- Albert Herbert Brewer, Esq., Mus.Doc., Hon. R.A.M., F.R.C.O., Organist and Master of Choristers at Gloucester Cathedral since 1897. Conductor of the Three Choirs Festivals.
- George Washington Browne, Esq., P.R.S.A., President of the Royal Scottish Academy.
- Edmund Fleming Bushby, Esq. For public and political services in Wrexham. A County Councillor for Denbighshire.
- Joseph Herbert Cunliffe, Esq., K.C., M.P. Member of Parliament for Bolton since December 1923. H.M. Attorney General for the Duchy of Lancaster since 1921. Member of the General Council of the Bar and of the Council of Legal Education.
- Stanford Edwin Downing, Esq., Secretary of the Ecclesiastical Commission.
- Professor John Bretland Farmer, D.Sc., LL.D. Edin., F.R.S., Member of Advisory Council to Department of Scientific and Industrial Research. Governor of Imperial College of Tropical Agriculture, Trinidad.
- Patrick Johnston Ford, Esq., M.P. Member of Parliament for North Edinburgh, April 1920-24 and since October 1924. A Lord Commissioner of the Treasury and Scottish Whip, 1923.
- James Ellison Haggas, Esq., J.P. For public and charitable services in Keighley. For 27 years Chairman and President of the Keighley Conservative and Unionist Association.
- Alderman Hugh Hall, D.C.L., J.P. For political and public services in Oxford. Has been associated with public work in Oxford since 1875. Chairman of Oxford City Conservative Association since 1917.
- William Edward Hart, Esq., O.B.E., Town Clerk of Sheffield.
- Alfred James Hawkey, Esq., J.P. For public and political services. Vice-Chairman of Epping Conservative Association. Chairman of Woodford Urban District Council for ten years.
- Bertram Hornsby, Esq., C.B.E., Governor of the National Bank of Egypt.
- Thomas Raffles Hughes, Esq., K.C., Chairman of the General Council of the Bar. Major Aston M'Neill Cooper Cooper-Key,
- Major Aston M'Neill Cooper Cooper-Key, C.B., Chief Inspector of Explosives, Home Office.
- Charles Marston, Esq., K.C., J.P. For eighteen years President of West Wolverhampton Conservative Association. Past President of the Cycle and Motor Cycle Manufacturers' and Traders' Union and of the Cycle Engineers' Institute. For political and public services.
- William Meff, Esq., Ex-Lord Provost of Aberdeen.
- Matthew Walker Montgomery, Esq., Lord Provost of Glasgow since 1923.
- George Edward James Moody, Esq. For political and public services. For 30 years a Member of the Cleethorpes Urban District Council of which he has been Chairman eight times. Chairman of the Grimsby Unionist Association.
- Robert John Parr, Esq., O.B.E., Director of the National Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Children.

- Alderman William George Perring, J.P., M.P. Member of Parliament for North Paddington since 1918. President of the National Chamber of Trade. Has served on the Paddington Borough Council since its inception.
  - William Ramsden, Esq., J.P., Chairman of the Huddersfield Local Employment Committee. For public services in Huddersfield.
  - Alfred Cooper Rawson, Esq., M.P. Member of Parliament for Brighton since November 1922; Member of London County Council 1913-21; Member of Wandsworth Borough Council 1911-22, and Mayor 1918-19.
  - Henry Montagu Rogers, Esq., J.P., Chairman of the Conservative Party in the Camborne Division for fifteen years. Chairman of the Royal Cornwall Agricultural Association 1924. For political and public services in Cornwall.
  - Julius Sladden, Esq., Chairman of the Evesham Conservative and Unionist Association since 1908 and Leader of the Party in Evesham since 1880. Member of the Worcestershire County Council since 1902. For political and public services.
  - Captain Oscar Emanuel Warburg, O.B.E., J.P., Chairman of the London County Council. Member of the Paddington Borough Council since 1909. Member of the Paddington Conservative Association since 1909 and Vice-President of the Hackney Conservative Association since 1910. For political and public services.
  - Alderman George Wright, J.P. For 20 years Chairman of the Central Conservative Council for the Ealing Division, and for 38 years Chairman and then President of the Acton Conservative Association. For 38 years Member of the Middlesex County Council. For political and public services.

## INDIA.

- Mr. Justice John Guy Rutledge, K.C., Chief Justice of the High Court of Judicature, Rangoon.
- Diwan Bahadur Tinnevelly Nellaiyappa Pillai Sivagnanam Pillai Avargal, Minister for Development, Madras.
- Khan Bahadur Shaikh Ghulam Husain Hidayatallah, Minister for Local Self-Government, Bombay.
- Sardar Bahadur Sardar Sundar Singh Majithia, C.I.E., Member of the Executive Council, Punjab.
- Mr. Justice William Watkin Phillips, Indian Civil Service, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature, Madras.
- Mr. Justice Charu Chunder Ghose, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature, Calcutta.
- Mr. Justice Saiyid Muhammad Abdul Raoof, Khan Bahadur, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature, Lahore.
- Mr. Justice Louis Stuart, C.I.E., Indian Civil Service, Chief Judge of the Oudh Chief Court, United Provinces.
- Mr. Justice Benjamin Herbert Heald, V.D., Indian Civil Service, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature, Rangoon. Frederick Austin Hadow, Esq., C.V.O.,
- Frederick Austin Hadow, Esq., C.V.O., Member, Railway Board, Government of India.

**4**,