LOCAL GOVERNMENT (SCOTLAND) ACT, 1929.

RECONSTITUTED COUNTY COUNCIL

FOR THE

COUNTY OF ORKNEY.

In accordance with the requirements of subsection (4) of Section 8 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929, intimation is hereby given that the Secretary of State proposes to make an Order in the terms annexed hereto and that before making the said Order he will consider any objections and representations in writing respecting the same received in the Scottish Office, Whitehall, London, S.W.1, within twenty-one days of the date hereof.

ORDER by the Secretary of State determining the contents and boundaries of the electoral divisions of the County of Orkney, the number of county councillors for the County and the apportionment of these county councillors between the landward area and the burghs entitled to be represented on the County Council.

In pursuance of the powers conferred upon me by Section 8 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929, I hereby determine as follows:—

- 1. For the purposes of the reconstitution of the County Council of the County of Orkney (in this Order called the County) the number of county councillors for the County shall be 31.
- 2. The number of county councillors to be elected for the landward area of the County shall be 20.
- 3. The contents and boundaries of the electoral divisions of the County shall be as follows:—

No. of Division.	Name of Division.	Contents and Boundaries.
1	St. Andrews and Deerness.	The parish of St. Andrews and Deerness.
2	Holm	The parish of Holm.
3	Kirkwall and St. Ola.	The parish of Kirkwall and St. Ola exclusive of the portion included within the limits of the burgh of Kirkwall.
4	Orphir	The parish of Orphir.
$\frac{4}{5}$	Firth and Stenness.	(1) The parish of Firth, and (2) the parish of Stenness.
6	Stromness	The parish of Stromness exclusive of the portion included within the limits of the burgh of Stromness.
7	Sandwick	The parish of Sandwick.
8	Harray	The parish of Harray and Birsay exclusive of the quoad sacra parish of Birsay.
9	Birsay	The quoad sacra parish of Birsay.
10	Evie and Rendall	The parish of Evie and Rendall.
11	Shapinshay	The parish of Shapinshay.
12	Stronsay	The parish of Stronsay.
13	Eday	The parish of Eday.
14	Lady and Cross and	(1) The parish of Lady, and (2) the parish of Cross and
	Burness	Burness exclusive of the Island of North Ronaldshay.
15	North Ronaldshay.	The Island of North Ronaldshay.
16	Westray	(1) The parish of Westray, and (2) the parish of Papa Westray.
17	Rousay	The parish of Rousay and Egilshay.
18	South Ronaldshay.	The parish of South Ronaldshay exclusive of the islands of Burray and Hunda.
19	Burra and Hunda.	The islands of Burray and Hunda.
20	Hoy and Walls	(1) The parish of Hoy and Graemsay, and (2) the parish of Walls and Flotta.

4. The number of councillors to be elected by the Town Councils of the Burghs entitled to be represented on the County Council shall be as follows:—

Burghs.	-						Number Souncill
Kirkwall		 	 	 	 	 	7
Stromness		 ·	 	 	 	 	4

^{5.} This Order shall come into force on the first day of October 1929, and the Order of the Secretary for Scotland dated the 27th August 1889, determining the number of County