Alderman Charles O'Brien Harding, J.P., L.R.C.P., Mayor of Eastbourne in 1903 and from 1916-1919.

Edgar Josiah Harper, Esq., F.S.I., Chief Valuer, Inland Revenue Department.

Professor James Blacklock Henderson, D.Sc., Professor of Applied Mechanics, R.N. College, Greenwich.

Lieutenant-Colonel Maxwell Hicks, C.B.E., For personal work in organising the Devonshire House War Work.

Alderman James Peace Hinchliffe, Chairman of West Riding of Yorkshire County Council. Chiefly responsible for formation of British Research Association for Woollen and Worsted Industries.

Harry Hope, Esq., M.P. for Stirling and Clackmannan, and formerly for Bute. President of Scottish Chamber of Agriculture 1908; Hon. President of National Farmers' Union of Scotland; Member of Scottish Agricultural Commission, and of Departmental Committee appointed by the Secretary for Scotland to inquire into the poultry industry in Scotland.

Louis Stanley Johnson, Esq., M.P. for East Walthamstow from 1918; Mayor of Hackney for the whole five years of the War.

Invaluable public work.

Henry S. Keith, Esq., J.P., Provost of Hamil-

Walter Guy Coffin Kirkwood, Esq., late Secretary of Post Office, Edinburgh.

Major Charles McIver. For public services in Cheshire.

Major George Espec John Manners, D.L., J.P., Founder of the Boys' Messenger Ser-

Samuel Meeson Morris, Esq., Mayor of Shrewsbury 1901-2 and 1916-18. Chairman of local Food Centrol Committee. Public and municipal services.

William Noble, Esq., Chief Engineer, General Post Office.

William Payne Perry, Esq., C.B., Director

of Finance, War Office. Ernest Roney, Esq., Solicitor. For public

services. George Royle, Esq., Mayor of Bedford 1903. Member of Town Council. For public and municipal services.

James Simpson, Esq., LL.B. For public and local services in Edinburgh.

Albert Frederick Stephenson, Esq., J.P. For eminent public and local services in South Lancashire for over forty years.

Henry William Verey, Esq., late Official Referee of Supreme Court. Appointed 1876.

William Henry Veno, Esq., President of Man-chester Column Press Club. For public and local services.

William Howell Walters, Esq. For public and local services.

Alderman Zachariah Wheatley, Mayor of Abergavenny.

James Lawton Wingate, Esq., President of the Royal Scottish Academy.

INDIA.

Colonel Hormasjee Eduljee Banatvala, C.S.I., Indian Medical Service (retired), late Inspector-General, Civil Hospitals, Assam.

Diwan Bahadur Pitti Thyagaraya Chetti Garu, President of the Corporation, Madras.

Walter Erskine Crum, Esq., O.B.E., Partner of Messrs. Graham and Company, Calcutta, Bengal.

Henry Hubert Hayden, Esq., C.S.I., C.I.E., D.Sc., Director, Geological Survey of India. Abdul Karim Abdul Shakur Jamal, Esq.. C.I.E., Merchant, Burma.

Lallubhai Asharan Shah, Esq., Judge of the

High Court, Bombay.

Thomas Robert John Ward, Esq., C.I.E., M.V.O., Inspector-General of Irrigation, Punjab.

DOMINIONS, CROWN COLONIES, PROTECTORATES, ETc.

John Carruthers Beattie, Esq., D.Sc., Principal of the University of the Cape of Good Hope, Union of South Africa.

The Honourable James Daniel Connolly, Agent-General for the State of Western Aus-

Colin Rees Davies, Esq., Chief Justice of Bermuda.

Lieutenant-Colonel Herman Melville Heyman, Member of the Legislative Council, Southern Rhodesia.

The Honourable Joseph Henry Wood, Senior Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of the State of Victoria.

Major Edward Humphrey Manisty Leggett, D.S.O., R.E., Chairman East African Section, London Chamber of Commerce.

Thomas Joseph Lennard, Esq., Vice-President of the Royal Colonial Institute.

John Roberts, Esq., C.M.G., of the City of Dunedin, New Zealand.

Henry Alexander Wickham, Esq. For services in connection with the rubber plantation industry in the Far East.

Jeremiah Wilson, Esq., C.M.G., lately Postmaster-General of the Union of South Africa.

CENTRIAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD.

St. James's Palace, S.W. 1. 5th June, 1920.

The KING has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of His Majesty's Birthday, to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Honourable Order of the Bath:

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Vice-Admiral the Hon. Edward Stafford Fitzherbert, C.B.

Rear-Admiral Michael Culme-Seymour, C.B., M.V.O.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Vice-Admiral Cecil Spencer Hickley, M.V.O. Rear-Admiral Henry Lancelot Mawbey.

Surgeon Rear-Admiral George Albert Dreaper. Captain John Roderick Segrave, R.N.

Paymaster Captain Frederick Wilkin Iago Airey, R.N.