man Designate) of the Royal Colonial Institute. For political and public services.

Reginald Mitchell Banks, Esq., K.C., M.P., Member of Parliament for Swindon Division of Wiltshire since November 1922. Recorder of Wigan since April 1928. For political and public services.

Walter Baker Clode, Esq., M.A., K.C., President, Railway Rates Tribunal. Chairman, Rates Advisory Committee, Ministry of

Transport.

Cecil Allen Coward, Esq., President of the Law Society.

Professor William Alexander Craigie, M.A., LL.D., D.Litt. Joint Editor of the Oxford English Dictionary. Professor of English in the University of Chicago.

Brigadier-General James Edward Edmonds, C.B., C.M.G., Director of the Military Branch, Historical Section, Committee of Imperial Defence.

Sydney James Gammell, Esq. For political and public services in the North East of Scotland.

John Marice Æmilius Gatti, Esq., M.A., J.P., Ex-Chairman of the London County Council.

Henry Cubitt Gooch, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in the County of London, Member of Parliament for Peckham 1908-10 and member of the London County Council for 15 years, being Chairman 1923-24.

Victor Raphael Harari Pasha, C.M.G., Director of the National Bank of Egypt and of the Agricultural Bank of Egypt. A leading member of the British community in Cairo. For services over a long period in promoting trade and commerce between England and Egypt.

Enoch Hill, Esq., J.P., F.C.I.S. For political and public services in Yorkshire. Chairman of the Building Societies Association.

James Atkinson Hosker, Esq., M.R.C.S., J.P. For political and public services in Bournemouth. Chairman of the Bournemouth Conservative Association.

Archibald Hurd, Esq. Author of many works on Naval subjects.

George Aitken Clark Hutchison, Esq., K.C., J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for the Northern Division of Midlothian and Peebles, 1922-23 and since October 1924, and three times contested Argyllshire in the Unionist interest. For political and public services.

James Hopwood Jeans, Esq., M.A., D.Sc., LL.D., F.R.S., Member of the Advisory Council for Scientific and Industrial Research. Secretary of the Royal Society.

John Buck Lloyd, Esq., Junior, Financial Director of the Anglo Persian Oil Company.

Henry Thomas M'Auliffe, Esq., F.C.A., Member of the Corporation of the City of London; and Chairman of the Finance Committee for seven years.

Percy Graham MacKinnon, Esq., Chairman of

Lloyds.

Ernest Louis Meinertzhagen, Esq., J.P., Senior London County Council Member for Chelsea for over 20 years. Chairman of Chelsea Conservative Association. For public and political services.

Benjamin Howell Morgan, Esq., Chairman of British Empire Producers' Organisation. For public services.

Francis Morris, Esq., J.P., Chairman of the Metropolitan Asylums Board.

James Openshaw, Esq., O.B.E., J.P., D.L. For political and public services in Lancashire. President and Chairman of the Fylde Conservative Association.

Max Pemberton, Esq., J.P., Author, Director of the London School of Journalism.

Lieutenant-Colonel Charles Pinkham, O.B.E., J.P., D.L., Chairman of the Middlesex County Council.

Nigel Playfair, Esq., Manager of the Lyric Theatre, Hammersmith.

Reginald Ward Edward Lane Poole, Esq. For political and public services.

Spencer John, Portal, Esq., J.P., Chairman of the Trustee Savings Banks Association, Chairman of the London Savings Bank.

Lieutenant-Colonel Hugh Bateman Protheroe-Smith, O.B.E., Chief Constable, Cornwall. For services in the above-mentioned capacity and in connection with the relief of the Cornish tin miners and their families.

George Stuart Robertson, Esq., K.C., M.A., F.S.A., Chief Registrar of Friendly Societies.

Alderman Samuel Thomas Talbot, J.P. For political and public services in Birmingham.

Thomas Marris Taylor, Esq., C.B.E., J.P., Vice Chairman of the Special Grants Committee, Ministry of Pensions.

mittee, Ministry of Pensions.
Gilbert Christopher Vyle, Esq., President,
Association of British Chambers of Commerce, 1926-28.

Henry Walker, Esq., C.B.E., His Majesty's Chief Inspector of Mines.

Thomas Watts, Esq., M.D., M.P., Member of Parliament for Withington Division of Manchester November 1922-23 and since October 1924. For political and public services.

Colonel Albert Edward Whitaker, C.B.E., T.D., D.L. For political and public services in Nottinghamshire.

Thomas White, Esq., J.P., Chairman of the Central Valuation Committee for England and Wales.

DOMINIONS.

Murray Bissett, Esq., Senior Judge of the High Court of Southern Rhodesia.

The Honourable George Fowlds, C.B.E., President of Auckland University College, Dominion of New Zealand; for public services.

John Melrose, Esq., a prominent pastoralist in the State of South Australia; in recognition of his charitable services.

Lieutenant-Colonel Henry Simpson Newland, C.B.E., D.S.O., M.B., a leading surgeon of Adelaide, State of South Australia.

Captain George Hubert Wilkins, M.C., distinguished Australian Aviator and Explorer.

INDIA,

Khan Bahadur Muhammad Usman Sahib Bahadur, Member of the Executive Council of the Governor of Madras.

Babu Ganesh Datta Singh, Minister in charge of the Ministry of Local Self-Government, Bihar and Orissa.