. 1 .  $\cdot$  Order:-

Lieutenant-Colonel Henry Stuart Strong, Acting Agent to the Governor-General in the 'States of Western India.

Gerard Mackworth Young, Esq., Indian Civil Service, Secretary to the Government of India in the Army Department.

Harold Anselm Bellamy Vernon, Esq., Indian Civil Service, First Member, Board of Revenue, Madras.

Jatindra Nath Roy, Esq., O.B.E., Bengal Civil Service, Officiating Commissioner, Kajshahi Division, Bengal.

James Ferguson Dyer, Esq., Indian Civil Service, Officiating Commissioner, Nagpur Division, Central Provinces.

William Mayes, Esq., Indian Forest Service, Chief Conservator of Forests, Punjab.

Lieutenant-Col Charles Isherwood Brierley, Indian Medical Service, Chief Medical Officer and Inspector-General of Jails, North-West Frontier Province.

John Mervyn Dallas Wrench, Esq., Chief Mechanical Engineer, Great Indian Peninsula Railway, Bombay.

Robert Harvey Addington Delves, Esq., Chief Officer of the Improvement Trust Committee, Bombay.

Nagendra Nath Gangulee, Esq., lately Member of the Royal Commission on Agriculture in India.

Lieutenant-Colonel Walter Gordon Neale, Political Agent, Central India.

Lieutenant-Colonel Lindsay Elliott Lumley Burne, C.B.E., Indian Army, Deputy Commissioner, Burma.

John Rutherford Dain, Esq., Indian Civil. Service, Deputy Commissioner, Singhbhum, Bihar and Orissa.

Francis Herbert Fearnley-Whittingstall, Esq., Indian Police Service, District Superintendent of Railway Police, Rangoon.

Lieutenant-Colonel Robert Ernest Wright, Medical Service, Professor Opthalmology, Medical College, Superintendent, Ophthalmic Hospital, and Medical Officer, Civil Orphan Asylums, Madras.

Lieutenant-Colonel Harold Holkar Broome. Indian Medical Service, Principal and Professor of Surgery, King Edward Medical College, Lahore.

ustace Edward Gunter, Esq., O.B.E., Director, Persian Gulf Telegraphs, Indo-European Telegraph Departments (retired). Eustace

Janardan Atmaram Madan, Esq., Indian Civil Service, lately Joint Secretary to the Royal Commission on Agriculture in India.

Francis William Head Smith, Esq., lately Joint Secretary to the Royal Commission on Agriculture in India.

Robert Steel Finlow, Esq., Indian Agricultural Service, Director of Agriculture, Bengal.

Walter Lawrence Scott, Esq., Indian Civil Service, Director of Land Records, Assam.

Henry Tristram Holland,  $\mathbf{E}$ sq., Missionary, Baluchistan.

George Herbert Stoker, Esq., O.B.E., Chief Accounting Officer, Office of the High Commissioner for India.

Dhabhai Ganeshi Lal, Lieutenant-Colonel in the Alwar State Forces and Member of Council, Alwar.

To be Companions of the said Most Eminent | Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George.

> Downing Street, 1st March 1929.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:-

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

The Honourable Frank Gavan Duffy, LL.B., Justice of the High Court of Australia.

The Honourable William Nosworthy, formerly a Member of the Executive Council of the Dominion of New Zealand.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Distinquished Order:-

Hugh Fraser Ayson, Esq., Resident Commissioner and Chief Judge of the High Court and of the Native Land Court, Cook Islands, Dominion of New Zealand.

Lieutenant-Colonel Clive Latham Baillieu, O.B.E., Representative of His Majesty's Government in the Commonwealth of Australia at the Imperial Wireless and Cable Conference, 1928.

John Howard Lidgett Cumpston, Esq., M.D., Director General of Health and Director of Quarantine, Commonwealth of Australia.

Maurice Francis Headlam, Esq., C.B., Acting Chairman, Pacific Cable Board.

Wing-Commander ing-Commander Sir Norman Roderick Alexander David Leslie, Bt., C.B.E., Assist- $\operatorname{Sir}$ Norman Roderick ant Secretary, Committee of Imperial Defence.

William John MacDonald, Esq., Public Trustee, Dominion of New Zealand.

Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George.

> Downing Street, 1st March 1929.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George: -

To be an Ordinary Member of the First Class, or Knights Grand Cross, of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

Brigadier-General Sir Samuel Herbert Wilson, K.C.B., K.C.M.G., K.B.E., Permanent Under-Secretary of State for the Colonies.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

Colonel Sir Ronald Storrs, Kt., C.M.G., C.B.E., Governor and Commander-in-Chief, Colony of Cyprus.