of the portion included within the limits of the burgh of Biggar. | | | | |
| 4 | Douglas | (1) The parish of Douglas, and (2) that part of the parish of Lesmahagow which is bounded on the north-west and north by a line drawn from a point on the parish boundary at or near the source of the river Nethan down the said river to the centre of the bridge near its junction with Logan Water; thence first in an easterly and then in a southerly, north-easterly and south-easterly direction along the centre of the public road from Waterside to the road-end southeast of Acretophead at its junction with the road from Lesmahagow to Coalburn; thence east by south in a straight | | | | |