LOCAL GOVERNMENT (SCOTLAND) ACT, 1929.

RECONSTITUTED COUNTY COUNCIL FOR THE

COUNTY OF MIDLOTHIAN.

In accordance with the requirements of subsection (4) of Section 8 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929, intimation is hereby given that the Secretary of State proposes to make an Order in the terms annexed hereto, and that before making the said Order he will consider any objections and representations in writing respecting the same received in the Scottish Office, Whitehall, London, S.W.1, within twenty-one days of the date hereof.

ORDER by the Secretary of State determining the contents and boundaries of the electoral divisions of the County of Midlothian, the number of county councillors for the County and the apportionment of these county councillors between the landward area and the burghs entitled to be represented on the County Council.

In pursuance of the powers conferred upon me by Section 8 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929, I hereby determine as follows:—

- 1. For the purposes of the reconstitution of the County Council of the County of Midlothian (in this Order called the County) the number of county councillors for the County shall be 55.
- 2. The number of county councillors to be elected for the landward area of the County shall be 34
- 3. The contents and boundaries of the electoral divisions of the County shall be as follows:—

No. of Division.	Name of Division.	Contents and Boundaries.
1	Addiewell	That part of the parish of West Calder which lies to the west of a line drawn from the point at which the parish boundary is intersected by the footbridge across the Breich Water north of Burnhouse direct to the point at which the Cleland and Mid Calder Railway line crosses the Longhill Burn, thence up the last mentioned Burn to its source and thence in a south-westerly direction straight to the
2	Harburn	boundary of the parish. That part of the parish of West Calder which lies to the east of a line drawn up the Killandeon Burn from the point at which it enters the parish boundary to the point at which it is joined by Harwood Water and thence up the said Harwood Water to the parish boundary.
3	West Calder (South).	That part of the parish of West Calder which is bounded on the west by the Addiewell division, on the east by the Harburn division and on the north west by the centre of the Ayr Road.
4 5	West Calder (North). Mid Calder (North).	The remainder of the parish of West Calder. That part of the parish of Mid Calder which lies to the
6 7	Mid Calder (South). Kirknewton North.	north of the medium filum of the river Almond. The remainder of the parish of Mid Calder. That part of the parish of Kirknewton which lies to the north of a line drawn in a generally easterly direction along the centre of the road from Mid Calder to Kirknewton from the point at which the said road leaves the parish of Mid Calder to the point at which it is crossed by the London Midland and Scottish Railway line and thence along the centre of the said railway line to the eastern boundary of the parish.
8 9	Kirknewton South. Ratho and Kirklis- ton (North).	The remainder of the parish of Kirknewton. (1) That part of the parish of Ratho which lies to the north of the centre of the Union Canal, and (2) that part of the parish of Kirkliston so far as situated in the County of Midlothian which lies to the north of the centre of the Union Canal.
10	Ratho and Kirklis- ton (South).	(1) The remainder of the parish of Ratho, and (2) the remainder of the parish of Kirkliston so far as situated in the county of Midlothian.
11	Currie (North)	That part of the parish of Currie which lies to the north of the medium filum of the Water of Leith.
12	Currie (South)	The remainder of the parish of Currie.