Alexander Park Lyle, Esq., J.P. For services in connection with the Scottish National War Memorial.

. . .

William Richard Morris, Esq., Governing Director of Morris Commercial Cars, Limited, Chairman and Managing Director of Morris Motors (1926) Limited.

Charles Thomas-Stanford, Esq., M.A., F.S.A., J.P. For public services in Brighton and district.

Frederick Charles Thomson, Esq., K.C., M.P., Member of Parliament for South Aberdeen since 1918. Lord Commissioner of the Treasury, February to April 1923, and November 1924 to January 1928. Solicitor General for Scotland 1923-24. Vice-Chamberlain of the Household since January 1928.

Stanley William Tubbs, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in Gloucestershire. Chairman of Mid-Gloucestershire Conservative and Unionist Association.

The KING has been graciously pleased to signify His Majesty's intention of conferring the Honour of Knighthood on the following:—

Alderman Charles Henry Booth, J.P. For political and public services in Cheshire. Chairman of Stalybridge and Hyde Conservative and Unionist Association for over twenty-five years.

His Honour Judge William Moore Carn, County Court Judge.

Councillor William Cundiff, J.P. For political and public services in Manchester.

Stephen Easten, Esq., O.B.E., J.P., late Lord Mayor of Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Robert Charles Evans, Esq., Proprietor of "The Teachers' World."

Walter Evans, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in Birmingham.

John Ambrose Fleming, Esq., M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S., Emeritus Professor of Electrical Engineering, University College, London.

Carteret Ernest Fletcher, Esq., Controller of Death Duties, Board of Inland Revenue.

James Hamilton, Esq., J.P., Chairman, York Local Employment Committee.

David Patrick Henderson, Esq., J.P., D.L. For political and public services in Caithness and Sutherland.

Edward John Holland, Esq., J.P., D.L., Chairman of the Surrey County Council.

Gerald Berkeley Hurst, Esq., T.D., M.A., K.C., M.P., Member of Parliament for the Moss Side Division of Manchester, December 1918 to 1923, and since October 1924. For political and public services.

John Jackson, Esq., O.B.E., Deputy Chief Inspector of Factories, Home Office.

Lieutenant-Colonel Cecil Bingham Levita, C.B.E., M.V.O., J.P., D.L. For public and political services. Chairman of the London County Council.

Albert Levy, Esq., Treasurer of the Royal Free Hospital. For benefactions.

Lewis Lougher, Esq., J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for Cardiff, East, November 1922 to 1923, and for Cardiff, Central, since October 1924. For political services. Lieutenant-Colonel Kenyon Pascoe Vaughan Morgan, O.B.E., D.L., M.P., Member of Parliament for East Fulham since 1922. For political and public services.

William Thomas Paulin, Esq., J.P. For long and valuable services to the London

Hospital.

Edgar Stroud Plummer, Esq. For political and public services in Devonshire.

Harry Goring Pritchard, Esq., Secretary of the Association of Municipal Corporations.

Colonel Thomas Fortune Purves, O.B.E., M.I.E.E., Engineer-in-Chief, Post Office.

Gervais Squire Chittick Rentoul, Esq., M.P., Member of Parliament for Lowestoft since November 1922. For political and public services.

Alliott Verdon Roe, Esq., O.B.E. For distinguished services to British aviation.

William Gustavus Stanhope Rolleston, Esq., J.P., D.L. For political and public services in Leicester.

John Thomas Podger Rowland, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in Hampshire.

Lewis Shedden, Esq., C.B.E., J.P. For political and public services in Glasgow and the West of Scotland.

Arthur Somervell, Esq., Mus.Doc., lately Principal Inspector of Music to the Board of Education and to the Scottish Education Department.

Robert Stewart, Esq., J.P. For public services in Glasgow.

Thomas Powell Thomas, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in Glamorgan-shire.

William Ernest Thompson, Esq., J.P., President, Manchester Chamber of Commerce.

DOMINIONS.

George Alfred Julius, Esq., Chairman of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, Commonwealth of Australia.

The Honourable Norman William Kater, formerly Chairman of the Federal Pastoral Advisory Committee, Commonwealth of Australia.

The Honourable Daniel Levy, LL.B., Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, State of New South Wales.

Carrick Hey Robertson, Esq., M.B., F.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., of the City of Auckland, Dominion of New Zealand.

INDIA.

Mr. Justice Courtney Terrell, Chief Justice, High Court of Judicature at Patna.

Sardar Jogendra Singh, Minister for Agriculture, Punjab.

Lee Ah Yain, Esq., Minister for Forests, Burma.

Arthur Edward Nelson, Esq., C.I.E., O.B.E., Indian Civil Service, Member of the Executive Council of the Governor of the Central Provinces.

Mr. Justice Vepa Ramesam Pantulu, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Madras.

Osborne Arkell Smith, Esq., Managing Governor of the Imperial Bank of India.