Civil Service Commission, April 7, 1922.

CANCELLATION NOTICE.

The following notice, which appeared in the Edinburgh Gazette of 6th May 1921, is cancelled:—

CERTIFICATE GRANTED.

April 19, 1921.

Customs and Excise Department: Officer of Customs and Excise—Thomas Peacock.

Civil Service Commission, April 7, 1922.

In pursuance of the provisions of His late Majesty's Order in Council of 10th January 1910, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce the undermentioned Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, etc. (including Assignments to the Clerical Class, etc.), for the month of March 1922:—

I.—CERTIFICATES ISSUED.

March 1, 1922.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Clerical Class (Men):—Henry Arthur Bennett, Charles Arthur Berry, Ernest Henry Constable, Edward Samuel Dillamore, William Cecil Stanislaus Dunne, William Emrys Evans, Harold Frederick Vernon Gardner, Hubert Chapman Gilham, Herbert Charles Green, Legh Richmond John Halero, Harry Negus Hamslaw, Robert Hazell, Archibald Maurice Hopkins, Albert Ernest James, Ernest Kenyon, Frederick James Kirby, John Douglas Larritt, Walter Charles Minns, James Naismith (unestablished), Percy Wilfred Nash, Frederick Phelan, George William Redvers Robinson, Lawrence Dennis Shutt, Hector Tees, Ernest Wilson, Walter Henry Wood (unestablished).

Writing Assistants—Mabel Augusta Belstead (unestablished), Leila Rosaline Buchanan, Jessie Evelina Morris, Edith Storey Peat, Marjorie Elizabeth Ross, May Edith Tappenden, Clara Marie Torode, Emma Hannah Trevatt, Marion Kate Muriel Wright.

Customs and Excise Department: Officer of Customs and Excise—James George Coombe.

Post Office: Male Assistant Superintendent of Traffic (Class III.) in the London Telephone Service, or Male Assistant Traffic Superintendent (Telephones) in the Provinces— Frank Bate.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION AND UNDER CLAUSE 2 OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 22ND MARCH 1918.

Clerical Class (Men)—Henry Robert Brigden, Herbert Duncan, Jonathan Joseph Selman Higgs, Cyril Hunt, Frederick Willmott.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Sorters, London, and Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists (Postal), Provinces—William Bayley Broadbent, Samuel George Griffin, John Thomas Groom, Cecil Charles Tarrant. AFTER COMPETITION UNDER THE RECONSTRUC-TION SCHEME AND UNDER CLAUSE 2 OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 22ND MARCH 1918.

Customs and Excise Department: Officer of Customs and Excise—Thomas Harry Douglas Silvers.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Prison Service, England and Wales: Subordinate Officer, Division I.—George William Holland

Prison Department, Scotland: Warder—Angus Finlayson.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists—Charles Hanley (Athlone), Arthur Edward Melbourne (Coventry).

Female Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Radcliffe, Manchester—Lucy Ellen Tibbs.

Skilled Workman—Horace Patrick Lawler. Telephonist, London—Gladys Smith.

Telephonist, Birmingham-Gladys Butler.

Postmen — George Allway (Liverpool), Joseph May (Glasgow), William James Rimmer (Liverpool).

Temporary Assistant Postmen — John Charles Breadsell, Christopher Thomas Broomfield, John Dean, William James Denning, Eric Fergusson, Henry Percy Goddard, Harry Hawkshaw, John Hutton, Frederick James Mutch, Arthur John Neal, Ernest Julius Nix, George Sealy, Alexander Smart, Charles Walker Stafford-Smith, William James Thorne, Charles Edward Cecil Webb, Leslie William White.

Under Clause 7 of the Order in Council of 10th January 1910.

Public Trustee Office: Accountants, Grade II.— Harry John Curtis, Thomas Henry Macbeth, Emma Louisa Smith, Frederic William Teare, Harold Thomas.

Junior Assistant Trust Officers—Neville Valentine Pritchard, Herbert Cecil Rosevear, Gerald Scott Whitehorn.

Post Office: Clerical Class (Men)—James Henebery.

Skilled Workman-Walter Dearden.

Under Clause 7 of the Order in Council of 10th January 1910, and under Clause 1 of the Order in Council of 23rd October 1918, as amended by the Order in Council of 9th December 1919.

Public Trustee Office: Accountant, Grade II.— David Vincent Ribbons.

Junior Assistant Trust Officer—Stanley Vere Westbrook.

Under Clause 2 of the Order in Council of 22nd March 1918.

Post Office: Night Telephonist and Call Office Attendant, Dudley—Edward Payton.

Postman or Porter, London—Michael John Noonan.

Postmen—Frank Allen Adams (Kettering), William Henry Baggaley (Bristol), John Henry Balmer (Wigan), Cecil Alexander Figgins (Southampton), William John Rees (Swansea), Alfred Henry Walters (Cardiff).